We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointed.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Itsuki

Itsuki
Ranked #24 of 141 Restaurants in Goleta
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Goleta, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very disappointed.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We waited for close to 10 minutes to be seated despite there being plenty of open tables. The staff barely even acknowledged we were waiting and not because they were too busy or understaffed. When someone waitress knew walked in she had the audacity to ask us “can I skip you and seat them first?” I said sure…and we walked out. This was my first and last visit to this establishment. The food looked good the décor appropriate though it was a bit loud inside. Sushi Teri or Goleta Sushi house are way better for my money. Shame since this place is closer to home.Very disappointed. We waited for close to 10 minutes to be seated despite there being plenty of open tables. The staff barely even acknowledged we were waiting and not because they were too busy or understaffed. When someone waitress knew walked in she had the audacity to ask us “can I skip you and seat them first?” I said sure…and we walked out. This was my first and last visit to this establishment. The food looked good the décor appropriate though it was a bit loud inside. Sushi Teri or Goleta Sushi house are way better for my money. Shame since this place is closer to home.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Got_root
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    15
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Out where the buses do run”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

As in off the beaten path but worth the trip. A friend took me here recently for lunch and it was a pleasant discovery. Food is fresh, tasty and has eye appeal. Make the trek, it is well worth it. This could be your next favorite for Japanese fare.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NinSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“authentic japanese food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Loved this restaurant since it was just a small café in a Santa Barbara strip mall. Fairly recently relocated to Goleta; has more table space and outside patio dining, but still manages to feel intimate. Staff are mostly native Japanese; friendly service & extensive menu to much more than sushi. Expect to pay $9-$15 per entree.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LBW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Food and service is great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We came here very hungry and our orders came promptly to our delight. The food was very delicious especially the albacore, tempura and the squid balls. Would definitely be back,

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MariaT16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Well worth the drive...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Since moving from their previous location, this family run, family friendly Japaneese restaurant is now in a location that may not be as convenient as before but it's well worth the short drive to the far reaches of Goleta. Located next to Pacific Sales near the Goleta DMV, the new expanded location offers shorter waits although many regulars have not hesitated to follow so wait we will. Great menu selections and sushi bar in an open, light, bright atmosphere! Give it a shot, saki that is, you wont be disapointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JPWOTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Itsuki also viewed

 

Been to Itsuki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing