We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Gold Country Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Decent”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stated here for one night while visiting family in the area. Pets are allowed- we didn't travel with ours, but good to know!

The rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was pretty good, possibly the best complimentary hotel eggs I've had. The room was a little small, only really a problem at 7:00 when everyone seemed to be hungry all at once.

I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: There are no elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank singandstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniah M, Front Office Manager at Best Western Gold Country Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We are sorry that your last stay was not top of the line, I assure you your next stay will be better. We are extending our breakfast area so it will not be so compacted. We are upgrading all our rooms with new televisions and are continuing to stay pet friendly! I recommend requesting a downstairs room for your next stay, either through us or online, we do not guarantee requests but they are always taken into account.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    120
    71
    51
    22
See reviews for
146
93
23
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We wanted a room on ground level my wfie had a hip replacement in October and threw her hip out 10 days prior to the stay. The toilet was so low that my wife threw her hip out at the motel. She was taken to the hospital to have it put back in. I called the motel to see if they had a room with a taller toilet. The desk informed me that they didn't have one at the time, and book me into the Holiday Inn. they were able to negociate the same price as I paid at Best Western. The desk clerk was very nice and accomedating. Koudos to the employees that help us at this stresful time. And yes we still prefer Best Western over all motels.



  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank JOHN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
185 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Everything was as expected except unexpectedly received warm cookies upon check-in! Have stayed in Nevada City many times and this will be my permanent Nevada City motel. Good breakfast and very satisified with everything else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fiftystatesevenconts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutter Creek, California
Level Contributor
274 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We travel a lot with our dog and really understand when a place is dog friendly. This place is...lots of grass, even offered us doggie bags at the front desk. The Inn is located on a side street without a lot of traffic, so easy to talk the dog for a nice long walk. We got the exact room we wanted, and only $20 charge for the dog. Rooms were very nice and clean, pool area is small, but, inviting. Breakfast had a good selection, including scrambled eggs and sauage patties, much more than the typical continental breakfast. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable of the area. Definately would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms with numbers from 170-180 are away from the freeway and the main entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLRaceGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was a good choice for my weekend in grass valley and Nevada city. The motel was right off the freeway and easy to locate. But it was also quiet. Staff was friendly and efficient and my room was clean and ready when I arrived. Breakfast was generous if not exactly gourmet. I will stay the again on my next trip to the Gold Country.

Room Tip: I was on the lower floor and could hear a little noise from above but not enough to bother me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann_sf_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here 5 nights. Had a plane to catch out of Sacramento. Left a wake up call and set the bogus alarm clock. Neither one worked. As a result, no shower or breakfast..had to rush like heck to the airport to return car rental. Good thing I didn't trust either...slept with one eye open all night.
Don't stay here if you have an appointment the next morning or don't have your own alarm clock.

Room Tip: Room 101 was ok, had flat screen TV where others didn't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 65diva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniah M, Front Office Manager at Best Western Gold Country Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We are sorry about the inconvenience you experienced on your most recent stay, I assure you we have fixed all the issues you had experienced, we have gotten new electronics and new 40" televisions in every room. We hope that you come and try your stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was an OK experience. The hotel staff were courteous and helpful, the rooms very average motel standard. The buildings are very close to an elevated section of the highway so check which room you are booking some are virtually underneath it. The swimming pool is dinky - not big enough to swim in. Complimentary breakfast was ok, well-stocked and a good variety, but the food items were not particularly good quality. Nothing wrong with it for the price we paid ($114), just not very attractive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redlizziem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grass Valley
1.9 mi away
Gold Miners Inn
Gold Miners Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
142 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
233 reviews
1.8 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#3 of 5 in Nevada City
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holbrooke Hotel
Holbrooke Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grass Valley
126 reviews
21.5 mi away
Best Western Golden Key
2.1 mi away
Sierra Mountain Inn
Sierra Mountain Inn
#2 of 10 in Grass Valley
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gold Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gold Country Inn

Property: Best Western Gold Country Inn
Address: 972 Sutton Way, Grass Valley, CA 95945
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Grass Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Gold Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn!Discover this pet friendly Grass Valley, California hotel offering convenient access to Empire Mine State Park, Historic Nevada City and the Tahoe National Forest. Located in northern, inland California just off highway 49, the BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn is committed to providing the best in customer service, accommodations and amenities at the right price. Each well-appointed guest room at this Grass Valley hotel features cable satellite television and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests are welcome to a complimentary full breakfast daily. This pet friendly hotel also offers guest laundry, an exercise facility and a full-service business center. Guests staying at the BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn will be a short walk from a variety of dining and shopping in historic Grass Valley. The Empire Mine State Park, only two miles away, offer the perfect setting for hiking and afternoon picnics. This California hotel is also less than five miles from many other key area attractions including the Nevada County Fairgrounds, the South Yuba River, Scotts Flat Lake, Bridgeport Historic State Park and Historic Nevada City. Business travelers will appreciate being close to the Whispering Pines Business Park, the Grass Valley Group and the Loma Rica Industrial Park. The Grass Valley area is also home to a variety of annual events including the Draft Horse Classic, Music in the Mountains, Dog Shows, the Teddy Bear Convention and more!The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Grass Valley, California. Make a reservation today and save!**Hot tub and Pool closed until further notice* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Best Western, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Gold Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing