We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”

Kane's Family Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 105 Restaurants in Grass Valley
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Penn Valley CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Kane's has been my favorite restaurant in Grass Valley for several years. However, after lunch there yesterday, no more. I ordered the Kane's Burger, my favorite, from the regular menu (not the Lunch Menu). Not what it used to be. They should look again at that which is served at Original Joe's in SF. The french fries were standard frozen, not the fat, crisp fries they used to serve. A green salad consisted mostly of chunks of romaine, topped by a watery blue-cheese dressing. A far cry from a medly of greens that was formerly served. Service was apathetic even though the restaurant was not crowded. What a shame.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    51
    45
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sierra Foothills, CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Vastly overrated”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Have been here more than a few times hoping to see improvementst. Nice atmosphere and appearance. Large and varied selection of entrees. Fair wine list and bar. But appearances are deceptive as we all know. This is NOT top notch food or service. Very inconsistent without any memorable dishes. A big disappointment, as the potential in that space is exciting.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nevis15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A gem.”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Dined in the stone floored patio; plants and trees abundant to provide shade and cooling. Food was unique and delicious; service friendly, skillful, and well paced. The only criticism: so many wonderful offerings, making up one's mind is difficult!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank tsarinaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“a night out to Dinner”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Good Food, Service OK, seating was tight. Watch your credit card Balance when you get home.
Someone added 20% to the bill after I signed the original bill, I left 15% cash on the table, so the Tip area on the bill was Blank, Be aware, when you get home check your credit card balance.
Kane's did remove the additional 20% someone added. A couple weeks later. I will never use my Credit card there again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth the Price”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Had spinach & ricotta ravioli with a great crusty bread and a salad -- really good and the Tuxedo Cake for dessert, if a little large, was excellent too. Great service.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank CommuteCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kane's Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kane's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing