We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hideaway, nice location, friendly owners and staff”
Review of Chalet View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chalet View Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Graeagle
GreenLeadersGold level
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hideaway, nice location, friendly owners and staff”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Nicely done rooms, well kept, clean and cosy. We generally like places that are tucked away and had a restaurant / coffee shop in-house. Rooms were quite clean and cozy, though I larger bathroom would have been nice. The restaurant had great food, good selection of wine and cordial/friendly staff. Overall, great value for money and we will go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aaafamily25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Owner at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and dining in our restaurant. We hope that you will return and please keep in mind we do have other room types that have larger bathrooms for your next visit. We look forward to seeing you then!

Warm Regards,
Carrie & Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    82
    30
    11
    10
See reviews for
70
114
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Each year on our return from vacationing around the northwest we make a point to stay atleast 1 night at the Lodge. Great rooms, always very clean and staff is very friendly. It's close to several golf courses. We have stayed numerous times and never disappoints. They are constantly working on the grounds and upgrading their property. We look forward to the stay every year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Owner at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We are so glad you enjoy returning to our lodge each year. We love welcoming back guests and appreciate you recognizing the improvements. We look forward to seeing you next year !

Warm regards,
Carrie & Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Could not say more... We are locals and wanted a getaway. We will be back. Beautiful, amazing service, perfect!!!!!!!!! You will not be disappointed!!!! Check out the fire pit. The restaurant is fantastic. Love music one night, seared ahi the second. I honestly, honestly recommend this place for locals and travelers alike. Have fun!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Korput
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rc_hickman, Owner at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
This is so gratifying , we think the music is a wonderful idea and we are planning on continuing with it in perpetuity. We are also encouraged by the unique talents of our new Chef Marki, she is bringing our restaurant around to where we want it. We are extremely pleased that you had such a great experience and look forward to hosting you again soon. Warm Regards, Carrie and Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This lovely little lodge in the woods was the site of our wedding and we couldn't be happier to get back. My wife grew up just outside of Graeagle in Quincy and when we found this site two years ago we couldn't have been happier. The accomodations range from cozy and rustic to four star. The food they serve blew our socks off when we went for tasting before our wedding and we were ecstatic to serve it to our guests. Note that the wedding catering and the on site restaurant are the same chef. However, the most unique aspect of the Chalet View is the welcome home feeling you get from proprietors Carrie and Bob. From the first time we met the owners it was obvious that there #1 goal was our comfort and satisfaction. All of our business dealings with the wedding and on our return were like dealing with old friends even though we've really only met a couple of times. All of our wedding guests and some of these other reviews say the same thing. We can't say enough nice things about the Chalet View or it's ownership. Highly recommended for weddings (book early, we understand that they are already filling up for next summer) and highly recommended for a quiet weekend get away. We are planning to go back for our anniversary next year.

Thank You Chalet View!
The Cox family.

Room Tip: King Deluxe rooms are equivalent to any four star hotel you'll find in a big city. The less expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Owner at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
This review brought tears to our eyes. We are always striving to create a memorable experience for our guests and are so rewarded when we have accomplished that. We love having our former bride and grooms come back to visit and welcome them to return to celebrate their anniversary with a complimentary stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We made our annual visit to our favorite mountain lodge, and were not disappointed! Each year we find many improvements in what is offered, and this year was a winner. We always plan to play the little par-3 golf course, and this year we found it had been upgraded from 6 to 9 holes! The new $10 per stay per room charge is negligible and it was never busy while we were there, so we could take our time and play whenever we wanted to. It was a surprise that the dining room was closed one night of our stay for a private party--an inconvenience since there is no eating establishment close by. The grounds and scenery are lovely, as always, with new children's play equipment and game courts.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Aut0harper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Owner at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
We are so glad you returned for another visit with us and were pleased with the improvements and additions to the property.

We apologize for the inconvenience of the restaurant not being open for one of the nights you were with us.

We hope to see you again in the near future!

Regards,

Carrie Hickman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The reason I rated this a 3 and used rude in the title is when I first booked the room I reserved a terrace king room and from what the picture showed was a upstairs balcony. After checking in, which seem like the person was a little disoriented and almost looked like it was her first day, the room was on the bottom floor and REALLY tiny. I went back to the lobby to discuss what I booked etc. and I was moved to what I originally booked and no problem after that. Then when I was checking out the same person from the first day and another person were going to charge me the rate of $250 a night instead of $109 which was never mention to me on the first day. They also seem to put the blame on me for the whole thing. It went on like this for about 20 minutes and the staff seemed to get more annoyed with me and was not professional about any of it. If it wasn't for the fabulous room I would of rated this a 1.
Besides that the room was HUGE!!! It had a upstairs sitting area with a fridge, microwave, sink, table, second bathroom and a fold out couch. Being 6'1 it was a little difficult getting to the sink etc. due to the low ceiling. The bottom floor had a king size bed, huge TV (with only about 5 channels), fireplace and a dual sink in the bathroom. The balcony was also a great size with plenty of metal chairs and table with a view of the forest etc.
The grounds had a golf course ($10 charge for the entire stay), basketball and tennis court, Badminton court, indoor and outdoor seating. The location was about in the middle between the town of Graeagle and Portola and about an hour from Reno, NV.
If it wasn't for the horrible staff the Chalet View Lodge is a great place for everybody to enjoy time in the mountains.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwsaturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Owner at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We sincerely apologize that our staff was perceived as rude. We always strive to deliver excellent customer service and are very dismayed that in this incident we fell so short.

There are no pictures on our website of the Terrace King rooms. It is priced as our least expensive room. We do however have pictures of our Terrace Suites which are our top of the line rooms, and here is where the confusion came in. We are going to change the name of the king room to avoid any further confusion.

We did provide the guest with the upgraded room at a discounted rate and although this does not in any way justify our staff's shortcomings we are glad they did enjoy the accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgin, UT
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were here for a large family event and it was perfect with a variety of rooms for the range of people. We had a balcony suite and it was really comfortable, well appointed and we loved taking walks in the the National Forest behind the property. Could have enjoyed the food more, but I gather they are working on this and that will be important because there is no place else to go. I would certainly return if I was traveling in the area.

Room Tip: Spring for the better rooms, they are really worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyL1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Owner at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We appreciate your patience with our restaurant as we are currently working on modifications and improvements. We hope to host you again in the future!
Regards,
Carrie & Bob Hickman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Graeagle
1.5 mi away
Nakoma Resort
Nakoma Resort
#1 of 2 in Clio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
3.4 mi away
Pullman House Inn
Pullman House Inn
#1 of 1 in Portola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
12.6 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Sierra City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Lake Davis Resort, Cabins & Motel
24.5 mi away
Gold Pan Lodge
Gold Pan Lodge
#6 of 7 in Quincy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
16.7 mi away
No photo provided
My Sisters Cottage
#4 of 6 in Sierra City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet View Lodge

Property: Chalet View Lodge
Address: 72056 Highway 70, Graeagle, CA 96103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Plumas County > Graeagle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Graeagle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalet View Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the crossroads of luxury and unspoiled wilderness lies Chalet View Lodge. Featuring 50 guest rooms, suites and rustic cabins, our accommodations have been exquisitely designed for ultimate relaxation. The resort boasts a 9-hole executive golf course, swimming pool and spa, catch and release pond, zip-line, volleyball and bocce ball courts, just to name a few of our amenities. Experience dynamic flavors prepared by our award winning Executive Chef, Adam Bronson, inspired by our onsite greenhouse at The Grille. Here, you'll live day to day, adventure to adventure. Explore the areas hundreds of miles of spectacular trails, either on horseback, mountain bikes, snowmobiles, foot or whatever means of locomotion you desire. Regardless of the season or celebration, Chalet View Lodge is prepared to pamper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Chalet View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet View Hotel Graeagle
Chalet View Graeagle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing