We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT FOOD AND SERVICE”
Review of South Pine Cafe

South Pine Cafe
Ranked #1 of 105 Restaurants in Grass Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Cotswolds
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD AND SERVICE”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Start the day with freshly pressed apple juice

Good selection on the menu, I had the tofu scramble and rye toast, good size portions of freshly made food, served with a smile, perfect

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paleface07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    60
    15
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“breakfast worth going out of your way for”
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Really interesting and varied breakfast/lunch menu. Service was attentive and food was great. I had one of the specials - pancakes with fresh nectarines and raspberries, sliced almonds and whipped cream. Yummy! My only complaint is it was an enormous serving and I wish the server had suggested I might want to consider the short stack. My husband had huevos rancheros with black beans, avocado, brown rice, pico de gallo and they were happy to substitute goat cheese to accomodate his cows milk allergy. The server immediately got the milk allergy thing and said their feta was cow milk but they did have goat cheese. This is unusual - many waiters are clueless. All in all a great find. If we lived here we would be regulars.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hittheroadmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Cosala, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in Town”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I've been coming here for many years and it's my go- to place for breakfast or brunch. I love the huevos rancheros and the pesto-mushroom omelette. There are a wide variety of omelettes, tofu scrambles, pancakes, cereals, juices sandwiches etc. They even have homemade jam, ketchup and muffins. The service is very friendly and usually fast (unless you come on Father's Day, like I did). Highly recommended if you're in the vicinity.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Musqat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good homemade type food”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Easy to get to - right across from our hotel. Ample menu. Portions are BIG. We ordered one and split with with an added side. Pretty tasty. Good service. Would definitely go back and recommend to friends.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BaysideTravelogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Valley
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Late breakfast”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Beautiful day in Grass Valley. Stopped for a late breakfast around noon. Ordered the Spanish scramble. Wife ordered French toast. Although the wait staff was very attentive, my scramble arrive at room temperature. Wife's French toast was fine. Room is very noisy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Pine Cafe also viewed

 

Been to South Pine Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing