We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No U.S. Gov't rate^$%#@^%@%”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Santa Barbara - Calle Real
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Goleta
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“No U.S. Gov't rate^$%#@^%@%”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

excellent staff, perfect convenient location, pets welcome, no fitness or restaurant facilities; in fact just rooms, no facilities whatsoever.

There are ways on the Internet to get a U.S. Gov't rate through 3rd parties. No one tells you this before you are locked into the high reservation rate; and neither the local staff nor the national reservations can provide nor fix at checkout the rate. So the place is expensive for what you get!

Room Tip: just ask for quiet - staff friendly & superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikelovesgreatfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    35
    24
    17
    12
See reviews for
37
24
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

When we drove up to the Extended Stay Santa Barbara, we thought- nice... looks like updated colors on the outside, sort of like Courtyard Marriotts that we have visited, Check in was not overwhelming as the clerk didn't smile until his college friends came walking in. This was booked as one of those "sight unseen" deals on another site. Never do that! The inside of the room was OLD... like early 80's old and not really very clean. We stayed the night, but I will never stay there again. Very disappointing.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Goleta hotels

Tucson, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here when visiting USCB, which is only 1/2 mile up the freeway. Friendly staff, rooms were clean and large, & the kitchenette is convenient if you want to save some $$ by not having to go to restaurants all the time. Beds are comfortable & liked the free WiFi; plenty of desk/table space if you need to work. Rates are high compared to other markets, but comparable for the Santa Barbara area. Can get a better deal if you book on weekdays; weekends can get noisy with inconsiderate guests. Missed not having a swimming pool, and the fire alarm went off in the middle of the night from what the staff said was an overheated commercial dryer in the laundry.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel twice with my daugther for college visits. The first time, downstairs, and the second, on the second level. Both times, we found the room clean, quiet and convenient, with a fully equiped kitchenette. The "breakfast on the go" is not impressive but it is free - coffee, packaged muffins, etc. I asked for a 6 AM wake up call at the reception and was told that it was not available. But all in all is a great value. I plan to return during college move-in weekend, and we will bring our dog, as it is a pet-friendly hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllergiesRUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Santa Barbara - Calle Real, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy you have enjoyed your stays with us. Our staff takes pride in providing a clean, comfortable room for our guests and also your four legged family members! We are so close to UCSB we would love to have you stay again when visiting your daughter at the college.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We have stayed at this location every time we come to Santa Barbara the rooms could use remodeling but the over accommodating staff especially Cindy the manager makes up for what the hotel lacks I have never seen someone so dedicated to there job and she went out of her way to make me and my family feel at home on our visit. We really love that the rooms have kitchenettes because its much more affordable for a family on a budget. We liked the grab and go breakfast and that there is popcorn and other toiletries at the front desk. Our room was very clean its not the ritz Carlton and we knew this before we booked the room so I don't know how other guest are can write such horrible reviews.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhodes2vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Santa Barbara - Calle Real, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at our property. We are glad you enjoyed our hotel's location and our staff, especially Cindy. As well, I am happy that you liked your room and all of the amenities our hotel had to offer.

We hope you will stay with us again on your return to the beautiful Santa Barbara area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We booked this hotel because it was pet friendly and reviews said it was newly remodeled and clean. Our room was dumpy, the bed was small, the sheets were scratchy and the towels stiff. The kitchen and bathroom were not as clean as it should be with dirt stains on the bottom of the door, stained sink drains and dusty curtains. Little amenities were missing like there were only 2 pillows, only one bar of soap in the bathroom, no wine glasses and few kitchen cooking supplies. It certainly was not remodeled as the mismatched bed spread and curtains were old and ugly and so was the one art piece on the wall. It all looked like Goodwill rejects. The only thing good I can say about this place is the staff was friendly aand it's fairly close to UCSB. We were booked for 4 nights but started looking for a new place immediately.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j9ofhmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Santa Barbara - Calle Real, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
I received a copy of your review and wanted to personally respond. I am so sorry that your stay was disappointing. Please accept my sincere apologies. In response to your feedback I will be addressing these issues with my maintenance and housekeeping staff.

If you would like to discuss this further you can reach me at sbn@extendedstay.com. I hope you would give us another chance to provide you with a better stay next time you are in Santa Barbara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio City, Ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I can't say more about my stay at this hotel (especially over Memorial Day Weekend). From the overseeing manager (Cindy) in making sure that my 15 month old son had a crib/pack n play to sleep in to the more than friendly staff at the desk. The room was perfect for me and my family to stay in. The hotel was close enough to the zoo and to the wharf. Very quiet (although they were sold out for the weekend). The Grab n Go was perfect. Just went down the hall and grabbed some coffee and muffins and we were on our way. I can't thank them enough for a great stay. We will be back!

Room Tip: Bring shampoo and soap if you plan on staying more than a few days
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puka77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Santa Barbara - Calle Real, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your awesome review of our property. We take great pride in providing our guests with an exceptional stay and memorable experience at our hotel. We are very pleased to know we accomplished that for you!

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Santa Barbara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goleta
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn
1.5 mi away
Pacifica Suites Santa Barbara
1.7 mi away
Kimpton Goodland
Kimpton Goodland
#6 of 11 in Goleta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Santa Barbara/Goleta
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Santa Barbara - Calle Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Santa Barbara - Calle Real

Property: Extended Stay America - Santa Barbara - Calle Real
Address: 4870 Calle Real, Goleta, CA 93111-1903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Goleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Santa Barbara - Calle Real 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Extended Stay, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Extended Stay America - Santa Barbara - Calle Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America - Santa Barbara North Hotel Goleta
Extended Stay America Goleta
Extended Stay Goleta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing