We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
Great time snowmobiling!

We went snowmobiling with Ken and his wife today and had a wonderful time. They were very helpful... read more

Reviewed February 9, 2019
janedennis2
via mobile
Fifty Fest a Huge Success!!

This place is great for private parties, especially if you like camping and music. We were looking... read more

Reviewed July 1, 2018
Mike G
Read all 20 reviews
  
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveler rating
20
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the barn tour guide these guys atv kathy blast ride ranch smith lead snow trail play
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 20 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2016 via mobile


Great afternoon activity for the family. A nice hour plus drive from North Tahoe through the Tahoe national forest. The site is out in the middle of nowhere but this is a plus. Well maintained equipment and great staff. Did two hours and everyone had a great time. Was able to do the mountain course plus the 5 play areas. Look forward to heading back sometime in the future.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank bagtoter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2016

A few weeks ago, we were at a Travel Show and there was a booth about this company and Eco Bike Adventures. When we found ourselves driving up to Reno a few weeks later, we decided to leave one day earlier and check out Explore! Sierra Touring Company.

Explore! Sierra Touring Company is located south of State Route 70 between Portola and Beckwourth, on Calpine-Beckwourth road. If you're driving south from 70, the Explore! Sierra Touring Company ranch is on the right side of the road, a few minutes south of 70. To get to the ranch, you need to drive on a dirt road for two minutes before your arrive at the barn.

When we arrived, the Explore! Sierra Touring Company owner, Ken, was building a feature for a future course. Ken stopped and gave us a tour of the barn area, and then he let us explore the area on our own until our tour time. A few minutes before our tour was scheduled to begin, our tour guide returned from the trails with the group before us.

Ken helped gear us up, with helmets, gloves, eye protection, and a bandana, and then we practiced driving our ATV around a small, circular trail. It's really easy to drive an ATV, so if you've never done it before, you can get the hang of it after two minutes of driving it. Then it was time to go!

Our tour lasted for about 2 hours, and we rode through some flat areas, hilly areas, rocky areas, and forested areas. The tour guide stopped us occasionally to give us a tip on driving the next part of the trail, or to ask if we were doing fine. The views of the valley were gorgeous, especially when we were up on one of the large hills and returning down to the barn. Throughout the tour, there were three "play parks," or terrain parks. These were extremely fun; you could go really fast through them!

When we returned to the barn, we were muddy and wet, but we had thoroughly enjoyed the experience! It's super fun to ride an ATV, and the trails and staff members at Explore! Sierra Touring Company make your experience terrific. The two hours went by super quick!

If you're in the area—whether you're a child or adult, a beginner or expert ATV rider—you will really enjoy the Explore! Sierra Touring Company ATV ride!

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank TravelFamily2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2015

This place is amazing! The vehicles are well maintained, peak performers! You can go as fast or as slow as you feel comfortable. Wonderful staff, the ride itself is awesome, some great scenery and views. They have thought of everything. A nice mid ride stop for snacks and drinks, activities all along, and in the end you come back to some of the best home cooked barbecue in the area! What an amazing experience and GREAT business idea!!!

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank olpupsranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2015

My husband & I were there a few weeks ago. We had a wonderful time and the price was right. Neither of us had ever been on an ATV before but Scott gave us the opportunity to become comfortable on the bikes on flat terrain before we took off through the hills on our tour. Scott
made sure we were safe & still on our wheels throughout the trip. We had a simply wonderful time and highly recommend it for anyone in the mood for an outdoor adventure when you are in the area.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank jananddennis2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2015

We have been exploring with Ken, Kathy and their crew for over 5 years! They are the best and will make sure your experience is everything you hoped and imagined it would be.

The trails are awesome and the views are amazing! This is a MUST DO if you are in the area.

Date of experience: May 2015
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews