We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$231
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/24/21
Expedia.com
$231
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/24/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
$214
View deal
Hotels.com$231
Priceline$231
ZenHotels.com$317
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (675)
Filter reviews
675 results
Traveler rating
234
159
125
85
72
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
234
159
125
85
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviews record player santa barbara vinyl records station wagon retro vibe social hour ace hotel mid century motel style wine hour pool area is boutique hotel pits lobby ucsb airstream poolside
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
333 - 338 of 675 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2017

Arrived at the hotel later in the day after a long drive but was met by a very nice gent on reception who seemed to take a genuine interest in my trip and where I had been. Went into the room and although small it was very nice. Good food is easy to find a short walk from the hotel and as a result I cant comment on the hotel eateries. While it is a motel style property i never felt like i was staying somewhere really cheap. The only suggestion I would have for the management would be coffee machines in the rooms as not everyone wants to go out to grab a drink first thing in the morning, I like one before I get dressed but this might have raised a few eyebrows in the restaurant where coffee is freely available

Room tip: Choose a room overlooking the pool rether than the car parking areas
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LeeT858
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2017

Lee T,

Thank you for the review from your recent visit to the Goodland. We will be sure to share your kind words with the team as they love to hear how they are doing. Sorry to hear you were not offered a coffee maker in the room as we do have them on a request basis, we will be sure to review this with the team. We look forward to seeing you back in the future.

Thank You
Robert Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2017

We stopped in this hotel on our way to SF. The main entrance and lobby look nice and promising but there was nobody to help us with the luggage so we helped ourselves to a cart and emptied our car. The room was on the ground floor overlooking the carpark. There was a big draft around the door and cold air was getting in. Unfortunately for us there was a lot of noise near the ice machine during the night and we could not sleep much. I would not recommend this hotel if you require a bit of service and comfort.

Room tip: choose the other Kimpton hotel
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lcfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2017

lcfb,

Thank you for the review from your recent stay with us at the Goodland. Well we do not have dedicated bell staff if you would have asked the front desk we would have been more than happy to assist with the luggage. We will be sure to have engineering take a look at the door to stop the draft. We hope to see you back in the future.

Thank You
Robert Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2017

Best thing about this hotel is the staff and the bartenders. Friendly and welcoming they were the jewel of the stay. The styling is fun and the beds comfortable. With so much going for it, it was a shame the restaurant was not as good. The food had great style in concept but the flavors never hit a home run. The breakfast was the most dissapointing with the staff not as attentive and not a large offering. Get a room facing the pool and use the gym pass to Gold's!

Room tip: Facing the pool but opposite bar area.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 906eduardov
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2017

Eduardo V,

Thank you for the review from your recent stay at the Goodland and we couldn't agree more the staff is outstanding. Sorry to hear about the restaurant, we have forwarded your comments to the team to address. We look forward to seeing you back in the future.

Thank You
Robert Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2017 via mobile

They almost defy description. Yes, this is a redone old motel and yet don't let that stop you. Quirky. Artsy. Tasteful. Pool and firepits. Turntable in each room, yes, TURNTABLES! Old albums too. Also you can pick out ones from their "library" of records. They have TWO bars with signature cocktails and really amazing food. I think tonight is "s'more night", where they provide fixings to toast over the firepits. The owners have gone to great lengths to make sure you have FUN and are comfortable. Staff too. All remodeled, reminds me of Santa Fe.

Dog friendly with treats right at reception.
Great workout room with treadmills, weights and large space for yoga/stretching. ( would love to see 1/2 bath here)

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank barbarabM5351RG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2017

Barbara B,

Thank you for the amazing review from your visit to the Goodland and we are different in a good way. We will be sure to share your kind words with the team as they love to hear how they are doing. We look forward to seeing you back in the future.

Thank You
Robert Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2017

Fun Kimpton hotel near UCSB. Love to stay here for mother/daughter weekends because it's so close to campus, yet you feel worlds away. Because it is a converted motel, the rooms can be a little noisy, but it's never been a problem. The funky decor, dj at the pool, late-night firepits and delicious food make it all worthwhile!

Date of stay: April 2016
Thank paulak231
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2017

Paula K,

Thank you for the review from your recent visit to the Goodland and we couldn't agree more the location is great for UCSB. We will be sure to share your kind words with the Outpost team about the delicious food. We look forward to seeing you back in the future.

Thank You
Robert Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews