We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$207
Priceline$207
Hotels.com$207
eDreams$207
FindHotel$207
ZenHotels.com$275
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (675)
Filter reviews
675 results
Traveler rating
234
159
125
85
72
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
234
159
125
85
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviews record player santa barbara vinyl records station wagon retro vibe social hour ace hotel mid century motel style wine hour pool area is boutique hotel pits lobby ucsb airstream poolside
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
375 - 380 of 675 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2016

Take a motel next to a freeway. Metal doors, direct access to the parking lot, stained concrete walkways. Add tile in the showers, hipster furniture, some (really) squeaky barn doors that you heave open to get into the bathroom. Play loud music around the pool. With a live DJ!

Some more kitsch…stuff. Hang surfboards from the ceiling! Get some funky lamps, old wooden tennis rackets, some 60s surfer pictures, and lots of inflatable pool toys. Add a fitness center: a couple of treadmills, a few 3 lb. barbells. Stick some yoga mats in the closets. Cool!

Then, the kicker: Add a trusted name: Kimpton. Bring in some good staff. What do you end up with?

A motel next to the freeway.

With a barn door into the bathroom that wakes up your partner at night. With no place to do any work.

We’re card-carrying Kimpton regulars. We’ve stayed with them around the country. They had our trust.

Poof.

Never again.

Room tip: There's a Best Western next door.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WorldSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2016

WorldSki,

Thank you for the review from your recent visit to the Goodland and sorry to hear the property wasn't to your liking. We get many compliments from guest about the design and how fun or hip the property is. With the daily programming at the hotel it allows guest to interact with others to create a memorable experience. Thank you for the feedback and we hope you give us another chance.

Thanks
Robert Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2016

The vibe here was cool, felt young and live. We had a 9-month old, so the room we had was not great for him, but the outdoor space near the pool was nice. The location was good in that there were places to eat within walking distance. We were there for an event at UCSB, and it was a short drive to campus. A bit far from Santa Barbara, but not too bad.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Takeo Adriana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2016

Takeo Adriana K,

Thank you for the review from your visit to the Goodland and we couldn't agree more that the outdoor space is nice. We think the location is great as we are a short distance from UCSB, wine country and downtown Santa Barbara. We look forward to seeing you back in the future.

Thank You
Robert Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2016

The beds are very uncomfortable. I read about this before I went. I had hoped that since the Goodland had responded to the post and promised to look into the matter, that they had solved the problem. I was wrong. I have been here 4 weeks. My shoulder and lower back are killing me. I wake up so sore from the bed that I can't stand it. I am on a business traveler. My colleagues and I spend a great deal of time on Trip Advisor prior to making a decision about where to stay. They get plenty of business here. There is no excuse for not investing in decent beds. I spent the weekend at a Marriott to get away from this place last month. Somebody needs to act on the complaints and quit just apologizing.

Room tip: Bring something to sleep on or don't stay for more than a night
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2016

Jennifer M,

Thank you for the review of your stay at the Goodland and sorry to hear about the bed. As stated we do get a lot of great feedback about the mattress and what a great night sleep people have on them. All of the mattress at the Goodland our Sealy Posturepedic which are the Kimpton standard. However, we understand that mattress sometime show wear quicker than others and we are continuously purchasing new mattress to ensure a great night sleep for all guests. We will be sure to have our team check the room and determine if the mattress needs to be removed. Thank you for letting us know so we can get this corrected.

Thank You
Robert Cole
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2016 via mobile

The hotel was very nicely decorated and has a DJ poolside, but that's all it has going for it. I ordered the sparking package to surprise my girlfriend and had to call twice to have it delivered (not much of a surprise). The walls are so thin it feels like you're sharing a room with your neighbor. Just trying to get a roll of toilet paper took two phone calls and finally had to walk to front desk and get it myself. The onsite restaurant was closed on Sunday and we weren't informed. The shower drained poorly and the ac sounded like a freight train. So overpriced it's ridiculous. If you're just coming to party loudly this is the place for you.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank rhodesten
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2016

rhodesten,

Thank you for the review from your visit to the Goodland and sorry to hear about the service during your stay. We will be sure to share your comments with our managers so that we can get the service shortfalls you noted corrected. Rest assured we will get these corrected and hope you give us another chance.

Thank You
Robert Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2016 via mobile

The surroundings of this property are stunning, great vibe of a SoCal surf town...loved the bikes that we could borrow to take a ride around the neighbourhood. Where the "however" comes into place is the service fell a little short initially (uninterested staff at the social hour, front desk never dropped off requested items after my daughter called and was told they would "be right there" broken record player in the room) certainly not at the Kimpton level standards. Very happy to say that when checking out the lovely girl at the desk acknowledged my concerns about the service, and certainly did everything she could to rectify, great recovery.

Date of stay: August 2016
1  Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2016

Natalie W,

Thank you for the review from your recent visit at the Goodland. Well we are proud of the great vibe of the property the service needs to match. Sorry to hear the Goodland service did not live up to our standard. We will be sure to share your comments with our department heads to make the changes that our needed. Rest assured we will get this corrected and look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank You
Robert Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews