We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jetty Road Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jetty Road Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Just returned home from a 4 night stay.
Absolutely beautiful setting, so relaxing, very clean and comfortable.
If you are looking for a peaceful getaway, look no further than Nungurner.
Thankyou Kim, we are looking forward to our next visit....Tom and Cheryle

Room Tip: All units have a lovely view, don't think it would matter which unit you stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim K, Manager at Jetty Road Retreat, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for leaving a great review following your 4 night stay at Jetty Road Retreat.

As the seasons change it's still a really nice time to visit. Whether you awake to storm clouds, sunshine or rain, the contrasting weather patterns over the lakes system make for some beautiful scenery.

And you've got a ring side view from your cosy unit, tucked away in the treetops.

We look forward to seeing you again next year!

Kind regards, Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
41
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We recently enjoyed a very relaxing three night stay at Jetty Road Retreat. We stayed in unit 4 and in the mornings we could wake up and look out over the jetty and lake from our bedroom, then feed the birds on our balcony with the birdseed provided. We left feeling completely relaxed and recharged which is exactly what we were after. The perfect place to settle in with a good book, hot chocolate and escape from the outside world for awhile.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akfletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim K, Manager at Jetty Road Retreat, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for leaving such a wonderful review.

Many of our guests are looking for some much needed R&R when they choose to stay at Jetty Road Retreat, and the natural environment and inspiring lake views provide just that.

Once you've stocked up on some provisions there's really no need to leave your unit, except if you run out of hot chocolate perhaps or exhaust the reading pile!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards, Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Had a fantastic week here. The scenery was perfect, the location is fantastic, close to both Metung and Lakes Entrance. Fish were biting and locals really know how to make you feel welcome. Accomodation was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim K, Manager at Jetty Road Retreat, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for your review!

It's great to hear you enjoyed your week at Jetty Road Retreat.

Our location certainly offers the best of both worlds - peace and seclusion away from the crowds, but with restaurants, cafes and amenities only a short drive in either direction.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

What a sensational, relaxing place to stay. The unit was exactly what I expected and even beyond my belief. Unit 4 was beautiful, with a sensational view over the lake and jetties. Absolutely relaxing especially as the full moon was out which added to the serenity of the place along with the rare balmy weather. A large outdoor area where one could take in the ambience of the beautiful views. The unit itself was fully equipped and so pristine. I have never stayed in such clean accommodation in all my years. One could still enjoy all the mod cons and feel totally relaxed. The owner is very helpful and friendly and happy to help. I would totally recommend this accommodation to anyone, great for couples or like myself who just wanted time out in a relaxed non pretentious region. The locals are lovely and very helpful especially assisting me with fishing knowledge. The fish were biting which was a lovely surprise. I highly recommend Jetty Road Retreat. Really impressed and I will be back

Room Tip: Unit 4 has a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank br0n67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim K, Manager at Jetty Road Retreat, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at Jetty Road Retreat. We are delighted our accommodation exceeded your expectations, and that you were able to completely relax during your stay.

The full moon glistening over the beautiful still waters of the lake is truly breathtaking, and yes, the locals are always happy to share their knowledge and fishing tips!

We look forward to welcoming you back for some R&R and a spot of fishing.

Kind regards, Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

I stayed in unit 5 and it felt like I was living in a tree house, nestled amongst the branches overlooking the water. This is not some five star fancy location, its quite basic and their description as "retro" is definitely a polite way to describe "old", but I really enjoyed my stay. Kim, one of the owners popped in to say hello and was very friendly and helpful. Scrupulously clean, everything worked and the bed was very, very comfortable. There is a small beach a few minutes walk away and they have free kayaks but there is not much else to do and you have to bring all your own food and drinks. I was looking for somewhere to relax for a few days and I definitely found the right location, and as Arnie would say I will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim K, Manager at Jetty Road Retreat, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience following your recent stay.

We've just commenced our third year of operating the units, which were built by my father in law in the 70's. It's been rewarding to be able to make small touches to enhance the experience and comfort for our guests, without modernising too much to try and be something we're not.

The simplicity of the place certainly appeals to our visitors, allowing them to really connect with the natural environment and beauty that surrounds you at Jetty Road Retreat, in comfortable, clean and accommodation.

We look forward to welcoming you back Arnie!

Kind regards, Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed in Unit 3, it is beautifully presented, in immaculate condition, gorgeous surroundings, comfy bed and couch. Loved every minute, highly recommend the place and would be happy to return. The owners are very generous and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim K, Manager at Jetty Road Retreat, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review, and delighted to hear you had such a great stay with us.

We really get a buzz out of making sure our guests get the most from their stay, so whether it's a late check-out, early check-in, or a paddle on the lakes in our kayaks - we're really happy to oblige wherever we can to add to our guest's experience.

Now if only the fish were always that obliging....!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singleton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Jetty Road Retreat in early February and while the buildings were built in the 1970's the furnishings and facilities are certainly 2014.

We enjoyed just sitting out on the balcony watching the birds, our first afternoon was bit windy but we woke up the next morning to absolute calm and quiet.

We did not move very far but took an afternoon boat trip from Metung which was relaxing and informative about Lakes Entrance area.

Thanks Kim for making our stay memorable, we have certainly told our friends in Melbourne

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vineyardtours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim K, Manager at Jetty Road Retreat, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Jetty Road Retreat.

We really appreciate you telling your friends in Melbourne about us too! It's a comfortable 3.5 hour drive east from Melbourne to get to here, and so worth it to experience East Gippsland's beautiful, serene environment.

And a visit here wouldn't be complete without a cruise on the Gippsland Lakes.

We look forward to seeing you again, Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungurner
9.4 mi away
Captains Cove
Captains Cove
#1 of 2 in Paynesville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
9.4 mi away
Mariners Cove Motel & Apartments
2.3 mi away
The Moorings at Metung
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
McMillans of Metung Resort
4.8 mi away
Bellevue on the Lakes
Bellevue on the Lakes
#6 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
2.3 mi away
5 Knots
5 Knots
#4 of 9 in Metung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetty Road Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetty Road Retreat

Property: Jetty Road Retreat
Address: 230 Nungurner Jetty Rd, Nungurner, Victoria 3909, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Nungurner
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Nungurner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jetty Road Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated on the Gippsland Lakes between Lakes Entrance and Metung, Jetty Road Retreat offers affordable secluded waterfront accommodation just over three hours east of Melbourne. Our multi award winning accommodation offers a secret haven to escape the holiday crowds, situated beside the Gippsland Lakes in the peaceful hamlet of Nungurner. Complimentary onsite facilities include private jetty, guest kayaks, sheltered BBQ area and laundry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Jetty Road Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing