We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay!”
Review of Chalet View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chalet View Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Graeagle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and had the most incredible time. There is so much here to enjoy! One can golf, lounge by the pool, get pampered by talented salon staff or enjoy amazing pizzas and views out on the patio. We loved playing horse-shoes and bocce ball during the day and relaxing by the pond and campfire at night!! Truly amazing!!

Room Tip: The suites are very comfortable and have good sized living rooms and balconies. However, if you wan...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
There are newer reviews for Chalet View Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 293 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012

Cannot say enough how much we enjoyed our stay at the Chalet View! Beautiful, modern, clean room; well kept grounds; good restaurant; and most of all very friendly and helpful staff! We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennalei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed for just one night midweek and got an upgrade to the terrace rooms for $25. It was a nice room with a sitting area on the ground floor and the bedroom upstairs. It was a very nice room with a couple of problems: the TV downstairs had very poor reception. The reception upstairs was great but the TV was ridiculously small, and the remote was missing.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very average, a bit of a disappointment.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We ended up at Chalet View after finding our original destination; Camp Layman, was unavailable. When you pull up to the lodge, there is no indication of the sheer scope of what is available to you as a guest. The room was beautiful and classy, the restaurant cozy and the food delicious. There are too many activities to list, all included in the price of the room. The staff is friendly, the setting lovely. I would definitely stay there again! I mean really, who has a small golf course on site?

Room Tip: We only stayed there one time so far, but even though our room was facing the road, it was still per...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This is a great place - we had planned to stay for one night, and wound up staying for three nights (in summer).

Our room (which faced the pool and the grounds --do try to avoid to roadside rooms....) was clean and ready for an early check in at the last minute. The beds were very good (important for those of us with bad backs) though the pillows were quite mushy. Though the fridge is in an awkward location,and there is no bureau or dresser, we made ourselves right at home. The AC/fan is quiet (though i was wishing for a ceiling fan to move things around a bit more), and has a remote control (a nice touch). Nice linens, plenty of towels, and though the property is dog-friendly, our room with its nice, clean slate floor, was devoid of any canine evidence. A relief for those of us with allergies.

The staff are AMAZING - friendly, accommodating, hard-working. The small crew is often performing numerous tasks: front desk, barista at the Starbucks outlet, server at the restaurant, etc. And yet they get it all done, with smiles. The free breakfast is good: hard-boiled eggs, french toast, waffles, muffins, cereal, juice, beverages, etc. A nice range of options a bit above and beyond the usual fare.

The lodge feels like a larger resort property: the pool and jacuzzi are spacious and clean, with plenty of lounge chairs and tables for poolside fun. I am not a golfer, but there is a small gold course (they will loan you clubs for free), volleyball net, kids play structure, pond, etc. The patio is great for hanging out, and is also part of the very nice Grille restaurant (wood pizzas, burgers, salads, etc). I also had a very good massage (thanks, Rosie) that I easily scheduled upon arrival.

The gym was a bit of a disapointment for me: though the extra usage fee is not high ($7), the cadio equipment was jammed together in a small room and the weight-training equipment was in another space that seems like a very serious local gym. I had been hoping for a space in which I could stretch and do some mat work, but that was not in the offing.

A relaxing, resort feel with a great staff in a beautiful area at a great price. We will be back!

Room Tip: The roadside rooms are right off the parking lot. Try to get a room facing the pool/patio/property.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We had a great stay at this lodge on July 12th. We used the lodge as a base camp for hiking the Gold Lakes and for golfing in Graeagle.
The room was spacious and very clean. The pool was refreshing after a days hiking.
The lodge also had a mini 9 hole golf course and activity area which is terific for kids and grandkids.
Th continental breakfast did provide french toast and waffles. Starbucks coffee completed the package.
We were there with another couple but plan to come back with th grandkids.
Bod(owner ) answered all of our questions about scenic side trips in the area which was helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the highway for quietness. Facing highway if you're exhausted and it doesn't...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tennispete72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights. Nicely done and gives a real cabin in the forest feeling. Great customer service. Friendly. Outdoor dining area is great with fireplace. The wood burning outdoor fireplace/oven used for pizzas is also great. Nice food. Breakfast was included and was quite nice. Basic breakfast but nice - cereal, boiled eggs, muffins, french toast, Starbucks coffee/tea. Room was facing the forest. 2 levels. Lower level has king-sized bed, TV, A/C, bathroom, closet, refrigerator, coffee maker, phone. Upper level loft has a full-sized bed. The property is quite big with a golf course, pond, horse shoe playing area, volleyball, pool, hot tub, etc. Onsite salon and fitness center. The best part is that all of the features and amenities are in individual cabin-looking areas, instead of one large building. Gave the feeling of a settlement / community. Rustic and charming. From the property itself, we walked to hiking trails in the forest. Graeagle is a nice town closeby to visit and eat. Lots of stuff to do. Not touristy at all. Laid back. We loved the Chalet View Lodge and will be back for sure

Room Tip: When booking ask for a "forest view" room to avoid street-facing rooms
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1WorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Graeagle
1.5 mi away
Nakoma Resort
Nakoma Resort
#2 of 2 in Clio
51 reviews
12.6 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Sierra City
112 reviews
3.4 mi away
Pullman House Inn
Pullman House Inn
#1 of 1 in Portola
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Lodge at Nakoma
The Lodge at Nakoma
#1 of 3 in Portola
8 reviews
24.5 mi away
Gold Pan Lodge
Gold Pan Lodge
#6 of 7 in Quincy
40 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lake Davis Resort, Cabins & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet View Lodge

Address: 72056 Highway 70, Graeagle, CA 96103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Plumas County > Graeagle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Graeagle
Price Range: $129 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalet View Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the crossroads of luxury and unspoiled wilderness lies Chalet View Lodge. Featuring 50 guest rooms, suites and rustic cabins, our accommodations have been exquisitely designed for ultimate relaxation. The resort boasts a 9-hole executive golf course, swimming pool and spa, catch and release pond, zip-line, volleyball and bocce ball courts, just to name a few of our amenities. Experience dynamic flavors prepared by our award winning Executive Chef, Adam Bronson, inspired by our onsite greenhouse at The Grille. Here, you'll live day to day, adventure to adventure. Explore the areas hundreds of miles of spectacular trails, either on horseback, mountain bikes, snowmobiles, foot or whatever means of locomotion you desire. Regardless of the season or celebration, Chalet View Lodge is prepared to pamper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chalet View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet View Hotel Graeagle
Chalet View Graeagle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing