We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jack, the night manager, was fantastic-should be a BW Plus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Gold Country Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Overnight stay, that was exceptional in accommodations and service. Jack, the night manager was great. Good location, many eateries nearby, close to e-way, but no noise. Second time we have stayed here and were not disappointed. This Best Western should be a Plus!!!! We have stayed at Best Western Plus's that were far inferior to this motel. Kudos to Jack, and the Gold County Best Western.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank denem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniah M, Front Office Manager at Best Western Gold Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Thank you for your staff compliment Jack really appreciates it. We are very thrilled to have such a loyal customer. Make sure to come stay when we have our remodel done this coming year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 401 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We were there for a funereal. Staff was very nice and helpful. Place is bigger than you think, room was very nice, decor, comfort level. Offered a lot of amenities, if we were there for another reason, we would probably have used more of them. Overall it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniah M, Front Office Manager at Best Western Gold Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Thank you for your stay, we are sorry it was under the above circumstances and our staff wishes you the best. We hope you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Excellent hotel in Grass Valley, CA. The staff at the Hotel is great, the rooms are very clean and tidy, the breakfast is always great with a variety of items to chose from, close to downtown shops and restaurants. Freeway access is great too. This is our third stay at Grass Valley and we plan to return next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniah M, Front Office Manager at Best Western Gold Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

We are very glad your stay was a good one. It is customers like you that keep the small businesses in small towns going, we are very grateful to have you as a customer. We look forward to your return, by this time next year we will have many more upgrades for you to experience on your stay including a larger breakfast room and new room designs. The Best Western Gold Country Inn thanks you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Nice area, nice place to stay; not exceptional for the money. Parking was a problem, as was access to the vending/ice machine. Breakfast area was less than adequate in size, for the amount of people staying in the hotel. The food was not bad, but lacked variety of choices; i.e. minimal fruits, grains, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Gary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniah M, Front Office Manager at Best Western Gold Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Thank you for staying with our business, we will be undergoing remodeling including expanding our breakfast room at least double. We are also working on our meeting room which will add parking and more space for our guests. We hope you will stay with us after our remodel this winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Gold Country Inn has all of the things I look for in a hotel; beautiful grounds, clean room, and a pleasant staff.The queen bed in our room was really comfortable. I had a great night's sleep. We will stay again on our next trip to the gold country.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank mike_schlimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniah M, Front Office Manager at Best Western Gold Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Thank you for your review, we are glad your stay was satisfactory and we hope to see you stay again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The staff at this Best Western is always very helpful and cheerful. I travel on business to GV and Nevada City and can count on a good night's sleep and a great dinner at the restaurant right next door. GV and Nevada City are truly nuggets of the Sierras and this hotel just ties a bow on every trip I make there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drvid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniah M, Front Office Manager at Best Western Gold Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

We are happy your stay was good. We hope you stay with us again soon, we just added HBO to our channel list!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

we had one little snafu with the reservations, but overall my friends who stayed here were happy with the hotel and they were very accommodating. This hotel is in a very convenient locations and is quiet despite being close to the freeway.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank MinersCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniah M, Front Office Manager at Best Western Gold Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your event stay, we are very pleased your stay was a good one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grass Valley
1.9 mi away
Gold Miners Inn
Gold Miners Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
148 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
257 reviews
1.6 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#5 of 5 in Nevada City
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Best Western Golden Key
1.9 mi away
Holbrooke Hotel
Holbrooke Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grass Valley
128 reviews
2.0 mi away
Broad Street Inn
Broad Street Inn
#2 of 5 in Nevada City
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gold Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gold Country Inn

Address: 972 Sutton Way, Grass Valley, CA 95945
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Grass Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
Price Range: $116 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Gold Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn!Discover this pet friendly Grass Valley, California hotel offering convenient access to Empire Mine State Park, Historic Nevada City and the Tahoe National Forest. Located in northern, inland California just off highway 49, the BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn is committed to providing the best in customer service, accommodations and amenities at the right price. Each well-appointed guest room at this Grass Valley hotel features cable satellite television and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests are welcome to a complimentary full breakfast daily. This pet friendly hotel also offers guest laundry, an exercise facility and a full-service business center. Guests staying at the BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn will be a short walk from a variety of dining and shopping in historic Grass Valley. The Empire Mine State Park, only two miles away, offer the perfect setting for hiking and afternoon picnics. This California hotel is also less than five miles from many other key area attractions including the Nevada County Fairgrounds, the South Yuba River, Scotts Flat Lake, Bridgeport Historic State Park and Historic Nevada City. Business travelers will appreciate being close to the Whispering Pines Business Park, the Grass Valley Group and the Loma Rica Industrial Park. The Grass Valley area is also home to a variety of annual events including the Draft Horse Classic, Music in the Mountains, Dog Shows, the Teddy Bear Convention and more!The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Grass Valley, California. Make a reservation today and save!**Hot tub and Pool closed until further notice* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Gold Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing