We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$207
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/31/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Booking.com$207
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com$275
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (675)
Filter reviews
675 results
Traveler rating
234
159
125
85
72
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
234
159
125
85
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviews record player santa barbara vinyl records station wagon retro vibe social hour ace hotel mid century motel style wine hour pool area is boutique hotel pits lobby ucsb airstream poolside
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
311 - 316 of 675 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2017

This property is so fun, the perfect place to spend a family or friends weekend by the pool! the food and drinks are wonderfully made and the staff are super friendly :) the property is comfortable and stylish, we had such a great time!

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chelsea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2017

Chelsea A,

Thank you for the review from your recent visit to the Goodland and we agree the property is fun. We will be sure to share your kind words with the team as they love to hear how they are doing. We look forward to seeing you back at the Goodland.

Thank You
Robert Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2017

The best western has better rooms, better prices, and more experienced staff. Don't be fooled by the decor of the goodland. It's like putting lipstick on a pig and trying to pass it off as an upscale hotel. The plumbing is awful, we were checked into a room with a terrible odor coming from a drain, that they knew about. We switched rooms, but the water pressure was so terrible in the shower, we couldn't even wash our hair. Save your money and stay elsewhere.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jennyo205
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2017

jennyo205,

Thank you for the feedback from your recent stay at the Goodland. Sorry to hear of the room condition and the response from our staff. We will be sure to share your feedback with the department heads to make the necessary corrections. Again thank you for the feedback as it allows us to improve the Goodland.

Thank You
Robert Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2017

We trusted the Kimpton brand for our short stay in Santa Barbara during our recent honeymoon through California. We were completely disappointed and would not recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing, comfortable getaway. The only enjoyable aspect of our stay was the pool area which is DJ-ed in the afternoon on the weekends. Everything else was completely sub-par.

When we first arrived, I tried to look past all the flies in the shower, but had to get out of shower due to a horrible sewage/sulphur smell from the drain. There was no fan in the bathroom to help with the lingering odour. We called room service - an individual arrived and very flippantly acknowledged to us that the odour "happens often" and then proceeded to pour an unknown chemcial down the shower and bathroom sink drain. The fact that the odour is a recurring problem that has not been addressed should have been the first red flag.
Down at the pool, the sewage smell was still noticeable. When we returned to our room, the chemical had not solved the odour problem. When I called to front desk, we were moved to a different room. While I appreciate being accommodated, it was in itself an inconvenience and there was no offer to assist with bags, etc. Our new room was in a corner near a bin with linens piled up to the second floor and rollaway beds haphazardly stored outside. This did not give off a very clean, orderly or hygienic appearance.
When getting into bed the first night, we noticed red, blood-like stains on the sheets near the foot of the bed. I asked the front desk for new bed linens, which were delivered promptly, but the individual who brought them seemed surprised when I asked if the bed could be made up with new linens. The sheets were essentially just thrown on the mattress.
Our safe was also locked when we arrived in the room - when I asked if it could be opened, I was advised that the person with the key was unavailable.
By the second day, the same sewage smell was apparent in the bathroom sink of the second room. We chose to bear it, as it was clear that this was a problem with the whole hotel - not just our first room.
Our room had not been made up when we returned to our room after 3 PM which is very late as compared to other comparable hotels.
We decided to eat at the Hotel Restaurant for dinner - we were advised that all the tables were reserved, so we chose to sit at the bar. The whole time we were in the restaurant, the majority of tables in the restaurant were left empty - why then could we not sit?
In terms of sleep - there was barely any. We are a young couple and can tolerate quite a bit of noise. However, the issue is the pool gates which do not have a soft close. We were awoken every time the pool gate slammed (which is often). Seems like a fairly simple fix.... all this for a VERY expensive hotel.

I have emailed the Goodland directly twice about our stay, with not response, as well as the general Kimpton email with no response. It seems they do not value customer experience at all. Go elsewhere.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sjlafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2017

Sjlafer,

Thank you for the review from your recent visit at the Goodland and sorry to hear about the stay, especially on your honeymoon. The situation you describe is well below both the Kimpton and Goodland standards. We will be sure to share your feedback with our department heads to address the issues and make necessary corrections. We again thank you for your feedback as it gives us an opportunity to improve.

Thank You
Robert Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2017

This property is quite unique and special in many great ways. From the moment you check in the staff makes you feel warm and welcomed. The style being retro is felt throughout the property and your stay. The grounds are quite lush with a mix of trees, succulents and flowers that enhance your views and relax your mood. The pool is nice sized , heated and has adequate lounging chairs and beds around the pool. What ever your needs might be during your stay the staff is quite happy to accommodate in any way they can help. From Mindy at the front desk to Sean behind the bar my experience was most pleasant and satisfying. I'm definitely planning to stay at the" Greatland" again!
JPManning

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank johnpatrickmanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2017

johnpatrickmanning,

Thank you for the review from your recent visit to the Goodland and we couldn't agree more the property is unique. We will be sure to share your kind work with our team as they love to hear how they are doing. We look forward to seeing you back in the future.

Thank You
Robert Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2017

The Goodland Hotel offers a fun, relaxed experience. Record players and records to check out to listen in your room. Great bar and food. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were all great! Yoga by the pool was fantastic. Drinks poolside even better!

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank heatherpM2137YB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2017

heatherpM2137YB,

Thank you for the feedback from your recent stay at the Goodland and we agree the hotel is fun. We will be sure to share your feedback with the team and look forward to seeing you back in the future.

Thank You
Robert Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews