We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay clear... select the Holiday Inn Express down the street.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Stay clear... select the Holiday Inn Express down the street.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

I am a BW rewards member. Stay in them all the time. This was the worst. This motel is 60 years old, with original single pane aluminum windows, broken locks, old doors with patchy paint, really old and rickety furniture that was too big for the room and too many pieces. Had a couch just feet from the the side of the bed with a regular sized coffee table and a side table, ridiculous. The most basic of BW breakfasts. Bed horrible, fiber fill pillows gross, lumpy, bed really uncomfortable. The ONLY redeeming quality of this room was the very large flat screen TV. Old curtains with even older sheers. Very overpriced at AAA rate of $100. Fortunately, Grass Valley is pretty quite place so noise wasn't a factor. Staff, lobby and dining area were all fine. Checked out each building and they are all in the same condition. This is probably the last BW property on the list for remodels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lv2travelSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniah M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
This guest was here with a group of 33 other rooms. All the other rooms had good things to say about the quality of their rooms and our services. We offered to relocate this guest, but he did not want to even move to another hotel. He was not happy about being in grass valley or this hotel and wanted someone to buy him a gas mask for some reason. We believe we did everything to help this guest but could not satisfy him.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    116
    66
    47
    19
See reviews for
132
87
23
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castro Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We specifically ordered a non-smoking room because my girlfriend is allergic to smoke/smoke smells. We were given a room that was obviously a smoking room, even though the staff (including the manager by telephone) insisted that it had never been smoked in. They said they were fully booked and this was the only room available so we asked for housekeeping to come and try to freshen up the smell. We asked twice in about an hours time and no one came so I asked the front desk for some Fabreeze or similar for the smell. We used the entire bottle, but the smell came back. They gave us a bottle of something else that worked a bit better, but the smell was still there. I asked the front desk for a mask of some sort so my girlfriend could possibly sleep a bit better. They did not have anything and they didn't have anyone to run to the store to pick up something so I asked to speak with the manager. He was not there, but the girl at the front desk said she would have him call me. He did call, but basically he said there wasn't anything that he could do and he suggested that I could go to the store myself. He also said "in 30 years in the hotel business he's never had a more unreasonable person to deal with than me". Of course, he did most of the talking, excuse making, etc... So at 8:30pm I had the choice of finding another place to stay or sleeping all night with the window open. Unfortunately for us there wasn't a hotel close enough by as we were with a group of around 85 people on a grade school field trip. On top of that the toilet seat was dirty in our room. I have used many public restrooms so that wasn't too big of a deal for me. The worst part about our experience was the bad attitude and non effort on the part of the manager/general manager. He might be the owner of this franchise so there may not be anyone to complain to that can correct his behavior. All this for only $136 per night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CharlesC72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniah M, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We are very sorry for the trouble you experienced during your stay, our entire staff has been informed of the issue including the property management, they have dicussed the issue with everyone. We garuntee that you will not encounter this problem again. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Grass Valley hotels

Sonoma, California, Usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Clean and comfortable room. Staff at front desk very helpful and pleasant. A simple but nice selection for quick breakfast. Location was perfect and within walking distance to grocery store. A short car ride to downtown for dinner or a movie.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniah M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us at 530-273-1393.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete this review. We appreciate your feedback!

We hope to see you for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights very pleased,helpful staff especially the girls on the front desk.breakfast was good but the room was a bit small,but that is not unusual.our daughter in law tried out he gym and said it was fine .overall a very pleasant experience.the Mexican restaurant nearby was very good.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank hantshawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniah M, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us at 530-273-1393.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete this review. We appreciate your feedback!

We hope to see you for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
167 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We were in the area, needed a place to stay and the Best Western was convenient and right off of hwy. 80. Easy check in, comfortable and spacious room. I appreciated the on-site laundry so I could wash clothes. Breakfast was good---waffles, scrambled eggs, bacon, coffee, juice, etc. Staff are friendly, property is nice. We'd stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CWSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniah M, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us at 530-273-1393.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete this review. We appreciate your feedback!

We hope to see you for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location, for what we needed. It's clean, they serve breakfast in the morning and have fresh cookies, coffee and fruit the remainder of the time.

The rooms have a fridge and microwave in them which is a bonus when traveling with little ones.

The pool isn't heated, but they have a whirlpool that is.

Friendly staff and very accommodating. Great restaurant across the street and close to pharmacies and a grocery store too.

We have stayed here twice now with in the last 5 months and will be back again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Billigj007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniah M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us at 530-273-1393.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete this review. We appreciate your feedback!

We hope to see you for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loomis, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

I would definitely stay again, as the value was good. I don't like nickel and dime surcharges though. My heater was blasting when I checked in late at night, so management wasted far more energy that day than I did in one night on low heat. Invest in energy efficiency upgrades and better staff training, but please stop the surcharge.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank oak123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniah M, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We are sorry that your last stay was not top of the line, I assure you your next stay will be better. We have taken the energy surcharge away and no longer charge for anything related to it. All the guest pays now is the cost of the room plus occupancy tax. We still offer the free full breakfast as well as the free wireless internet access. We hope you choose Best Western Gold Country Inn for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grass Valley
1.9 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gold Miners Inn-Grass Valley
1.8 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#3 of 5 in Nevada City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Key
2.0 mi away
Holbrooke Hotel
Holbrooke Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sierra Mountain Inn
Sierra Mountain Inn
#3 of 10 in Grass Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
Address: 972 Sutton Way, Grass Valley, CA 95945-5177
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Grass Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn!Discover this pet friendly Grass Valley, California hotel offering convenient access to Empire Mine State Park, Historic Nevada City and the Tahoe National Forest. Located in northern, inland California just off highway 49, the BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn is committed to providing the best in customer service, accommodations and amenities at the right price. Each well-appointed guest room at this Grass Valley hotel features cable satellite television and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests are welcome to a complimentary full breakfast daily. This pet friendly hotel also offers guest laundry, an exercise facility and a full-service business center. Guests staying at the BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn will be a short walk from a variety of dining and shopping in historic Grass Valley. The Empire Mine State Park, only two miles away, offer the perfect setting for hiking and afternoon picnics. This California hotel is also less than five miles from many other key area attractions including the Nevada County Fairgrounds, the South Yuba River, Scotts Flat Lake, Bridgeport Historic State Park and Historic Nevada City. Business travelers will appreciate being close to the Whispering Pines Business Park, the Grass Valley Group and the Loma Rica Industrial Park. The Grass Valley area is also home to a variety of annual events including the Draft Horse Classic, Music in the Mountains, Dog Shows, the Teddy Bear Convention and more!The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Grass Valley, California. Make a reservation today and save!**Hot tub and Pool closed until further notice* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing