We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chalet View Lodge”
Review of Chalet View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chalet View Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Graeagle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reno, Nevada
1 review
“Chalet View Lodge”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This place is great! My wife and I had a great time here. It is in a beautiful location, the room was clean, elegant and kept in great shape for guests. The entire property was very nice with many amenities and fun stuff to do. We didn't get a chance to eat dinner on the terrace, but it looked lovely. They even had a brick pizza oven which I'm sure cooks some great pizzas. Staff was friendly. I honestly have no complaints and I've already recommended to several people.

Room Tip: The suites are pretty sweet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lostsierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    86
    31
    12
    10
See reviews for
72
116
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
home
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed here this past month. The hotel is promoted well, was given the impression by the website and the person taking my reservation that this would be an awesome place to stay and dine. Was told how wonderful the restaurant was. made a reservation for dinner for 8pm....when we got to the hotel to check in....no one was at the desk. The hostess finally gets there..(after she finished some housekeeping type duties). ok....whatever. Get to the room....looks nice...fireplace, that did not work. No heat...froze...luckily the bed was compfy and had thick comforter....slate floors were really cold. The restaurant was the worst...mostly because of rude and poor service. Even the owner was rude. It was obvious that our ?late reservation was getting in the way of them closing up and leaving....We won't go back...the food was less than great. stick with the pizza if you go. and go early.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marykrohne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We went to the Lodge for a Family Wedding. Our stay was a couple of days. The Wedding site was absoulely terrific, with lots of photo opps! My Granddaughter, age10, catch her 1st fish (catch and release). The pond is small, it has a small boat, and great for little ones to remember. We played Bocce ball, and swim. The golf course is great for a family friendly round of golf, without any pressure, or the need to know how to play golf. The trails were good for hiking. You can rent bike to go bike trailing. The accommadations were very comfortable, with nicely tiled and updated bathrooms.


There was great Starbuck's coffee, with a breakfast provided. It was great relaxing weekend, with eveyone staying close. The outdoor patio was a great gathering place. The fire pit was fun for the young crowd.

I loved it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rc_hickman, Owner at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
This weekends wedding was beautiful and we are so glad when everyone has a wonderful time. I love it when kids catch their first fish and if the bears would stop catching them we would have more for the kids! We have really tried to provide a wide array of activities and it is so gratifying when they are enjoyed. Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The setting is terrific. A very pretty property, but less than advertised. Parts of the golf course were under construction, the salon was closed and the tennis court was not usable.

The biggest problem was our suite, it just wasn't comfortable. There was no counter space in the bathrooms. There was no drawer space in the bedroom or main floor. The bed was upstairs, but the closet and master bath was downstairs.

The continental breakfast was not up to par for a property of this type. The food never changed over the course of three days and the selection was sparse. I have had better breakfasts at $50/night chain hotel properties.

This place could be great, unfortunately it misses by a mile.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank archcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rc_hickman, Owner at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
We are always disappointed when a guest has a less than wonderful experience staying with us. Fortunately, most people are stunned at the wide array of amenities that are included in their room price, possibly, because these travelers are more accustomed to $55 a night hotels, the complimentary golf course, fishing ponds, hiking trails, bocce ball, pillow top mattresses, pool, two spas etc. threw them off and they could only find fault with the fact that we were working on improving the golf course and that the salon had moved. Our included breakfast is typically raved about and we wonder what more we could add to the fresh fruit, waffles, French toast, oatmeal, Starbucks coffee, 3 varieties of cereal, hard boiled eggs, 3 fruit juices etc.
We strive to appeal on all levels to every type of traveler, and sometimes we fall short, but we do continue to improve, the latest is the wood-fired pizza oven that has been a total hit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and had the most incredible time. There is so much here to enjoy! One can golf, lounge by the pool, get pampered by talented salon staff or enjoy amazing pizzas and views out on the patio. We loved playing horse-shoes and bocce ball during the day and relaxing by the pond and campfire at night!! Truly amazing!!

Room Tip: The suites are very comfortable and have good sized living rooms and balconies. However, if you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Cannot say enough how much we enjoyed our stay at the Chalet View! Beautiful, modern, clean room; well kept grounds; good restaurant; and most of all very friendly and helpful staff! We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennalei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for just one night midweek and got an upgrade to the terrace rooms for $25. It was a nice room with a sitting area on the ground floor and the bedroom upstairs. It was a very nice room with a couple of problems: the TV downstairs had very poor reception. The reception upstairs was great but the TV was ridiculously small, and the remote was missing.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very average, a bit of a disappointment.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Graeagle
1.5 mi away
Nakoma Resort
Nakoma Resort
#1 of 2 in Clio
45 reviews
3.4 mi away
Pullman House Inn
Pullman House Inn
#1 of 1 in Portola
17 reviews
12.6 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Sierra City
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Gold Pan Lodge
Gold Pan Lodge
#6 of 7 in Quincy
37 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lake Davis Resort, Cabins & Motel
16.7 mi away
No photo provided
My Sisters Cottage
#3 of 5 in Sierra City
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet View Lodge

Property: Chalet View Lodge
Address: 72056 Highway 70, Graeagle, CA 96103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Plumas County > Graeagle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Graeagle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalet View Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the crossroads of luxury and unspoiled wilderness lies Chalet View Lodge. Featuring 50 guest rooms, suites and rustic cabins, our accommodations have been exquisitely designed for ultimate relaxation. The resort boasts a 9-hole executive golf course, swimming pool and spa, catch and release pond, zip-line, volleyball and bocce ball courts, just to name a few of our amenities. Experience dynamic flavors prepared by our award winning Executive Chef, Adam Bronson, inspired by our onsite greenhouse at The Grille. Here, you'll live day to day, adventure to adventure. Explore the areas hundreds of miles of spectacular trails, either on horseback, mountain bikes, snowmobiles, foot or whatever means of locomotion you desire. Regardless of the season or celebration, Chalet View Lodge is prepared to pamper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chalet View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet View Hotel Graeagle
Chalet View Graeagle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing