We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Awesome Hotel Until The Ants Showed Up” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Santa Barbara Goleta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard Santa Barbara Goleta
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Goleta
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
172 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Awesome Hotel Until The Ants Showed Up”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is one of the nicest designed chain hotels I have seen. The lobby and courtyard are nicer then some resorts. Rooms were nicely furnished and a nice size. The sheets were clean and the towels were nice and thick. This hotel is not cheap. However, what otherwise could be an awesome hotel turned into an unpleasant experience when the room I was visited on both nights by ants. The first night my family noticed a few but did not think it was a big deal. However, the second night ants came out by the dozens in the bathroom, the desk and on the nightstand. I talked to the front desk and asked to have a different room and they claimed they were fill and could not move us. So we were left in a room that had ants! They did send a guy to spray but we did not want to sleep with fumes from bug spray in our room. The following morning I noticed on the second floor several ants crawling by the elevator on the wall next to a trash can and this was well away from the room I stayed at. The guy who came to spray actually told us the ants do bite. It seems this hotel needs to be professionally sprayed for bugs. I have stayed in a lot of hotels over the years including some dumpy beach hotels on the East Coast and never had any problems with bugs in a room. Only once before have I ever had bugs in a room and this was an ant problem 10 years ago in Orlando at a hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wxtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    75
    25
    7
    6
See reviews for
90
48
9
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Having been on the road for 16 years, I want to go to my room after traveling. The experience at the front desk is great and the hotel is brand new, spacious and well-designed with a beautifully landscaped pool with jaccuzi, fire place and a generous putting green. The room is modern and big and housekeeping is excellent. Short walk to shopping and restaurants and a short drive to UCSB, airport and Amtrak. Free parking and a nice fitness center. The rate is not low but for classy accommodation in the Goleta/Santa Barbara area, this place is good value for your money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluesmanjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Finally Marriott has something in the Santa Barbara area. Staff is very friendly and helpful. We stayed here the first weekend it was open and it was very convenient for dropping kids off at college. Rates are a little high for a hotel that is not too close to the beach or downtown, but overall a nice experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 9thGenCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange county,ca
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Its brand new hotel. i travel on a weekly basis to Santa barbara and i have stayed at every hotel. This will be the only place i stay at now. Super clean, great location and everything is brand new. I love it i recommend this hotel to everybody. Great location, great price , great service,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamsdelivery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

What a nice surprise! This brand new hotel (5 minutes from Isla Vista & UCSB) is excellent in every way - bright, cathedral-ceiling lobby with cafe, large screen TV, two fireplaces, a "Go Board" which is a wall-mounted oversized Ipad, a designated boarding pass center and additional computers with printers. The design team on this property really nailed it! The technology areas combined with the comfy, warm furnishings and lobby decor are perfect for any traveler -whether business or vacation.

Rooms are spacious, very clean and nice views of the mountains or pool/courtyard. Besides a pool and jacuzzi, the property also has a cleverly designed miniature golf course in the middle! The hotel encourages guests to hang out at night with two outdoor fire tables to lounge around with your favorite cocktail from the 5 to 7pm happy hour!

Hotel staff is very friendly and professional. The only thing missing was that the front desk agents should inform guests at arrival of the complimentary items - a shuttle van that goes in a 5 mile radius of the hotel, free bikes and golf clubs. Because rooms are on the pricey side, any amenities you can offer at no cost can really enhance a guest's experience.

We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoCalGal2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inland Empire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Compared to the Marriott Buellton just 30 minutes away, this hotel is way overpriced. The positives are being fresh and clean, and nice linens and bedding and a very friendly and helpful staff. The negatives are driving up to check in about 7:30PM and the whole outdoor area has no lights on, despite being very dark outside, having no coffee or cups in the room, no pen or tablet on the desk, and a counter to order breakfast from. Their reply to the dark exterior was not adequate..."We are on timers." Next time, we'll drive the extra miles to Buellton.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CucamongaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

It's a Marriott...great location, excellent accomadations, kinda pricey though, thank goodness for points! Very clean, love the lobby's at the Courtyard's very cool and relaxing and comfortable. The beds the pillows Marriott knows how to do it. Nice windows and doors also!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goleta
3.2 mi away
Pacifica Suites Santa Barbara
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Santa Barbara/Goleta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Kimpton Goodland
Kimpton Goodland
#6 of 10 in Goleta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
4.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Santa Barbara - Calle Real
7.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Santa Barbara Goleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Santa Barbara Goleta

Property: Courtyard Santa Barbara Goleta
Address: 401 Storke Rd, Goleta, CA 93117-2973
Location: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Goleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Santa Barbara Goleta 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Santa Barbara Goleta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing