We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Deal!”
Review of Chalet View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chalet View Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Graeagle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We inquired about the hot tub. Yes, it is open year-round, and they put us in the room closest to the hot tub (#316) without us even asking! Our "small, cheap" room had an upstairs loft with a nice sofa & table. We had dinner in the restaurant. Great food. We compared prices with a nearby ordinary motel, and the Chalet View was actually cheaper for what I'm sure is a much larger and nicer room with more amenities. (I hope the management doesn't read this...)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pvanderv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rc_hickman, Owner at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

We do read these reviews and have accordingly raised our prices by 20%! Just kidding. We really do appreciate the acknowledgement of value and will always go the extra distance to accommodate. Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 295 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have visited here at least four times in the past three years. The fun little par-3 course gets better every year. Not crowded, and available all day, it was the site for our little family tournament last year. Of course, our serious golfers visited the world-class golf courses nearby. "Something for Everyone" ? On our visit in September, our son-in-law made good use of the dirt bike he was able to rent at a very reasonable daily rate. We brought our own acoustic instruments, and In the evening, a few of us gathered at the pond, where we had a bonfire, and live music! We all enjoyed the outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, with the scenic view of mountain trees and flowers. Without leaving the premises, there is excellent food and drink available, and much to do--hiking, playground equipment for children, spa and gym available, but with quiet spots for reading and relaxing. We shall return!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aut0harper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I too stayed at the Chalet View Lodge for the December 8th wedding & thoroughly enjoyed the experience. I would definitely recommend this hotel. The lobby was beautiful with mountain themed decor, a large wood burning fireplace & a huge Christmas tree. Amenities in the lobby included a full bar & a Starbucks. The owner's & staff were super friendly & helpful. The room was very charming with vaulted, wood beam ceilings, granite counters & travertine tile in the bathroom. There was instant hot water which never ran out. Our room has two sleeping area's including an upstairs loft at a very reasonable price. The beds were plush & comfortable. I absolutely could not have asked for more. Thank you Chalet View!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 777Janette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We too, attended the wedding that one of the other guests previously has written about. Obviously they are a disgruntled guest but our experience was not like theirs at all. In fact, I was sitting in the lobby when those guests arrived and remember vividly how unhappy the three of them looked and how unfriendly they were. They walked in with a chip on their shoulders. I wouldn't listen to what they wrote. This is not the true experience of this place by happy vacationers and wedding goers. Those people had issues upon arrival.

We are from Big Sur, Carmel and now Lake Tahoe. These are all very beautiful destination vacation places with many resorts that are world renowned. We as locals enjoyed staying in many of them and continue to visit the peninsula and these fine resorts. We have awesome resorts in Tahoe as well. The Chalet View Lodge is right up there.

I walked in to the Chalet View Lodge to the lovely smell of some sort of chocolate baking. To me it smelled like a chocolate soufflé. And to make matters even better there was Starbucks coffee brewing that mixed with the smell of baking chocolate and the scent of the lovely decorated fresh Christmas tree!! Of course, it was cold outside so this was a warming welcome. The lobby was beautifully appointed with a cozy and warm european flair. It was a feast for the senses and felt good to have arrived to this lodge that reminded me of some of the most wonderful country inns from the Monterey Peninsula or Europe.

I was greeted by one of the most beautiful smiles of Carrie Hickman. She and her husband, Bob and of course their little Maddie are the most professional, welcoming, accommodating, delightful hosts. They are on site and visible at all times it seems and are accessible to make sure all desires of your stay are attended to.

We had excellent experiences with all staff we came in contact with including the bartender who was quite knowledgeable and fun. Our dining was top notch as were our accommodations. This lodge and rooms are on the small side but they have used all the space available in such a pretty, comfortable and efficient way.

The patio where the wedding was held was inviting and beautiful and we were all aware of the weather this time of year because of the good communication from the caring bride and groom. The ceremony was short and sweet and one of the best weddings I have ever been to. I was wearing a dress and I didn't freeze. I chose to wear a dress as it was an evening wedding and it is December after all and a celebration.

We commend the Hickmans for creating such a wonderful resort and retreat and would most definitely recommend Chalet View Lodge to anyone. I look forward to a time when I can go back when the weather is more conducive to enjoying lingering on their gorgeous patio and having a freshly made pizza made right there in stone pizza oven, a glass of wine and relaxing to the sounds of soft music playing. Even so, it was cold outside this time of year and we still were able to enjoy ourselves outside and our stay here. Thank you Bob, Carrie and Maddie Hickman!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I had my wedding at the Chalet View Lodge this weekend December 8th. This lodge in the Sierra Buttes is a gold mine. The property is well kept with love from the owners and the staff was so helpful to all our guests. The food was spectacular and the outside pizza oven is very unique.
Love the Chalet View Lodge,
Mr. & Mrs. Jesse Carson

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jessekalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

If you're looking for a warm and welcoming retreat in the foothills of the eastern Sierras, this is your place. Our daughter and her fiance had their wedding here this past weekend and we couldn't be more pleased with how the owners, Bob and Carrie Hickman, handled the event from beginning to end. You simply won't find more accommodating hosts than the Hickmans, and they were a very big part of the successful wedding we were part of on Saturday. Thank you again Bob and Carrie for all that you guys did for us to make this such a wonderful time for our entire family and our friends.

The main lodge is comfortable and cozy with a double sided fireplace which faces the front desk and the dining room/bar area which seats about 50 people. There is also a nice lounge area towards the back of the lodge that looks out onto the covered deck and pool area and there is an outdoor bar and wood fired pizza oven in the back as well. On Friday there were about 50 of us who stayed at the Lodge and they fired up the oven and we had a pizza party! I had never had wood fired pizza before and it was delicious. Of course there were 50 of us fighting over the pizza, but there was plenty to go around and there was an open salad bar to go along with the meal. Thanks to Chef Curt for putting this together for us.

Our room was perfect in every way. Our room was two stories with the king bed upstairs with a separate bathroom which had a large walk-in shower. Downstairs we had a hide-a-bed leather couch, fireplace, table and chairs, closet, large bathroom, microwave, refrigerator and coffee pot. The decor is knotty pine, slate floors and smooth plaster. Very deluxe accommodations for a small resort. This is all new construction (5 years old?) and there are a lot of extra things to do so you don't have to leave the property if you don't want to.

Eight of us went for a hike Saturday morning on one of the trails which led down to the Feather River which is about a half mile away. It was really full and cascading due to the recent storms, very spectacular. There is also an executive golf course, although the greens were frozen this time of year. The resort is at about 4,900 feet so it's pretty chilly here in December.

We held the wedding ceremony outside on the deck in front of the fireplace and Bob built a small platform for the participants to stand on. It was pretty brisk out there at 4:00 pm so we kept the ceremony brief and everyone just walked out and stood for the short period of the actual vows.

There are a lot more nice things I could say about the facilities and all there is to do at the resort, but the most important thing to me was the warm and welcoming attitude of Bob, Carrie and all of the staff there at the resort. Chef Curt did a wonderful job with the catering and I have to mention how well Michelle did as our bartender on Friday night at the pizza party. Good job everyone, we had a great time.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the terrace suites on the upper floor. It's just a few steps from the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OldWizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I just returned from the best weekend of my life at the Chalet View Lodge. The owners of this Lodge are two of the most caring and considerate people I have ever met. The rooms were incredibly comfortable and the showers were spotless. The service and employees were all fantastic. Every one of the employees that I interacted with was so polite and accommodating. This lodge is a great place for couples, and families because of the illustrious amounts of activities available. Not to mention there is a STARBUCKS in the lobby of the Chalet View Lodge!! All in all, great service, rooms, activities for all ages, I highly recommend the Chalet View Lodge to anyone who is looking for a fantastic place to stay and a great time!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Graeagle
1.5 mi away
Nakoma Resort
Nakoma Resort
#2 of 2 in Clio
54 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Lodge at Nakoma
The Lodge at Nakoma
#1 of 3 in Portola
9 reviews
12.6 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Sierra City
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Pullman House Inn
Pullman House Inn
#1 of 1 in Portola
21 reviews
24.5 mi away
Gold Pan Lodge
Gold Pan Lodge
#6 of 7 in Quincy
41 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lake Davis Resort, Cabins & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet View Lodge

Address: 72056 Highway 70, Graeagle, CA 96103
Location: United States > California > Plumas County > Graeagle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Graeagle
Price Range: $128 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalet View Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We believe that travel is all about cultivating new experiences – ones that stay with you long after your trip. That’s exactly what you can expect here. Perhaps it’s the natural beauty that surrounds us, the adventures available, or maybe it’s the sense of contentment you feel throughout every season here. But we’re more than just a boutique resort and spa. We’re your dream wedding venue, an immaculate meeting venue and your ultimate family getaway. Most importantly, we’re your home during your Lost Sierra getaway. Welcome to Chalet View Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chalet View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet View Hotel Graeagle
Chalet View Graeagle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing