We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good location at a great price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Santa Barbara/Goleta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Santa Barbara/Goleta
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Goleta
Stilwell, Kansas
Level Contributor
138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“Good location at a great price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

There are many wonderful places to stay in the Santa Barbara area. But most are very expensive. The Hampton is just outside of Santa Barbara, near the airport and UCSB. It's a great buy. Very clean with well appointed rooms and a helpful staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amfpvks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonSBGoleta, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Santa Barbara/Goleta, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor! Our team will be so excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay. They are always working diligently to make sure everyone has an awesome experience. I’m excited to hear you enjoyed the amenities offered in the guest rooms and our convenient location. Again, thank you for your review and kind words. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Please always feel free to contact me if I can be of assistance. Have a great day!

Sincerely,

Denise Lopez
Director of Sales
805-699-3002 | Denise.Lopez@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    171
    61
    24
    12
See reviews for
182
108
26
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel appears recently remodeled, just as they promised. The exterior is pleasant and welcoming. The welcome desk is situated immediately at the entrance, which doesn't leave much room for people's luggage, but it's a minor inconvenience. There is a 24-hour tea and coffee station. They also offer a hot breakfast every morning, which we'll sample in the AM. Their gym is under construction so they offer entrance into a well-known local gym (I'm not sure when this will end). Finally they have a heated pool, but we'll probably skip that in January. We were offered rooms on any of the floors and ended up taking one on the first floor.

The room is a good size and nicely appointed. There is a mini-fridge and microwave along with the standard TV, closet, etc. They put a sticky note on the headboard letting us know that the "Duvet covers and sheets are clean for your arrival." The bed is comfortable, the wi-fi is complementary, and the desk chair is ergonomic. Overall a very nice place.

We give it a score of 5/5 as a 2.5 star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonSBGoleta, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Santa Barbara/Goleta, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review on TripAdvisor. We understand your time is valuable so we greatly appreciate it! Your kind words are so exciting to hear. I’m so happy to hear you enjoyed the complimentary Wi-Fi and the Cloud 9 Beds. Thank you again for your review and staying with us. Please feel free to contact me if you ever have any questions. I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future. Have a great day!

Sincerely,

Denise Lopez
Director of Sales
805-699-3002 | Denise.Lopez@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijeras
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

For the most part, we stay at Hampton Inn's when we travel. This one was great, clean rooms, plenty of towels, knowledgeable happy staff, and fairly quiet. Our room was on the first floor so there was some coming and going noise but it wasn't too loud and it didn't last long.

This hotel is on Hollister Avenue which has got to be the busiest street in Goleta but there is a well-placed signal light so getting in and out is not difficult.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elsonnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonSBGoleta, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Santa Barbara/Goleta, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review. Your continued loyalty to the Hampton Family means so much and we really appreciate it! We consider it an honor and privilege to serve you as our guests and are so excited you enjoyed your stay. Please feel free to contact me anytime if I can be further assistance. Thank you again. Have a great day!

Denise Lopez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this Hotel and I recomend it!!! The Hotel is clean and the staff is very attentious. The breakfast is good for the price. The only problem is that the restaurant is small. We would stay here agaín!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luizcaeiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonSBGoleta, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Santa Barbara/Goleta, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and your wonderful review. I’m excited to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our team strives to ensure every guest has a great experience so I’ll be sure to share your words with them. Again thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Denise Lopez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
75 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Great bedroom, free wifi, free parking, good location (10 min from Santa Barbara by car) breakfast included for a reasonable price! It was a shame that my boyfriend and I just stayed there for one night, because it was the hotel that we liked the most.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Camila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
142 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

It's funny, but it doesn't seem to take much to change a decent Hampton Inn experience into a bad one. This property is clean, the rooms are spacious and the breakfast is, well a Hampton Inn breakfast (which is to say not bad for a comp. breakfast). The staff were amongst the best, most helpful I've encountered at a Hampton Inn.

So how comes it got an average rating? Well, for starters, including Santa Barbara in the name is a bit confusing - the hotel is a few miles from Santa Barbara and it's situated in an area that is somewhat different. Then there's the air conditioning - one of our room neighbours was obviously feeling very hot and had their air conditioning on high. That's fine, but we got the benefit of listening to it grind away all night. Never mind, if you can't sleep you can surf the web - except that the advertised High Speed Internet is pretty bloody slow.

I like the Hampton Inn brand, and I guess I have come to expect something a bit better - on a positive note, the team there was very friendly and very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ians2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonSBGoleta, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Santa Barbara/Goleta, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your most recent stay at our hotel and for your review. I’m pleased to hear that you enjoyed our guest rooms and breakfast. Additionally, I’m thrilled to hear your encounters with our team were very positive. They work hard to make every guest’s experience memorable, so I’ll be sure to share your kind words with them.
I apologize for you experience with the air conditioning noise from an adjacent guest room. I take this very seriously and would love the opportunity to discuss this further with you. Please contact me at 805-681-9800 or Denise.Lopez@Hilton.com so we can connect regarding this. Also, I understand your concerns with our internet and I believe you will be delighted to hear we have just completed a bandwidth upgrade (completed on Tuesday of this week) proving to provide faster internet speeds to all of our guests.
Again, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind Regards,

Denise Lopez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Have stayed at the Hampton Inn in Goleta a few times over the last few years, most recently in October 2012. It's a 3 story hotel, in very good shape. Only a few miles from the West Entrance to the UCSB campus. On the far southwest side of downtown Goleta, with nearby gas stations, small restaraunts, and a 7/11. Rooms are clean and good sized; beds/linens are very comfy, like almost all Hilton related hotels. Has a small clean (and mostly unused) pool, and a very small fitness room. Parking is free and plentiful. Prices are high for a basic 3 star hotel, typically $160-230 per night, but high hotel prices are the norm in this area. Free wifi works wells. Free USA Today newspapers in the lobby. The free Breakfast has both hot and cold items, reasonable selection of things; good enough, but nothing too great. The front desk folks are very helpful, and the check in/out is very quick. I would rate the Pacifica Inn (just a few block down the road) as slightly better at about the same prices. But I'm an avid collector of HHonors points, so I try to stay at Hiltons when I can.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henneman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goleta
0.4 mi away
Pacifica Suites Santa Barbara
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn
2.8 mi away
Courtyard Santa Barbara Goleta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Goodland
Kimpton Goodland
#6 of 10 in Goleta
4.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ramada Santa Barbara
Ramada Santa Barbara
#21 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 1,833 reviews
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Santa Barbara/Goleta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Santa Barbara/Goleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Santa Barbara/Goleta

Property: Hampton Inn Santa Barbara/Goleta
Address: 5665 Hollister Ave, Goleta, CA 93117-3423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Goleta
#5 Family Hotel in Goleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Santa Barbara/Goleta 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in Goleta, CA is conveniently located in the heart of Old Town Goleta, within eight miles of downtown Santa Barbara. The Hampton Inn Santa Barbara/Goleta, CA is situated perfectly between the Santa Barbara Airport and the University of California Santa Barbara. We're also just a short drive away from the Santa Barbara Zoo, Sterns Wharf, beautiful California beaches, and of course, Wine Country. Whether you're here on business or vacation, you'll want a hotel in Goleta, CA that offers all the comforts you long for. Look no further than the Hampton Inn Santa Barbara/Goleta, CA for all your vacation needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Santa Barbara/Goleta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Santa Barbara/Goleta Hotel Goleta
Hampton Inn Goleta
Goleta Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing