We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$231
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/24/21
Expedia.com
$231
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/24/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
$214
View deal
Hotels.com$231
Priceline$231
ZenHotels.com$317
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (675)
Filter reviews
675 results
Traveler rating
234
159
125
85
72
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
234
159
125
85
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviews record player santa barbara vinyl records station wagon retro vibe social hour ace hotel mid century motel style wine hour pool area is boutique hotel pits lobby ucsb airstream poolside
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
321 - 326 of 675 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2017 via mobile

Traveling is never easy especially when it's for an extended period of time. I recently stayed at The Goodland and one of my first observations was how friendly and engaging the staff was. Mindy,Luann, Chris, Vince, Japrese and Conner at the front desk were always more than willing to assist whenever I needed something.
The restaurant Outpost serves some wonderful dishes . Definitely try the crispy chicken thighs or pork ribs. The wait staff and bartenders were all awesome. Jamie has a great way of describing dishes and making sure you know exactly what you are ordering . Alex makes a great cocktail!
The managers Aaron and Genie made sure to make time to visit guests during dinner service to ensure everyone was happy.
Having stayed with Kimpton before I've come to expect a few things... every property has its own identity and second but most importantly the commitment to a great level of service is top notch. You feel like you are talking to people and not just another employee. The Goodland is a great representation of the Kimpton brand and I would certainly recommend it.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Onethego86
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2017

Onethego86,

Thank you for the review from your recent visit to the Goodland. We will be sure to share your kind words with the team as they love to hear how they are doing. We look forward to seeing you back in the future.

Thank You
Robert Cole
General Mananger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2017 via mobile

As an inner circle member who has stayed at Kimptons across the US- the Goodland has to be the WORST. Where shall I start? First off, it's a motel with no elevator, and no bell service to help you get your things to the second floor. Rude staff, goes out of the way to emphasize how they won't help. The accommodations are dirty, there are dirty linens and rollaway beds lining the entrances to the stairwells. There is a 'resort fee' to pay for use of a swimming pool- which we were told was closed for a private event. The motel is dog friendly, and you can hear your neighbors dogs barking through the paper thin walls. Sparse gym, one elyptical and 2 treadmills. Water cooler empty. And- the brilliant staff decided to add a cornhole game to the courtyard- so that guests can hear bean bags pounding late into the night. I am rethinking Kimpton as a choice go forward- it seems it is hit or miss on what you end up with. Beautiful properties in Austin, Milwaukee and Vermont- but the Goodland is garbage that they should quickly drop from their portfolio.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
3  Thank Dog O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2017

tuckles74,

Thank you for the review from your recent visit to the Goodland. Sorry to hear of the issues and service shortfalls you experienced. We have forwarded your comments to our department heads to make the necessary corrections to ensure stays like yours do not happen. Rest assured we will get these issues corrected and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Thank You
Robert Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2017

This was a terrible hotel experience ! The walls are paper thin and they know it. Room was so mediocre for the price and we were KEPT UP all night by the people next door - the hotel did nothing to assist us no matter the hour. At a certain point it wasn't even that they were loud it was that the walls were too thin ! Things we asked for - like a shower curtain liner - were never brought. The restaurant was a joke in terms of food and service. I seriously can't say anything good about this place because even management dropped the ball and when they finally agreed to act they were RUDE and told me I could sue them. And that's from Stacy Faison at their corporate office! I would never stay at another kimpton property again.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank msjr_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2017

msjr_01,

Thank you for the review and sorry to hear of the experience you had at Goodland. We will be sure to share your comments with the management team to work on these items pointed out in the review. We thank you for the feedback as it gives us a chance to grow as hotel. Hope you give us another chance and visit the Goodland again.

Thank You
Robert Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2017 via mobile

You are greeted by an old car and surfboards! There are record players in the rooms and the staff greets you with the warmth of the California sunshine! The Goodland in Goleta is amazing. It is close to the 101 and the Santa Barbara Airport. This place is all about the experience, and it's one you won't forget!

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank 21parisf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2017

Paris F,

Thank you for the review from your recent visit to the Goodland and we couldn't agree more the Goodland is amazing. We will be sure to share the review with the team as they love to hear how they are doing. We look forward to seeing you back in the future.

Thank You
Robert Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2017

LOCATION
Motel is situated just off the 101 Freeway on a main street in Goleta, surrounded by strip malls and gas stations.

CHECK-IN
Front desk staff was friendly, efficient and provided information about hotel. Unfortunately, at 5pm our room was not ready, and we were would be an additional 45 minutes. However, we were given two free drink coupons to be used in the bar for the inconvenience and the room ended up being ready at the stated time. Complimentary spa water, dog water and treats were available at front desk. The motel is dog friendly and there were numerous dogs, of all sizes, staying.

MOTEL LAYOUT
The motel is two stories. The outer room face the parking lot and strip malls with no view. Second floor rooms decreases the noise level and prevents headlights from
glaring into your room. The inner rooms overlook the pool, garden and restaurant; the ground floor rooms have patios. Rooms near the pool and restaurant may be noisy.

ROOM
The room was very clean (aware other reviewers had problems with cleanliness of room) and tastefully decorated with indie/southwest/beach vibes with hardwood floors, burlap, and glass. Of note, one table with only one chair, so the only other place to sit if there are two people in the room would be the bed.
The rooms are supposed to have record-players, as mentioned at check-in, but ours did not. We mentioned this to front desk, but we did not receive one during our two-night stay.
Rooms have big windows, but our second floor exterior room had nothing to look out at. Plus, if you kept your blinds open, it faced a shared walkway and anyone could look directly into the room. Dark out curtains prevented people looking in, but at the same time, it made the room very dark during the day.
Amenities in the room included TV, safe, minibar, robes, hair dryer and phone charging station. The room was quiet during the night, but traffic noise starts up early in the morning.

HOTEL AMENITIES
A closet size “record store” in lobby had records to borrow for in room record player (mostly indie and alternative rock selections).
Complimentary beach cruiser bikes were parked outside main lobby, but since hotel is on a busy street in downtown, anywhere nearby is not much of a pleasant, scenic ride.
Pool was very nicely heated, towels were available, and there were bed lounges. (However, no Jacuzzi).
Several fire-pits with chairs were around the property and was pleasant to sit around in the cool mornings and evenings. There was a small, cozy bar with friendly bartenders who made very good cocktails. A pool table was just off the bar in a separate room. In the morning a coffee and tea station was set up in the lobby (coffee was surprisingly good!). Wine and small bites were available from 5-6pm.
The restaurant on site, Outpost, offers the best food in the area. We enjoyed brunch sitting at the outside tables overlooking the pool and gardens.
Wifi was good throughout the hotel.

Overall we enjoyed our stay (would rate it a 3.5). However, I do not think the rooms and experience are worth the $300 price per night (plus $25 resort fee). If there was a better rate on the room I would consider returning.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sequoia44
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2017

Sequoia44,

Thank you for the review from your recent stay at the Goodland. We will be sure to share your review with our team to make the necessary correction to ensure a better visit for you in the future. We look forward to seeing you back in the future.

Thank You
Robert Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews