We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus South Coast Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Goleta
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good value for area”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed here for business, so our time at the hotel was limited. We really appreciated the breakfast buffet with omelettes, potatoes, cereals, yogurt, baked goods and fresh fruit. The grounds are quite nice. The rooms could use some updating, but the bed was very comfortable and the room was very quiet. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GetawayGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    261
    76
    16
    9
See reviews for
264
140
29
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

The location is good and the property is well groomed. Our room was tired looking and could use a makeover. The large armoire eats up the room making everything unnecessarily awkward. It didn't look nearly as well kept as the grounds but was adequate.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azcartripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo County, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We booked a last minute trip to SB on 10/01/11. This ended up being a great choice. The hotel has a very good location close to tons of shopping, Trader Joes, Zodos Bowling Alley, and a grocery store. The grounds are very nice. Lushly landscaped with beautiful flowers and plants that surround a very nice pool and hot tub area. But, the best thing was the cappuccino maker. Wow. My husband and I enjoyed this complementary drink and my kids made about 4 mochas each. The breakfast in the morning was just great. Very tasty with a choice of sausage, eggs, different muffins, bagels, juice and more. The staff kept it really well stocked and there were a lot of guests enjoying it. Too top it off the staff was very nice and very helpful. That was refreshing in itself. I say this place is a great choice for enjoying Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: Select a room with a pool view toward the back or middle. That way you don't end up in one of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pasotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
148 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

The grounds of this hotel are attractive and well maintained, with the two storied hotel surrounding gardens and a pool, and a paved area with seats where you can sit and have breakfast. Some nice extras are provided, there is iced water dispenser and cups and coffee available 24 hours, plenty of newspapers in the morning, and one day they had a batch of freshly baked cookies on offer. Breakfast was good, with the usual continental options and 2 hot items, usually an egg dish and either fried potatoes or bacon. The rooms were perfectly fine....my 'but' would be that I would definitely request a room on the inner courtyard side, as otherwise you are just facing the carpark and across to the Holiday Inn...if that mattered to you? It is 2 storied and no lifts to the upper level, so if you are travelling with heavy baggage you may also want to request a ground floor room. We were needing to go to UCSB daily and it was easy from here- it is about a 20 minute drive to Santa Barbara, so if Santa Barbara is your preferred destination, then this hotel is a bit out of the way. I definitely would stay here again if needing to be near the University. The staff were happy to print out maps and driving directions.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markandsue-84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Valley, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We were very happy with this choice of hotels. It was not far from Santa Barbara, right on the main road, but quiet, especially since we were facing the beautiful gardens. The breakfast was one of the best in all of the Best Westerns we have tried. The price was perfect, given our AAA membership. The desk personnel were very helpful and went the extra mile for us! We would definitely recommend this hotel. Don't forget to visit the beautiful little town of Solvang! What a nice surprise!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicevalley44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
Level Contributor
215 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Rooms need upgrading. Pool area nice . Expensive for quality ofvrooms

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deedee1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Very good hotel. We stay one night during a trip on the Pacific Coast. Spacious room with a double queen bed, separate bathroom. Large pool with chairs and sunbeds. Very nice garden. Good breakfast in the morning, and also good services. It's a good location for visiting Santa Barbara area, even we are not impressed abou it. Much better to stay some hours in San Luis Obisopo which is about two hours drive North. A typical surfer's village!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gatto67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goleta
0.4 mi away
Pacifica Suites Santa Barbara
0.0 mi away
Kimpton Goodland
Kimpton Goodland
#6 of 11 in Goleta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Santa Barbara/Goleta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Courtyard Santa Barbara Goleta
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
5.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus South Coast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus South Coast Inn

Property: Best Western Plus South Coast Inn
Address: 5620 Calle Real, Goleta, CA 93117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Goleta
#4 Business Hotel in Goleta
#4 Family Hotel in Goleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus South Coast Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus South Coast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus South Coast Hotel Goleta
Best Western Goleta
Goleta Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing