We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid choice in the heart of the Sierras”
Review of Chalet View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chalet View Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Graeagle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed at the Chalet View for two nights when in town for a wedding. The location was remote, wild, and beautiful and the lodge is nestled in the trees right off Highway 70. We had a King room with a loft and trundle bed that faced the woods. Friends of our stayed on the highway side of the lodge and said that it wasn't too noisy since the road is fairly quiet at night.

Our room was nicely decorated and spacious and had a high-end mini fridge and sizable bathroom with jacuzzi shower/tub. Our king bed was comfy although a bit soft. Some noise could be heard from the rooms next to ours at night, so light sleepers could potentially have an issue with this. Rooms on the end of the lodge would probably be quieter. Also, the weather during our visit got to the low 30's F at night and even though we had an in-room heater turned on to 70 F, it was still FREEZING in our room.

The property itself is wonderful and the lodge and lobby are made of a beautiful wood and are nicely appointed. We spent one afternoon hiking down to the river and train tracks and explored a few of the other trails behind the lodge. We also enjoyed smores at the fire pit and played bocce and a short round of golf (you can rent clubs from the front desk for a couple of dollars). There is also a hot tub and swimming pool and small pond that is stocked with rainbow trout. The free continental breakfast was somewhat lacking, however, and we had to drive into town to get a more substantial lunch at Longboard's.

On a random note, the lodge is heavily branded by Starbucks. Their logo is listed on the main hotel sign and they have a mini cafe area in the lobby where you can get your Starbucks fix. In the rooms themselves there are coffee machines and Starbucks branded cups. If you can't live without your Starbucks while deep in the Sierras, the Chalet View Lodge is the place for you.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the woods and on the ends of the lodge are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelFiend5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chaletviewlodge, Owner at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

We really enjoyed hosting the wedding, what a great group of people! Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are so sorry you were cold in your guest room. We always have extra heaters available at the Front Desk if we are made aware a guest is cold. We also offer delivery of extra blankets as well. We are glad you enjoyed your stay overall and hope to host you again.

Regards,
Carrie & Bob Hickman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 299 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2014

1st the good. We had reserved two nights with an Amazon deal. Due to family and pet emergencies we had to reschedule three times. This was handled exceptionally well by the desk staff for which my spouse, dog and myself are most grateful.
I will grant that we were there during the transition period from winter to summer when the management is actively revamping facilities. However, our overall experience was just disappointing. The breakfast was sparse featuring orange juice actively turning into alcohol, eggo waffles, a lack of napkins and other items which were insufficiently stocked. The bed was uncomfortable, having the shape of a soup bowl. The second night, our parking area had become a pile of gravel to be used the following day for topping interior roadways when there were MANY unused lodging parking areas that could have been used instead. I could go on, but let me jump to the laborious checkout. We were asked if "everything was okay?" When my spouse responded with a non-committal "fine" we were encouraged to give "constructive criticism." In addition to above, I pointed out that for a dog friendly establishment, I was surprised that there were no wildlife secure outdoor waste bag recepticals. For each point the management responded with weak excuses (unnecessary in my opinion, just listen) and responses that amounted to asking us if we had ever experienced running a similar business? This very negative reception to their invitation I found very off-putting. We will never revisit this location

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Noah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rc_hickman, Owner at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

You just know sometimes when you interact with someone that they will be writing a negative review, I could tell on checkout that this was the case with this couple. We expect that there will be guests who disagree with our other guests on breakfast ( the orange juice is real and had settled), but the beds? They are the Serta presidential and we rotate them as required and have had nothing but rave reviews,I think it may have had something to do with their large golden sleeping on the bed! I never made a comment about running a place yourself, but I did say that the logistics of having fourteen garbage receptacles with the constant bear visits is problematic. We did have a small pile of gravel by their car and it is difficult to do maintenance on our extensive resort property without some slight inconvenience. We strive to have all of our guests have the best experience possible up here in the Lost Sierra and we are disappointed that these reviewers did not. Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This place was absolutely wonderful and we will surely be back. After checking in the owner offered us a free upgrade although the room we had was already really nice. The new room had a cozy fireplace and outside balcony and was very clean and comfortable. We ate a delicious meal at the restaurant and when they heard it was a special occasion, they even offered us a free bottle of champagne! This hotel went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable and I would definitely recommend Chalet View to anyone looking for a great place to stay in the Graeagle area!! The owners were really wonderful, we enjoyed a nice soak in the hot tub and it is dog friendly!! The location is perfect for local golf, hiking and biking...we will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Megan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chaletviewlodge, Owner at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We strive to have every guest enjoy their time with us and are so rewarded when that happens. We enjoyed meeting you and look forward to seeing you upon your return visit.

Regards,

Carrie & Bob Hickman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

My wife and I recently spent 2 nights at Chalet View and had a great time. The staff were friendly and very accommodating. Dined in their restaurant for both breakfast and dinner. Fresh salads and hand-made pizza were excellent. Thanks for the in-house Starbucks.The lodge is situated on a large wooded site offering 9 hole exec golf, fishing pond, large patios, bocce and kids playground. We did upgrade to a terrace suite which was worth the small extra price. Bob and Carrie; thank you for a special visit. You have the perfect place for a family reunion or wedding.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 998Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chaletviewlodge, Owner at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our lodge. We are glad you enjoyed the upgrade to the suite. It was a pleasure to meet you and we hope to see you return, hopefully with a family reunion!

Regards,

Carrie & Bob Hickman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Cozy comfortable bedroom and ample breakfast. Staff most helpful. Dined in their restaurant both nights & they have good menu. Pasta Primavera + Cobb Salad fresh and tasty & homemade gelato a treat. Would suggest the restaurant offer bread or breadsticks to start the meal while patrons are waiting for their dinner

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank bernalgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chaletviewlodge, Owner at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated your dining experience. We have acted upon your suggestion and are now offering house-made breadsticks. We hope you will return to stay with us again in the near future.

Regards,

Carrie & Bob Hickman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed overnight on a scouting trip for future family reunions... The single staff person upon our afternoon check-in, was busy answering the phone and also making coffees and sandwiches when we arrived so we waited a bit to get checked in... Our room was relatively clean, sparsely decorated and mostly quiet later in the evening... all good things... The pool and outdoor facilities were in the off-season mode, so only partly available... They do seem to have allot of ancillary activity centers available to guests, volley ball, bocce ball, horseshoes etc. so I think later in the summer months there are many ways to entertain yourselves here... The fire-pit & hot-tub were lit-up and there were guests using them later that night. We ate in town and had a nice dinner at Coyote Bar & grill in Graeagle... Ownership has obviously invested in making this a real resort with attractive exteriors and loads of guest amenities. Sadly, the economic times seem to have put a small kink in the plans so I'd say they seem understaffed, but we might give it another shot later this summer as it is one of the nicer possibilities and is reasonably priced, at least in it's discounted form...

Room Tip: There are rooms off the highway, and cabins also available which are probably much quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank clayton-paradise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Owner at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We apologize that you were kept waiting at check-in. Winter is our slow season and therefore when our occupancies are low we do adjust our staffing. We are glad you recognized our many amenities on the property and we are looking forward to you coming back in the summer months when everything is open and we are staffed up!

Regards,

Carrie & Bob Hickman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

After my first review under skyler369 earlier this month, before staying, I would have to say that my stay was very enjoyable. My room was upgraded to a beautiful terrace suite, which was beautiful but because of the cold weather we were not able to use our terrace. The bed was pretty lumpy and the pillows made my neck hurt but it was soft. Overall I really enjoyed the room! I ate at the restaurant both nights which was delicious! The first night we were the only people there! The near by activities and activities on the premise were off season so there wasn't many options. Also the fire pit and pool were closed for summer although they did offer for us to use the fire pit and make a fire if we wanted to but it was too cold and far from our room.
I will definitely stay again! Probably in the summer when all of the hotel's amenities are in full swing.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skyler33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Owner at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to follow up and complete the review of your experience with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and dining with us. The winter is our off season so we do hope you will come back in the summer when the property has a large variety of amenities for you to enjoy. Please let us know the type of pillow that you prefer as we do offer a variety that you can choose from. We look forward to hosting you again!

Regards,

Carrie & Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Graeagle
1.5 mi away
Nakoma Resort
Nakoma Resort
#2 of 2 in Clio
55 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Lodge at Nakoma
The Lodge at Nakoma
#1 of 3 in Portola
9 reviews
24.5 mi away
Gold Pan Lodge
Gold Pan Lodge
#6 of 7 in Quincy
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Pullman House Inn
Pullman House Inn
#1 of 1 in Portola
21 reviews
12.6 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Sierra City
113 reviews
16.7 mi away
No photo provided
My Sisters Cottage
#3 of 5 in Sierra City
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet View Lodge

Address: 72056 Highway 70, Graeagle, CA 96103
Location: United States > California > Plumas County > Graeagle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Graeagle
Price Range: $128 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalet View Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We believe that travel is all about cultivating new experiences – ones that stay with you long after your trip. That’s exactly what you can expect here. Perhaps it’s the natural beauty that surrounds us, the adventures available, or maybe it’s the sense of contentment you feel throughout every season here. But we’re more than just a boutique resort and spa. We’re your dream wedding venue, an immaculate meeting venue and your ultimate family getaway. Most importantly, we’re your home during your Lost Sierra getaway. Welcome to Chalet View Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Groupon, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chalet View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet View Hotel Graeagle
Chalet View Graeagle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing