We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Train ride is all there really is” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Coast Railroad Museum

South Coast Railroad Museum
Ranked #10 of 31 things to do in Goleta
Attraction details
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Train ride is all there really is”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Kids like the train ride which is only a buck. Not much else there however. The stow house is right there as well. So you can do two things in the area without moving your car.

Helpful?
Thank Sean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lompoc, California, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“More people should know about this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

It's out of the way and should be better advertised but I guess that serves to keep the crowds out of the way. This is a great place to take the kids to see something new.

Helpful?
1 Thank josephmclain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Kid friendly. Good birdwatching, too.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

Great fun for the kids. They'll love the train ride. There are nice grassy areas and a good trail. Saw some great birds, too.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank L. K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fun for kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

The train is the main attraction and kids love it.

Helpful?
Thank KAESB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“My Dream Comes True”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

On Friday 10-21-11 I went to South Coast Railroad Museum (after a 4.5 hour airplane flight from the east coast of the US). This is something that I wanted to do before my 50th birthday, but that came and went. Due to my love for Petticoat Junction (anyone over 50 would know what show I am talking about) I have forever wanted to take a ride on a real handcar. The owner assited me in fulfilling my dreams. IT WAS ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! He was available for all questions, VERY POLITE AND VERY SINCERE. Thank you South Coast Railroad Museum for your EXTREME KINDNESS. I will forever be grateful to you!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank zebraroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Coast Railroad Museum also viewed

 

Been to South Coast Railroad Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing