We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly adequate accomodation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Goleta
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfectly adequate accomodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed at the South Coast Inn for 2 nights and felt quite at home.

Whilst the rooms are a little small (4 adults in one room) and dark, at least they are clean and cool.

The breakfast was good (and free) and although it was a holiday weekend, the queues were manageable.

Free WiFiin the rooms and drinks in the lobby always a bonus.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruddy-Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    254
    73
    16
    9
See reviews for
256
137
28
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Courtyard by Marriott-Simi Valley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

Stayed Holiday Weekend so rates were pretty high. Rooms small, but the bed and bedding is GREAT! Nice landscape and adequate breakfast. I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trvler3254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

Yes, it is close to UCSB and yes they have breakfast, but I absolutely HATE listening to an AC unit all night. THE WINDOW DOESN'T OPEN! Also, very important: request a room facing the pool/lawn otherwise you are staring at the Holiday Inn next door and the parking lot. There a no robes so bring something to wear to the jacuzzi. No bar, but there is some kind of food service; no idea where it comes from!
Albertson's and Trader Joes across the street in addition to lots of fast food restaurants an Outback Steakhouse and a Denny's.
Nice sheets and comforters, tiny bathroom and a note telling you not to steal towels!
You also have to sign something when you check in which says you may get a charge for incidentals on your bill, but they'll give it back within 3 weeks. Never heard of that before.
Even if that doesn't happen I won't stay here again due to the window situation

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank larsthorwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

We have stayed here multiple times to visit our son, a student at UCSB, as the location is close to campus. Rooms and amenities are quite nice, with a generous inclusive breakfast. Our last visit included the grandparents, who were very pleased with their rooms and the reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MicheleSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Room is on the small side. Walls aren't well insulated. I can hear the full on conversation next door while washing my face at the sink. There isn't much of drawer space if you have a family of four and staying more than one night. I can see this place being more of passing by staying and not a vacation stay, and perfect for business related trips. Breakfast selection isn't extensive. Hot food isn't well prepared. Basic bagel, toast, waffle, and cereal. Coffee machine is awesome though. Average pool area. Decent size.
The girl at front desk upon check-in wasn't helpful nor does she seem like she cares much. Rest of the crew were more friendlier and accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oo138oO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

We stayed here one night on our way to Santa Barbara. For the price, it is not a bad hotel. Staff is friendly. The grounds are well taken care of. Pros: Great assortment for breakfast the next morning, bath and body works amenities, well taken care of grounds. Cons: The shower was awful, our bed was hard as a rock and was one of the beds that you pull out from the wall (no joke), the walls are extremely thin and we had to listen to a baby crying in the next room all night.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hurleyhny209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

I stay here every time I visit my son who is currently at UCSB. I always feel like sleeping on our own bed because of its comfy bed and pillows. The hotel serves great breakfast and is equipped with a cappuccino and espresso maker. The reception area has 24 hours tea, coffee and lemon water and afternoon chocolate chip cookies. Make sure you walk around the hotel to enjoy the landscaping and the beautiful flowers in bloom.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaT16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goleta
0.5 mi away
Pacifica Suites Santa Barbara
3.1 mi away
Courtyard Santa Barbara Goleta
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Santa Barbara/Goleta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kimpton Goodland
Kimpton Goodland
#6 of 10 in Goleta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn
1.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Santa Barbara - Calle Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn
Address: 5620 Calle Real, Goleta, CA 93117-2319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Goleta
#4 Family Hotel in Goleta
#4 Business Hotel in Goleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus South Coast Hotel Goleta
Best Western Goleta
Goleta Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing