We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful historic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Holbrooke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holbrooke Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful historic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2010

I actually have stayed in the Holbrooke twice in recent months- two nights in late November and two nights in mid-January, 2010 and had a great stay both times. The first time we stayed in the annex building. Our room was clean and charming, but the walls were a bit thin and we could hear the neighbors. During our most recent stay, we were in the main hotel building, in a cozy room with a comfortable king size bed, feather comforter, and claw foot tub in the bathroom- and our room was very quiet. If you are used to chain hotels, this place may not be for you, but if you like history and appreciate unique buildings that have been lovingly and comfortably restored, do stay at the Holbrooke. We did not try the restaurant since there are literally about six good restaurants within a block or two of the hotel, but the bar is lovely.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMSOakland_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    41
    13
    15
    12
See reviews for
22
55
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pebble Beach, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2009

I brought a group of out-of-town, out-of-state friends to the Holbrooke for dinner. My wife and I had dinner several months ago the very same day the new owners took over and the food was good but the service was marginal. We thought by now the service would be on par and the food even better. Unfortunately it's now the worse service we have ever experienced anywhere - in the world.

After being seated within the sparsely populated restaurant we had a 15 minute wait until I summoned our waitress to place our order and she suggested that we order everything at once. They delivered our bottles of wine but short two glasses which we had to wait another then minutes until I got up and requested glasses. A few minutes later they arrived and were told that there weren't any clean glasses thus the wait! They delivered our first course WITHOUT bread. Again I had to walk back to the kitchen for bread. After another 20 minute wait for the main courses to arrive, one order lagged 10 minutes behind the others, two were in incorrect and three of the same order were non-identical.

I approached the waitress and she summoned the owner. He said with attitude that they were NOT understaffed but training the cook staff. I refused to subject my friends as beta testers so after comping our meal (we paid for the wine) it's unfortunate that a major historical landmark in the area will not receive our business again. It was an extremely embarrassing experience. Cirino's or Tofanelli's which are a few yards away offer far, far better service and food.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1globetrekker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Grass Valley hotels

Nevada City, Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2009

The restaurant was not open so we ate in the Saloon. The bartender was bussing tables, taking orders and probably cooking the food as it took so long to get served. I ordered kids spaghetti for my son and it came as a heaping bowl of noodles with the spiciest sauce I've ever tasted. He could not eat it, I could not have eaten it. I would expect that the kids menu be revised. I did not ask for any reprieve, however I will not patron them again, nor suggest it to friends or family. A shame considering it's a historical momument.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westslopemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2009

Note, the hotel does not show you pictures of their rooms, wounder why? because they are rundown, and outdated. I had a resvervation in their annex building, which is an old delapidated victorian sitting in the parking lot. The front porch is dryrotted (I am suprised no one has fallen through) and all the paint is peeling. There is what appears to be 30 year old blue indoor/outdoor carpet throughout. The bathroom in our room was sinking due to dry rot. There were cobb webs, and the extra blanet was sitting on the closet floor. Mis matched old furniture, worn, torn window coverings. All this for $129.00 per night. We demanded our money back, and stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaTasteful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
143 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2009

We only had one night here but were very impressed and pleased with our choice. We had the Presidential Suite which comfortably accommodated our family of four. The service was charming if a little hit and miss, which only seemed to add to the charm. The food in the restaurant was OK but a little uninspiring. The bar was fun and we really enjoyed the blues evening. Overal a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Addicked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2008

This is a really nice hotel, with genuine history and a great bar, in a lovely town. We stayed in the Mark Twain room which had its own large balcony. The food in the restaurant was good but the real gem is the bar with it's eccentric locals and lively atmosphere. We were lucky enough to see Kelly Fleming playing some live music which was well worth it.

If you have kids or are mostly dead (i.e. if no noise is more important than letting other people have some fun) then you'd be better in a chain hotel. However, if you like good food and drinks, lively company and a historic and well kept hotel then book at the Holbrooke. (I already did for next year)

  • Liked — The bar and its regulars
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lukamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2008

Stayed for 2 nights & glad we did. We had the Lola Montez and the Lotta Crabtree rooms. Both were spacious and nicely furnished. The rooms were spotlessly clean. Its a beautiful building and is well cared for. The location is great - right in the centre of Grass Valley and a good base for the Gold Country.
The cold buffet breakfast was lovely - a good variety of food in a lovely room. Good coffee.
Ate in the saloon one evening - great food. (Would also recommend Tofanelli's just up the street).
Free WiFi.
Great atmospheric hotel, friendly staff.
Would love to return some day & would definitely recommend. This hotel made our stay in Gold Country.
Really enjoyed Nevada City & especially Downieville.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — It was perfect!!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank pgb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grass Valley
0.1 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gold Miners Inn-Grass Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Broad Street Inn
Broad Street Inn
#2 of 5 in Nevada City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
3.6 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#3 of 5 in Nevada City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sierra Mountain Inn
Sierra Mountain Inn
#2 of 10 in Grass Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbrooke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbrooke Hotel

Property: Holbrooke Hotel
Address: 212 West Main Street, Grass Valley, CA 95945
Location: United States > California > Grass Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holbrooke Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holbrooke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbrooke Hotel Grass Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing