We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded every expectation.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gray Eagle Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Graeagle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gray Eagle Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 Graeagle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Truckee, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceeded every expectation.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Just returned home from a fantastic anniversary weekend at Gray Eagle Lodge. We live nearby but found this be a totally new and unexpected experience. The cabins are absolutely perfect - nicely appointed and totally comfortable but unplugged from the overstimulating world. The Lodge setup is beyond description - from a spot to relax to easily a 4-star dining experience. The setting is a recreational paradise with miles of trails spurring off in every direction. We never lacked for access to the back country but could stay on site and have a great time. Staff was entirely friendly, accessible and anxious to help plan any activity. Back with the kids soon for another type of experience. I know we'll be well cared for.

Room Tip: The Juniper cabin was recently updated and fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grizzlytrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Gray Eagle Lodge, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Gray Eagle Lodge. We feel so priviledged that you choose our Lodge to celebrate your Anniversary....especially being so close to Lake Tahoe!!! We are so grateful for our staff and their committment to making everyone's stay special. We look forward to seeing you with the rest of the family! Congratulations! The Smith Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    8
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
41
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

My husband, Golden Retriever and I just got back from three heavenly days at the Gray Eagle Lodge near the Plumas County village of Graeagle. We truly hated leaving this lovely place. We had been looking for a dog-friendly place to stay in the Lakes Basin and kept seeing the Gray Eagle Lodge's website, and it looked so inviting, so we decided to book three nights in the second week of June. I was somewhat concerned about what we might find, based on the previous review (and lack of reviews generally), but we were so pleasantly surprised.
The cabin: Our cabin was Tamarack, at the end of the path (not really a road) near the waterfall. The cabin was one of the smaller ones, with a king bed and bathroom downstairs, and a double bed in a loft above. It was nicely decorated, including nightstands with lamps (very important to me for reading in bed at night), two comfortable chairs with a table in between, and wonderful light provided by several windows. The bathroom was small but clean and there was plenty of hot water. Bring shampoo, and a blow dryer if you use one, as only soap is provided. The towels were large and fluffy, and the daily maid service kept the room spotless. The deck was nice, with two chairs, and a view of the creek just a few feet away.
The Lodge: the lodge consists of three different areas. There is the "lounge" with front desk, small bar, fireplace, comfortable furniture, lots of reading material, games and maps of the area. Through the lounge is the Firewoods Restaurant, a lovely, light dining room, which became our favorite place to be at the lodge; more on that later. Adjoining the lounge is the game room, with a pool table, and other activities.
The Fireside Restaurant: One of the big attractions of Gray Eagle for us was that a full breakfast and dinner is included in the room charge. There is a fixed menu, with the daily special for dinner, but they also offer a pasta, chicken, vegetarian and fish special daily. And dessert is included!!! The food was consistently delicious, and the serving staff was capable and friendly. And Chef Luis came out of his kitchen often to make sure everyone was enjoying their meals. For breakfast, coffee and juices are set out in the lounge, and in the restaurant there is fruit, cereal and breads out for self-service. Breakfast is cooked to order, and there are daily specials as well. It was so nice to amble down to the lodge for coffee and breakfast every morning, and come back to a great dinner every evening.
Things to do: for us the main attraction of the Lakes Basin area is hiking. There are two trail heads on the lodge grounds (Lily Lake and Long Lake) and within half a mile are two more, Smith Lake and Gray Eagle Creek. Up the main highway, near the Gold Lake Lodge, is one of the bigger trail heads, for the Round Lake and the Bear Lakes Loops. We are not super-hikers, and we found the trails easy to moderate in difficulty, and so beautiful. Another nice hike is to Frazier Falls. The village of Graeagle has a general store, cute shops and a great little place to eat called the Mill Works. The food was delicious and the staff was so friendly; we ate outside and they brought dog biscuits and a bowl of water for our dog. We also visited Plumas-Eureka State Park, about five miles east of Graeagle. The park is located on the site of an historic gold mine and there are several old and restored buildings, along with a great museum.
It was obvious to us that many of the folks staying at the Gray Eagle Lodge have been coming there for many years. We hope to make this a new tradition for us too, and can’t wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sac_joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

We stayed at Graeagle lodge in May of 2011. We live in the Bay Area and it was quite a schlep to get up there. Very pretty area. It was a weird year and it was snowing quite a bit when we were there, which we weren’t really prepared for.

Pluses:
The shared area of the lodge itself was very comfortable. Not fancy, just…lodgelike. Big wooden tables, a few soft chairs and a sofa, dark, huge fireplace which they thankfully kept going, warm, small but cute bar (seated only 4 or 5 people). Nice place to get a cup of cocoa and read a book or do a puzzle or whatever.

The restaurant was surprisingly really, really good. The cook (who’s name was Louis, I think), did a very nice job of making simple, quality meals every time. Honestly the food ended up being the highlight of the trip. Bring your own wine if you’re a wine snob though.

The ambience in the dining area was also nice, it’s attached to the main lodge room, wood paneled walls, some nice natural light in the day, etc. Also I noticed the cook will clean and cook any fish you catch for you which was pretty cool.

There was also a good sized game room, which was a bit cold and uninviting attached to the main shared area, but it was a handy place to send the kids while we relaxed and had a drink. The frigid temperatures and fluorescent lighting didn’t bother the kids.

The surrounding area is very beautiful. Forest, lakes, meadows, streams, etc. This property is in the heart of the forest, there's a stream running through it, it's really relaxing. The town (village?) of Graeagle is very cute, if small. A few nice little shops, a place you can go horseback riding, several fishing spots, and places in the area to hike and do various winter sports (snowmobiling) or summer sports (swimming).

The owners were fairly visible and friendly. This is clearly a small family run operation.

Minuses:
So, my one complaint…which is kind of a big one…was the room. For the price and the positive impression I got from looking at their very nicely done website, I expected something nicer. It had clearly recently been repaneled in fresh pine, which was a positive, and they’d just redone the deck out front. But no pictures, no curtains (just cheap blinds), old mattress with ancient bedding, dirty looking loveseat, stained carpets. Bathroom was small but serviceable, furnished with typical Home Depot like appliances and cabinetry. It’s not that it hadn’t been cleaned, it had…It was just kind of like staying in your cousin Bob’s converted garage guest room, with nice panelling. My husband and kids didn’t mind it, and as my husband pointed out, “it is a CABIN, not the Four Seasons.” Our room had a freestanding heater that looked like a little fireplace, which kept the room warm. No table other than an end table, so you couldn’t really hang out in your room and do much of anything, and we had one of the larger cabins (I think it was called Larch). But, that was alright as we didn't mind hanging out in shared space. Also, it’s not a problem, but I thought the cabins were closer to each other than they appear on the map on their website.

Would we go back? Maybe. Might be more worth it in the warmer months so you’re not stuck in the room so much. As long as your expectations are appropriately set around the actual room, you’ll be fine and have a great time. I would have given them a higher rating except that I thought the room quality was low for the price.

Room Tip: I'd call ahead and ask if any rooms have been recently refurbished, and pick that way rather tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracyrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CowgirlinVerdi, Owner at Gray Eagle Lodge, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Lodge. WOW, will the unusual winter of 2012 go down in infamy in Graeagle! We were so grateful that our hardy and loyal guests braved the unusual winter-like weather the last week of May and the first two weeks of June. Mother Nature by no means cooperated for your vacation! We were pleased to hear that our 15 member staff's hard work kept the cabin and Lodge cozy warm. The game room was a bit cold, but rest assured, we were using the heaters the entire time. Your points were well taken about the flooring and linens in your cabin (you actually stay in the Pine cabin not in Larch). The flooring was scheduled to be replaced (when weather permitted) and is now. We are working with our linen service, ALSCO (a national linen service purveyor), on their quality. We are excited that we have custom-made coverlettes on their way for our 2012 opening! We really appreciate all your compliments and would like to assure you that we've taken your "minuses" into consideration. We hope you give us another look! The Smiths........P.S. Luis, our Chef for the past 12 years, will be back in 2012, so the food will be just as good!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

We love to stay in these cabins which include breakfast and dinner and have a river running through the property and lovely decks to sit beside your cabin. The food is simple filling American style. You will moire than you can eat. It is like a summer camp for adults. At night you sit around the campfire and roast marshmallows. Hiking is right outside your door

Room Tip: a cabin on the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abby7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minkler
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2011

Over the last couple of years we have come to depend on Trip Advisor to give us the truth on food and hotels. I thought it was about time I started tell people about the great places we have found on our own. We have been going to GE Lodge for 11 years with our Family. If you like Clamping this is the place for you. Great Food and service and a outstanding wine selections is just the start. Having no phones and the so many great hikes just outside your cabin door can"t be beat. We have met many families that we see every year that come the same week we do because this place is like Summer Camp for the entire Family and my wife and I do not have to cook and clean just spend time with friends and family. If you are looking for a old fashion good time summer vacation GE Lodge is the best. Call Bret and tell him Tal sent you.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KingsriverMinkler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CowgirlinVerdi, Owner at Gray Eagle Lodge, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Thanks so much for your great review! We so value our loyal return guests and are grateful for the time you took to share your experience. We look forward to seeing you and the family in 2012. Cheers! Warm Regards, The Smiths
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Graeagle
5.4 mi away
Chalet View Lodge
Chalet View Lodge
#1 of 4 in Graeagle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
5.4 mi away
Nakoma Resort
Nakoma Resort
#1 of 2 in Clio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
4.3 mi away
Lodge at Whitehawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Pullman House Inn
Pullman House Inn
#1 of 1 in Portola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
9.5 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Sierra City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
11.5 mi away
Lake Davis Resort, Cabins & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gray Eagle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gray Eagle Lodge

Property: Gray Eagle Lodge
Address: 5000 Gold Lake Road, Post Office Box 38, Graeagle, CA 96103
Location: United States > California > Plumas County > Graeagle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Graeagle
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gray Eagle Lodge is located in the Lakes Basin region of the Plumas National Forest. The property is located on Graeagle Creek with a beautiful waterfall adding to the natural beauty of the surroundings. The property offers twenty cabins and two Lodge guest rooms. The main Lodge is constructed with massive Sugar Pine logs and offers a sitting room and stone fireplace, bar, and the Firewoods restaurant. Wi-Fi service is availabe in the Lodge. Enjoy hiking and biking from your cabin door, or relax over a game of bocce ball. Our game room offers a pool table, ping-pong, a library, games and puzzels. Experience our many Alpine lakes via our kayak rentals, or visit Smith Lake with our row boat. Double occupancy pricing includes made-to-order breakfast, three-course meal and daily maid service. After your meal, enjoy S'Mores by the nightly community bonfire! 24 hour front desk. PETS ARE WELCOME! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing