We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very Pleased” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chalet View Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chalet View Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Graeagle
Virgin, UT
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very Pleased”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were here for a large family event and it was perfect with a variety of rooms for the range of people. We had a balcony suite and it was really comfortable, well appointed and we loved taking walks in the the National Forest behind the property. Could have enjoyed the food more, but I gather they are working on this and that will be important because there is no place else to go. I would certainly return if I was traveling in the area.

Room Tip: Spring for the better rooms, they are really worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyL1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Owner at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We appreciate your patience with our restaurant as we are currently working on modifications and improvements. We hope to host you again in the future!
Regards,
Carrie & Bob Hickman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    74
    28
    11
    10
See reviews for
66
107
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were looking for a pet friendly place and stayed in the rustic cabin. We were expecting more rustic but were pleased about how nice it was. A bit expensive but it was perfect for our stay. We had some T.V. problems. The matter was dealt with very promptly. Our children played golf, swam, and played on the play ground. We did not find easy river access that was the only bummer. Hit the train tracks and a steep drop not to mention a hail storm for 5 mins. in 80 degree weather. Who knew. Beautiful facilities and great owners that made us feel very welcomed. Catered to our late check in and served us a quick meal before closing. We will return when we drop off and pick up our kids at the wonderful 2 Rivers Soccer Camp. Thanks Chalet View Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Djn067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Owner at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us! I did notice you mentioned not being able to access the Feather River easily. For future reference, we do provide maps and hiking guides at the Front Desk for guest use. Thanks for allowing us to host you on your recent trip; we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Bob and Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Not knowing the area well, we made plans to visit Lake Almanor on 4th of July! There are wonderful activities there but NO vacancy during this holiday. So we searched all surrounding areas, including vacation rentals, but still no availability. My husband discovered the Chalet View Lodge and we traveled there to wait out the holiday. We were amazed at the quality, amenities and serenity of this lodging. It was truly a delight to be there in the pines. Hotel Service was impeccable, as was that for dining.. The room was well-appointed and so comfortable. Because of the altitude, even with sunny weather, it was not hot! You must see their website to appreciate all they have to offer, because you can find plenty to do without leaving the property. But do venture out..the little town of Graeagle (gray-eagle) has lots of quaint shops and a lake they call a pond where you can swim, picnic, etc. We explored many back roads and swam in nearby lakes. The Staff at Chalet View can direct you to fun things to do. Also, this is a base for anyone - we met senior couples, hikers/fishermen(and women), and families with young children or teens here! The pool and patio terrace are delightful. I cannot tell how wonderful and affordable it is here!

Room Tip: We had a room on the pool side (not highway), and it was very quiet as we are light sleepers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mimiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rc_hickman, Owner at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We are so appreciative that by chance you found us and our unique property in the Lost Sierra. Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review. We look forward to hosting you again soon. Yours Truly, Bob and Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Good things: great spot for fam vaca or romantic get away, par three gold is fun for kids or adults to learn on, great spot for fishing and hiking, definitely one of the top lodging in the area. Loved the outdoor jacuzzi that faced the forest. Very few people midweek so lots of privacy. Full Starbucks menu. Short hike to Feather River where we caught and released fish and saw beavers. Outdoor patio with pizza oven was awesome potential but pizza was not great. Menu advetised onions and garlic and non was on the pizza. Really lovely carpentry, tiling and moulding and i loved the unique outdoor light fixtures. Not so great: when we arrived they informed us that chef quit and no dinner would be served for three days. That was okay because we brought in lots of our food from Whole Foods in Reno. one day they were out of half and half and one day they were out of morning coffee for guests. They got us complimentary Americanos at Starbucks. No rugs or carpets anywhere in the downstairs or upstairs of the spa suite. The tile is rough and dark and felt dirty. The way the spa suite was advertised, I thought I would have an outdoor private jacuzzi tub but it was indoor private. No outdoor patio for our suite to enjoy the summer breeze and drink a glass of wine. Parking spot view outside of room. I went this time for romantic getaway and it was WAY beyond my expectations. I will come again for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SBHaydens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rc_hickman, Owner at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
How great that you discovered all that our property has to offer and that you recognized our attention to detail. We are always trying to improve so the constructive criticism is welcome. We will see you soon. Bob and Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

A group of us held a weekend retreat here from a Thursday evening to Saturday afternoon and it was divine. The rooms, meeting room, people and service were wonderful and they couldn't have been more pleasant. This little slice of paradise is only about an hour from Reno and you feel like you are worlds away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, Owner at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
We really appreciate your wonderful comments about our lodge. It is such a pleasure to host your group and we look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We de Diego take a few days off and google for a nice hotel in this area. Our room has double terrace doors onto a deck overlooking the grounds, back of lodge and pool. Had a nice massage by Amanda at the spa. It is small but comfortable. Our room has king bed,fireplace and flat screen tv. Bath gas 2 sinks, small closet with separate shower/toilet area. Steps from our bed area leads to sitting loft, table, chairs, small frig with no freezer, microwave plus 1/2 bath. I assume the sma sofa is a hide-a-bed. There is a little traffic during the day as it is on Highway 70, only 2 lines not a freeway. This lodge has all that I wanted. Breakfast. Nice dinners. Spa. Golf and bikes. A great getaway. Hope you like it also

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigTuna94510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

What was supposed to be a 3 day business trip in the middle of nowhere, ended up being a month long trip in which I ran over my cell phone, worked 12 hour days, failing at what I was doing, but surrounded by beauty (not just you Anna), and lucky enough to spend my nights at the Chalet View Lodge. Off the beaten path of the Sierra's, the Chalet View is definitely the premier resort in the area. I loved my rooms, (I think I stayed in half on them), the dinning, and ending my nights at the bar with the friendly staff who didn't get to go home on time for a month because I always had to have one more glass of wine. The owners Carrie and Bob made me feel at home, attended to all my requests, and provided much needed laughter and stimulating conversation. The area is rich in history and I would love to go back for pleasure rather than business.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emefkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Graeagle
1.5 mi away
Nakoma Resort
Nakoma Resort
#1 of 2 in Clio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
9.6 mi away
Gold Lake Lodge
Gold Lake Lodge
#2 of 4 in Graeagle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
12.6 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Sierra City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Pullman House Inn
Pullman House Inn
#1 of 1 in Portola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
5.3 mi away
Lodge at Whitehawk
6.6 mi away
Lake Davis Resort, Cabins & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet View Lodge

Property: Chalet View Lodge
Address: 72056 Highway 70, Graeagle, CA 96103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Plumas County > Graeagle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Graeagle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalet View Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the crossroads of luxury and unspoiled wilderness lies Chalet View Lodge. Featuring 50 guest rooms, suites and rustic cabins, our accommodations have been exquisitely designed for ultimate relaxation. The resort boasts a 9-hole executive golf course, swimming pool and spa, catch and release pond, zip-line, volleyball and bocce ball courts, just to name a few of our amenities. Experience dynamic flavors prepared by our award winning Executive Chef, Adam Bronson, inspired by our onsite greenhouse at The Grille. Here, you'll live day to day, adventure to adventure. Explore the areas hundreds of miles of spectacular trails, either on horseback, mountain bikes, snowmobiles, foot or whatever means of locomotion you desire. Regardless of the season or celebration, Chalet View Lodge is prepared to pamper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Chalet View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet View Hotel Graeagle
Chalet View Graeagle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing