We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fall gatherings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus South Coast Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Goleta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
South-Coast I, Manager at Best Western Plus South Coast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (670)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

498 - 504 of 671 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2012

There are four Best Westerns in Goleta/Santa Barbara and I think this one is by far the best! It has beautifully landscaped gardens and pool area with an outdoor dining/social area that is also well maintained and landscaped. The cost compared to the other Best Westerns is less expensive and it is conveniently located close to the airport and UCSB. The rooms are nicely decorated and clean. They plan to undergo a renovation soon but I thought the rooms were great. We stayed in one with two queen beds overlooking the pool area. The breakfast was plentiful with eggs, sausages, toast, cereal, two juices, yogurt, several different breads, etc and etc. They even had an espresso, latte, cappuccino machine! We will definitely be staying here again real soon!

Room Tip: Second floor overlooking the pool or garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2oil6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South-Coast I, Manager at Best Western Plus South Coast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

WOW! Thank you so much for the great compliments! We are blushing ;)

We love to hear when we are doing a great job for our guests, and really appreciate that you took the time to let us know how we impressed you.

We look forward to having you back to the hotel again soon, and hope that we can make you part of our "Best Western family".

Let me know if I can do anything to help you on your next trip to town.

Thanks again,

Nicole Weland
AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank STEPHEN H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
South-Coast I, Manager at Best Western Plus South Coast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This was the nicest BW Plus motels I have stayed in. I was very impressed with the gardens around the pool and the landscaping over all. Everything was perfect, the rooms, the staff, and the food. Usually something will annoy you but I stayed 4 nights and never had a single complaint.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Edwin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South-Coast I, Manager at Best Western Plus South Coast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Hello!
Thanks so much for taking the time to give us the positive feedback. We are really happy that you had a great time here on your four nights with us. We try really hard to meet our guests highest expectations, and love to hear that we have met yours. We hope to see you again when you come back to visit Santa Barbara.

Thanks,

Nicole Weland
AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This Best Western is beautiful. The lobby and breakfast area are also nicely appointed. The landscape was very well manicured. The location is close enough to walk to Outback Steakhouse for dinner and there are other restaurants close by. The bed was super comfy.
The only negative was that the toilet area was a bit tight in space.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank AliceMadera_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South-Coast I, Manager at Best Western Plus South Coast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel. We appreciate feedback from all of our guest, especially when it it so great.

Please let me know if and when you will be back in our area, and I would love to have you stay in one of our newly remodeled rooms. I am certain you will be very excited about the new bathroom layout.


Thanks,

Nicole Weland
AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The rooms are clean, basic, as expected. The grounds are above average with well manicured foilage, grassy area and amenities. teh aesthetics are pleasant and inviting.The pool area is fine, tables, chaises, clean and centrally located. They have a ping pong table for those who like to swat the ball around and a very nice full breakfast every morning. In addition, a complimentary shuttle to/from UCSB every 1/2 hour all day until 10 pm & to/from airport. The gym is clean, not great, but sufficient. They could use a stretching area, some free weights, stretch balls, etc... and there was a pin missing from1 of the weight stacks on the only universal. Also, the tv's were stuck on 1 channel with no way to change it and it wasn't synced to the cardio equipment. Front desk staff just needs to pay better attention, needs guest service training and lessons on politeness and smiling to guests. So, for the price, it is a deal. There is a great local fish restaurant walking distance on Calle Real. The only awful thing are the pillows - bring your own, they are HORRIBLE.

Room Tip: If you are visiting a child at UCSB, this is a good deal with the free shuttle - it stops at 4 diffr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A-Good-Bite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South-Coast I, Manager at Best Western Plus South Coast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Hello,
Thank you so much for your great review of our hotel. We are very grateful for all of your input and are considering having a few sets of different pillows available for check out to our guests who like them flatter or smaller. We are glad that you enjoyed our many amenities and we hope to see you again soon.

Thanks so much,

Nicole Weland
AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had numerous problems both nights we stayed. The first night, there was loud buzzing (that came and went) in the wall and kept us awake all night. Then, the hotel didn't give us our wake up call. We were late for our meeting time because of it and we were tired due to the buzzing keeping us awake. In the morning, we asked the manager if they would switch us to a different room for the second night or fix the buzzing. He said yes. But when we got back later that evening, they hadn't done it. The second night, the wake up call came at exactly midnight and woke us up - although we were still having problems sleeping due to the on and off buzzing that they hadn't fixed. We went to the front desk in the middle of the night to complain to the the night manager but he made no apologies and acted as if he didn't care. We were exhausted in the morning due to lack of sleep and talked to the day manager. She listened to our story and said she'd comp part of room cost. It took numerous phone calls back and fourth to her and to the corporate office and more than two months for that to happen - and then it was less than what she promised. On several occasions, I asked for the name and phone number of the owner, but nobody would ever give them to me. We got very little sleep for two nights during a very important weekend. It was anything but a pleasant stay. I would suggest saving some money and frustration and go somewhere else. These people don't care.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DanWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South-Coast I, Manager at Best Western Plus South Coast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are so sorry that you had problems while you were here. We do apologize for the mix up with the wake up call system and were happy to refund half of your stay for your problems. We did encounter a few problems issuing your refund due to the fact that you made your reservation and paid for your room through a third party. Please let us know if you did not receive the money that we refunded back to them.

Thank you so much for your time,

Nicole Weland
AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goleta
0.4 mi away
Pacifica Suites Santa Barbara
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Santa Barbara/Goleta
0.1 mi away
Kimpton Goodland
Kimpton Goodland
#6 of 12 in Goleta
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Courtyard Santa Barbara Goleta
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
1.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Santa Barbara - Calle Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus South Coast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus South Coast Inn

Address: 5620 Calle Real, Goleta, CA 93117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Goleta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Goleta
#4 Business Hotel in Goleta
#4 Family Hotel in Goleta
Price Range: $153 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus South Coast Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus South Coast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus South Coast Hotel Goleta
Best Western Goleta
Goleta Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing