We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus South Coast Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Goleta
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“very good hotel”
Reviewed June 15, 2008

Only stayed here one night, but everything was great. very spacious room with comfortable beds and very clean bathroom.
Immaculately kept grounds.
Plentiful varied self service breakfast.
very convenient location for UCSB.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank outofofficemessage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    265
    76
    16
    9
See reviews for
269
142
29
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2008

This is the best Best Western we have ever stayed at. The property is well taken care of inside and out. We were pleased with the grassy interior courtyard. It was a nice setting and the kids enjoyed the animals created out of the bushes.

We had a second floor room on the back side of the hotel by the courtyard and were very happy. The room was extremely clean. There were premium bed linens and the mattresses were comfortable. The pillows were too fluffy that we only needed one. The room had a dvd player, tv, fridge. The fridge didn't have the greatest freezer compartment, but that was the least of our worries. We had nextdoor neighbors but their noise was not too bad that we barely heard them.

We can't even express how happy we are about the manager's reception. We had the nicest lady serving us drinks and taking care of the snack bar. Beer and wines were available as well as cans of soda. We had snacks such as cheez-its, baby bell cheeses, and tilamook cheese. It was very nice. The manager's reception is only Monday thru Thursday.

In the mornings, there is a complimentary breakfast which was perfect. The coffee machine alone was a highlight. There were at least 10 options of coffees to choose from, all freshly brewed. Food such as bagels, toasts, muffins, danish, cereals, yogurts, eggs, and belgium waffles were available. It was one of the nicest breakfasts we had on our trip.

The staff in general was overly nice. The front desk even let us choose which room we preferred when we checken in 2 hours early.

We would highly recommend this hotel. We were traveling with our 2 kids (5 and 8) and they loved it as much as us. The pool was heated and very clean. Tv reception was great and plenty of channels.

Only 8 miles to Santa Barbara and very close to everything.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — pillows
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
157 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2008

Nice place, stayed here one night, on a college tour trip with our high school age kids, convenient to UCSB. Reasonably priced for this expensive area. Breakfast was okay, the coffee machine in the lobby area was very nice.

  • Liked — Big rooms
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank klpopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver B.C.
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2008

Our Soccer Team stayed at the Best Western South Coast Inn in Santa Barbara California. I was pleasently surprised how nice it was,and how friendly and helpful the staff was.

Breakfast was included with our stay,and included:fresh muffins, donuts,cereal,bagels,breads,waffle station,and eggs. There as a variety of yogurts,juices,and a great coffee machine that offered various cofees to make. The dining room was clean,and inviting,and offered daily newspapers,local attraction info and a lab top ,which the girls loved. You were welcomed throughout the day in the dinijng room to grab a coffee,read the paper or check email.

The pool area was beautiful and clean and enjoyed by all.The hot tub could of been a little hotter,and my daughters bathing suit received yellow srains on it from the pool or hot tub...but otherwise it was great.

The staff was very helpful and allowed us to print off our flight boarding passes,and would look up any info we needed on bus schedules.

The rooms were clean and a maid cleaned and refreshed our towels and cleaned our rooms daily.

We had a large group and always felt welcomed and comfortable.
Monday we were able to enjoy a 5-7pm happy hour...with wine,beer,chees and crackers.I think it runs Mon-Thurs.
Santa Barbara was absolutley beautiful,and very clean. The Spanish style town was breath taking.

  • Liked — Friendly,clean,breakfast included,happy hour,walking distance to shopping,great pool area
  • Disliked — would of liked the Hotel shuttle to go to State Street area
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank diving_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
956 reviews
319 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 750 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Best Western South Coast Inn for one night in December. We appreciated the location next to a large shopping mall, the proximity to Santa Barbara, the variety of cable TV stations, and the availability of free wireless and LAN. The variety of breakfast offerings was well above Best Western average. But the waffle irons were very slow to cook the waffles, and we learned for the first time how bitter and tasteless are undercooked waffles. Although there was no elevator, it was easy to bring our bags up the wide outside stairs to our room on the second floor. The railroad track is parallel to the main road, and we could hear trains passing in the distance, but the sound did not seem bothersome. We felt that the hotel was a good value even though we did not stay long enough to take advantage of the wine and cheese offerings in the afternoon.

  • Liked — Location near Santa Barbara
  • Disliked — Waiting, waiting for waffle irons to finish cooking
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Staidthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2007

PROS:
Friendly staff,
Simple self serve breakfast w/ waffles
Free happy hour drinks during the evening
Espresso/Tea machine 24hrs
Nice/clean Serta beds w/ toppers
Clean/Decent Size rooms
Nice Neighborhood

CONS:
Shower head pressure is weak (needs a hand held)
Short stairs to get to rooms on 2nd floor

  • Liked — Free Wi and Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Stairs and Shower
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Best_Rooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2007

We stayed at the Best Western South Coast for three nights. We were expecting a typical convenient reasonably-priced motel, but we got a lot more.

It was very clean, and the beds very comfy with new white comforters and pillowtop mattresses. The bathroom was uninspired but well-equipped with wall-mounted blow dryer and magnifying mirror. Staff were friendly and helpful. Landscaping was really beautiful- it was treat to sit out by the pool with coffee and newspaper or laptop.

There were more pleasant surprises. The room had a hidden fridge and microwave. There was a small selection of free DVDs at the front desk that you could borrow. Although the breakfast (included with room cost) had the usual pastries and cereals, it also had hot scrambled eggs with bits of ham mixed in, waffles that you could make hot for yourself, fresh fruit, and an automated espresso machine. Weekday evenings they had a free Happy Hour from 5-7, and while the choice of beer and wine was very limited, we really enjoyed having a draft local beer seated out on the patio. A ping pong table kept the kids and teens busy. There was a roomy separate hot spa next to the pool. Wireless internet service was available everywhere for free.

Because of the motel's convenient location near the freeway, we were concerned that there would be road noise. There was some, but most of it was carefully blocked with strategic walls and landscaping. We did not hear it at all in our room, even though we were near the front.

The rooms were $150-$180 per night on a summer weekend, which is low for the Santa Barbara area. When you add in all the free amenities for which you usually pay extra, it was a very good deal. We'd stay there again happily.

  • Liked — Beautiful landscaping, pool area; many free amenities
  • Disliked — Bath decoration needed updating.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BritCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goleta
0.4 mi away
Pacifica Suites Santa Barbara
0.0 mi away
Kimpton Goodland
Kimpton Goodland
#6 of 12 in Goleta
390 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Santa Barbara/Goleta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Courtyard Santa Barbara Goleta
5.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus South Coast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus South Coast Inn

Property: Best Western Plus South Coast Inn
Address: 5620 Calle Real, Goleta, CA 93117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Goleta
#4 Business Hotel in Goleta
#4 Family Hotel in Goleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus South Coast Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus South Coast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus South Coast Hotel Goleta
Best Western Goleta
Goleta Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing