We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gorman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pyramid Lake RV Resort
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Avoid!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We too were extremely disappointed. The place is certainly not a "resort", but a run down dirt, dead grass, weed and cockroach infested place. We are used to camping off the grid and don't need amenities, but we thought we were going to be in a place with nice atmosphere - not so. The space across from us had an abandoned RV with a broken awning laying on the ground. Goats head stickers got in our dog's foot the second she hopped out of the car. We put our mat down on the dead grass because of the stickers, even though the window receipt said "no mats because they kill the grass". What grass? Broken picnic tables, broken slabs, trash overflowing and cockroaches running around our campsite at night! The people next to us had a bad electrical box - it blew up several items in their 4 month old RV. The owner's denied responsibility even when the box was tested and the wiring was bad! I never write negative reviews, but RV'ers beware!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank SailMeerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    5
    1
    10
See reviews for
10
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Please don't go to this RV Park. You will be sorry. The place is in complete disrepair. I think maybe 5 - 10 years ago it was probably nice. The management does nothing to maintain this park. The power we plugged into had no ground and it blew up our microwave oven and our converter to the tune of about $400. Management brought in a handyman who lives there in exchange for some work. He agreed that the power was not right but he needed to keep his job and would not admit that it was the cause of our problems. Management was extremely rude to us and did not even offer a refund on our rental. We talked to 2 other RV'ers who had problems with the power and one had no water at their site and had to run a hose to another site.

The grounds are purely weeds, the water only works in certain locations, the cement slabs are broken, the picnic tables are totally broken and only some can even be used, there were roaches all over the place, the trash was overflowing and there are derelict RV's that are the worst I have ever seen, some of them deserted .

I wish I had read all the reviews before I visited - I have learned a very expensive lesson. Please, read the reviews and find another place to go.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SuzieT647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gorman hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The website made it sound like a nice place for us to stop with the kids on the way to LA, but it is SO MISLEADING!! Everything was run down or broken, the management was so rude to me (assumed I couldn't back in because I was a woman, and then told me I wasn't allowed to leave or move the rv because I would "break something"). The worst thing was the fact that it was 40 degrees outside and they wouldn't let us in the pool. No signs were posted, it was still their "peak season" and the pool looked perfectly fine. Very disappointed kids! What a waste of money and time. Definitely DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Stewardfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stay away from this [--]! $90 dollars a night I rather sleep in a sleeping bag off the freeway exit in the dirt! Their so called cabins are broken down trailer with spiders, insects and all kinds of nasty dirty furniture! Beds have stains and dirt built into them! Place is freakin disgusting!! Stay away from this -10 motel 3!!!! Chinese owners are cheap as hell wanna charge you for an extra car coming in even when nobody is there and they don't even speak English! Last thing they should do spend money on disinfecting the whole place instead of charging for cars!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mpwr99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorman, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Biggest dump in California, can't believe the county hasen't shut them down. Owners don't speak english, charge just to drive in and look. Water is not drinkable, Rattlesnakes around, puncturevine everywhere.
Stay away, will never come back to this Hell Hole.

Room Tip: Stay either in Santa clarita or Bakersfield, not at this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alfred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

If you are looking at the internet webpage of the resort.....it's nothing like it! Everything is broken down or doesn't work. We thought the price was fair until we actually got to the park.
We were on site 78 & 79 pulling a 40ft 5th Wheel and our family had a 31ft RV and boat.
1. Cockroaches everywhere on the site
2. No water Pressure
3. They advertise Cable....but there were 8 fuzzy channels.
4. Miniature Golf: unusable.
5. Pool Cold; Spa requested 2 hours advance notice to turn it on.
6. Automatic gate: only allowed one vehicle at a time or you have to call a number from your phone
to let you in.
7. Owners could barely speak English
8. Manager asked us to turn our Music down at 8pm...on a Friday night and it wasn't that loud.
9. Finally, when we discussed some of the issues, they were so rude...saying if you don't like it there's another camp site up the road!

I never write reviews....but avoid this place at all costs!

Room Tip: Our neighbors came out to talk with us from the cabin they rented...she said it was filthy and she h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

If you are thinking about this "Resort" think again. We were there for two nights in their so called "cabins" which are filthy old trailers with some kind of wood siding on the front. Full of dust, cobwebs and broken down furniture. The place is little more than a dirt parking lot full of red ants, roaches/water bugs. There are no blankets, towels or plates, dishes etc. The charge is $95.00 per night which is outrageous for this dump. It is also about three miles from the lake, which I might add is full of algae so not a good choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Trimley173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorman
8.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Frazier Park
16.9 mi away
Ramada Limited Lebec
8.3 mi away
Motel 6 Lebec
Motel 6 Lebec
#4 of 4 in Lebec
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wheeler Ridge
20.2 mi away
Best Western Liberty Inn
22.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Valencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pyramid Lake RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pyramid Lake RV Resort

Property: Pyramid Lake RV Resort
Address: 45100 Copco Ave, PO Box 45, Gorman, CA 93243-4030
Location: United States > California > Gorman
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Gorman
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Pyramid Lake Rv Hotel Gorman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing