We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good, solid choice for budget lodging” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A good, solid choice for budget lodging”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

I have stayed at this motel several times over the years, and it has always been a good, solid choice. We stayed there again over Thanksgiving weekend, and again, it was very good. It is an older motel, as others have mentioned, but they do a pretty good job of keeping it maintained and updated. Our group had 3 rooms, all of which were clean and comfortable.

Being a holiday weekend, the motel was completely full, and the staff seemed a little stressed, but they still did a good job. Grass Valley is a small town, so I don't think they are used to dealing with a high volume of guests.

Because of the holiday weekend, we ended up reserving 2 smoking rooms and 1 non-smoking room because that was all that was available. I called several times leading up to our stay to check on cancellations for non-smoking rooms. The staff was always very gracious on the phone, but there weren't any N/S rooms to be had. Then when we arrived, they had an additional non-smoking room set aside for us. A last-minute cancelation had come in, and one of the front desk staff snagged it for us. I really appreciated that. We still had 1 smoking room, but even that wasn't bad - you could tell it was a smoking room, but clearly they do a nice job of cleaning the rooms, so the lingering cigarette smell wasn't overpowering.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank november_moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    116
    66
    47
    19
See reviews for
132
87
23
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rocklin, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

External facing doors. You wouldn't know from outside, but on the second floor, everytime someone walks past your door, the entire inner room shakes- you can feel it in the bed, even. Walls are thin. Only reason I slept was because the other guests were relatively quiet. The wifi was very unreliable- even if you could get on, you wouldn't stay on for more than a few minutes and it was very slow. Front desk said internet co and manager hadn't given them any ETA on fix. Fans in bathroom were annoying sounding. Hot water for bath very very slow (probably 15 minutes to fill tub), tub angle too steep to be comfortable for neck- one of those) but ok for showering. Otherwise, good stuff- good bed. Right next to a highway patrol station, so probably safer than average. But I've stayed in better places for about the same price.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed here recently due to a wedding that we attended in Grass Valley. We booked through the hotel's website with a AAA discount. In all, we paid $188.00 for two nights. We really enjoyed our stay. Although the hotel does appear to be a little out dated. It was clean, quiet, and most importantly, the beds were comfortable. My husband and I enjoyed the breakfast on both mornings. It was better than a continental breakfast. They served eggs, bacon, different breads such as muffins, toast, bagels, different juices, coffee, hot chocolate,yogurt, fruit, hard boiled eggs, etc. Everything was fresh and delicious. I was very satisfied with the breakfast and happy that I didn't have to spend money elsewhere for it. So if you are budget conscious like me yet not willing to compromise on service, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Negabadomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

Stayed at this hotel the night of Sept. 17th because of a tournament we participated in. I didn't know what to expect since the motel was rated two stars. This hotel was very nice surrounded by trees. Rooms were very clean with nice amenities; a microvave, refrigerator, etc. There also was a desk and a dining table with two chairs. It indicated free wi-fi, but we didn't have time to use it so we can't comment on the service. The hotel provided a free breakfast; coffee, tea, hot chocolate, juices, bagels, various breads, cereal, yogurt, fruit, eggs, bacon, etc. Also, in the hotel lobby coffee and an assortment cookies available. The motel is two floors and we had an upstairs room . There is a pool and hot tub. The pool was unavailable possibly for renovation. If we are in Grass Valley, we would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway onramp. There was a group of rooms close to that entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaAngie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

I love this Best Western! I have been here twice, the staff is very friendly and helpful. I love the ambience of the place, although it is right off the highway, I can't hear the noise. It has big trees and is landscaped nicely, adding to the "gold country" appeal. And their free breakfast is very nice, hot, kept clean and stocked, and provides plenty of selections. And outdoor seating, what a nice way to eat your breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDBoardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gualala
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

We stayed at this Best Western for three nights recently. It is an older place but with nice grounds. However the pool and hot tub were out of commission and we felt this should have been mentioned on their website as it is hot there this month.

We were given a room that backed up to the freeway though with windows closed noise was not a problem. However it always smelled musty though it was clean and reasonably attractive. They serve a decent but simple expanded continental breakfast and have hot fresh baked cookies in the lobby each afternoon. A nice touch. It is right off the freeway convenient to Grass Valley and Nevada City. Our negative experience involved the housekeeper. We returned to our room after the complementary breakfast and found the housekeeper making up the bed. We said we would be out in just a few minutes. She continued to finish the bed and went to clean the sink area. My husband said he wanted to brush his teeth and she just stepped aside to let him in to do that. The toilet area is separate from the sink area and he then said he needed to use the rest room. She just continued to clean the sink area while visiting with me. He went in and closed the door though she was just on the other side. She was very friendly, but very inappropriate. It is hard to imagine they don't make it clear that if the people using the room are in it they deserve privacy. If not it is just common sense. We should have asked her to leave but we were leaving in a moment and let it go. She seemed to be a nice person. Otherwise, for the price this is a better than average motel with some nice amenities and nice grounds when the pool and spa are fixed. I think it is a better than average motel for the area but needs to pay attention to staff training.

Room Tip: You get a better room if you book directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshinegirlGualala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

Worst hotel room I have ever been in. Stinky, dingy room. Supposedly I had a non smoking room but the room smelled like smoke. When I call the front desk and told staff, they said it was a non smoking room and offered to come spray the room????

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Momimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Grass Valley hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grass Valley
1.9 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gold Miners Inn-Grass Valley
1.8 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#3 of 5 in Nevada City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Key
2.0 mi away
Holbrooke Hotel
Holbrooke Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sierra Mountain Inn
Sierra Mountain Inn
#3 of 10 in Grass Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
Address: 972 Sutton Way, Grass Valley, CA 95945-5177
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Grass Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn!Discover this pet friendly Grass Valley, California hotel offering convenient access to Empire Mine State Park, Historic Nevada City and the Tahoe National Forest. Located in northern, inland California just off highway 49, the BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn is committed to providing the best in customer service, accommodations and amenities at the right price. Each well-appointed guest room at this Grass Valley hotel features cable satellite television and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests are welcome to a complimentary full breakfast daily. This pet friendly hotel also offers guest laundry, an exercise facility and a full-service business center. Guests staying at the BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn will be a short walk from a variety of dining and shopping in historic Grass Valley. The Empire Mine State Park, only two miles away, offer the perfect setting for hiking and afternoon picnics. This California hotel is also less than five miles from many other key area attractions including the Nevada County Fairgrounds, the South Yuba River, Scotts Flat Lake, Bridgeport Historic State Park and Historic Nevada City. Business travelers will appreciate being close to the Whispering Pines Business Park, the Grass Valley Group and the Loma Rica Industrial Park. The Grass Valley area is also home to a variety of annual events including the Draft Horse Classic, Music in the Mountains, Dog Shows, the Teddy Bear Convention and more!The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Grass Valley, California. Make a reservation today and save!**Hot tub and Pool closed until further notice* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Best Western and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing