We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Two words: bed bugs” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   972 Sutton Way, Grass Valley, CA 95945-5177   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE 10% in Grass Valley!
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Two words: bed bugs”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The staff was friendly enough, but our experience was less than great. The location is convenient and, at least in our room, the nearby freeway was not too loud. We checked in to find broken bulbs in the room - that were immediately replaced. The place has probably not seen a renovation in years, shabby stained carpet, mildew in the shower and bathroom, older furniture, microwave and other appliances in the breakfast room greasy.

The worse thing was to wake up to bed bugs on the sheets. The staff claimed to be surprised by this and said they were unaware of any other reports, and when I spoke to the manager by phone the next day he also professed surprise. The manager was apologetic and did offer a 50% credit for our stay, which i accepted.

My advice: skip it unless you know renovations have taken place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1montereyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniah M, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We are inspected on a regular basis and have no bed bugs, we are sorry that your stay was less than satisfactory. Furthermore, we will be renovating the hotel this winter so everything will be updated. We hope you continue to be our customer, we look forward to seeing you again after the remodel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    98
    59
    40
    13
See reviews for
112
76
18
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Not your typical Best Western. I am a rewards member so I try to stay at BWs when I can. Staff was cheerful and very helpful, but the room was sad and in dire need of updating. It also had a stale, sour odor. There was a fridge in the room which was great, but it labored to keep our perishables even slightly cool. The AC unit was old and loud and competed with the fridge noise. I chose the BW because of the name, but wouldn't stay at this one again. There are much better hotels in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Jenni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniah M, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We are sorry your stay wasn't completely satisfactory. Our hotel will be undergoing major remodeling early next year before our busy season. We look forward to seeing you after our updates!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband and three children recently and had a horrible time. My husband works up here often and has been staying at this motel and others in the city for the last three and a half years. The motel has completely new staff with the exception of some of the old housekeepers which are great and are always friendly. Any time I would ask one of the new housekeepers for new towels I was always given a dirty look and never answered back, just given a towel and then turned to walk away. Some of the girls up front were just plain rude and ALWAYS on their cell phones. We won't becoming back unless they hire some friendlier people.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mom2fourbabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniah M, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Our management staff would like to apologize for the staff you encountered on your stay, I assure you action has taken place. This will not happen on anyone's next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Grass Valley hotels

La Habra, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We spent three nights here visiting the grandbaby. The hotel is big and on nice grounds to walk around on. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The room was big and clean, nice bathroom also. The free breakfast is very good and has many choices to pick from. Chose walking distrance to stores or other eateries. It is close to the freeway but the noise or lack of didn't bother us. I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bgenung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniah M, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We would like to thank you for giving us such a nice review, we are very grateful and happy your stay was satisfactory. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We spent one night. It was a convienient location for the Fathers day bluegrass fest and 16 to 1 gold quartz mine tour in Allegany. It's an older hotel but clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They offered to look up information and provided printed maps to the fair grounds and restaurants. My smart phone worked fine, but I did not try other internet The full breakfast was good. It was a bit expensive at $159 with 2 double beds and kitchenette, but there was a bike race as well as the bluegrass festival in town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RenoLizsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniah M, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel, we are sorry your stay was not completely satisfactory. We would like to inform our guests that we are doing serious renovations in Feburary of 2014. We would love to start sooner but we must wait until our busy season is over. We look forward having you stay again once we have renovated, hopefully it will be a better stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I have stayed multiple times in past years without trouble. I could not get Internet either with the hard wired or wireless and support did not help. I use my wireless the night before and since in other motels. I mentioned my complaint when checking out and the nice young lady said she would let manager know and ask to call me and maybe something could be done.
Did not even have the decency to call me and say sorry or anything.
Wireless was actually taking me into the access point config and support did not know why

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Rod H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniah M, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We have had an issue with our internet connection, but only in the very back corner of our establishment and only in four rooms, we are very sorry that is most likely the room you recieved during your stay. We are currently working on expanding our signal and providing better wifi to that area for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We spent 3 nights here. The pluses - free internet, full breakfast; the minus - noisy room since the freeway is close & the windows are not double pained & the walls are thin.
The desk staff were courteous & helpful.
It is well located & the price is reasonable.

Room Tip: Our room was in the back of the hotel & we heard considerable early morning noise, both from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tedandbarbfromla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniah M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us at 530-273-1393.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete this review. We appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grass Valley
1.9 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gold Miners Inn-Grass Valley
1.8 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#4 of 5 in Nevada City
3.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holbrooke Hotel
Holbrooke Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
21.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Key
2.1 mi away
Sierra Mountain Inn
Sierra Mountain Inn
#3 of 10 in Grass Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
Address: 972 Sutton Way, Grass Valley, CA 95945-5177
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Grass Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn!Discover this pet friendly Grass Valley, California hotel offering convenient access to Empire Mine State Park, Historic Nevada City and the Tahoe National Forest. Located in northern, inland California just off highway 49, the BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn is committed to providing the best in customer service, accommodations and amenities at the right price. Each well-appointed guest room at this Grass Valley hotel features cable satellite television and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests are welcome to a complimentary full breakfast daily. This pet friendly hotel also offers guest laundry, an exercise facility and a full-service business center. Guests staying at the BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn will be a short walk from a variety of dining and shopping in historic Grass Valley. The Empire Mine State Park, only two miles away, offer the perfect setting for hiking and afternoon picnics. This California hotel is also less than five miles from many other key area attractions including the Nevada County Fairgrounds, the South Yuba River, Scotts Flat Lake, Bridgeport Historic State Park and Historic Nevada City. Business travelers will appreciate being close to the Whispering Pines Business Park, the Grass Valley Group and the Loma Rica Industrial Park. The Grass Valley area is also home to a variety of annual events including the Draft Horse Classic, Music in the Mountains, Dog Shows, the Teddy Bear Convention and more!The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Grass Valley, California. Make a reservation today and save!**Hot tub and Pool closed until further notice* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Best Western + Iniative, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing