We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bacara Resort & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Bacara Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Goleta
Certificate of Excellence
LA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2007

My stay at this hotel was a big disappointment especially given the
'standard' room rate of $600/night. The room was nice, but the immenities were nothing more than a Holiday Inn. An employee at the spa didn't show up for work on the day of treatment and we were left sitting in the quiet room for 30 min before being informed that they didn't have anyone to assist. The manager offered to "comp" lunch, but we were still charged for a glass of wine, tax and gratuity (not to mention our $600/nt room and parking!). Overall a big disappointment for a hotel and spa that claims to be tops.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Price, service
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LATraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,274
    392
    235
    174
    133
See reviews for
494
913
46
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (621)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2007

Probably our most disappointing stay ever. For $775 per night it is reasonable to expect excellence in every aspect of a stay. This property is overpriced, not luxurious and well, just pitiful. The main dining room was pretentious with bad food. Our room was small, noisy and more like a Holiday Inn room, and I do not mean to disparage Holiday Inn's. For this price, can't they afford to give you a couple of free bottles of water on your nightstands?Not to be poor in taste. I have felt softer tissue paper in airport bathrooms. The swimming pool outside our room was more like a community pool, teeming with screaming children. This place is just bad on every level. The best part about staying here is leaving.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank MAB155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2007

This is probably one of the most amazing places I have stayed. The customer service was second to none and the place is just beautiful. Architecturally gorgeous and right on the Pacific Ocean. The food was great (expensive but worth it) and the amenities such as the spa and pool were wonderful. A perfect hotel....wouldn't mind being there right now!!

  • Liked — Location and service
  • Disliked — that I couldn't stay longer!!!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank elmfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2007

Our one night stay at Bacara was extremely disappointing. For the price tag of $425 per night, we expected much more. Our room was so poorly constructed, that we could vividly hear our neighbor complain about the noise through the walls. Our bed shook every time anyone on our floor closed their bathroom doors. Dining and drinks were way overpriced for the plain to mediocre flavor and service. The best thing was a bowl of apples in the spartan lobby. The resort layout was confusing and tedious. Would not return or recommend to anyone. The valet smoked in our rental car.

  • Liked — bowl of apples in lobby
  • Disliked — paper thin walls, expensive rates for room and board
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BarbeQ77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2007

My Wife and I spent the President's Day weekend here and had a great time. Overall, the staff and service here are excellent, the food was good, our room was spacious (regular room), and the atmosphere was relaxing. We came on a weekend that did not appear too busy.

Spa - great service by hostess and therapists. Our massages were some of the best we've recieved. The gym has a good variety of machines and weights. Very state of the art. Staff is also present in the room to address any needs you have.

Pool - very low key and relaxing. Even the kids were subdued. Saw a few "B list" celebrities by the pool with thier families. Everyone seemed to respect their identity and privacy. Poolside drink service could use improvement.

Kids Club - They have a great Daycare center onsite with lots of activities. We saw an open buffett of fruit and healthy snacks the kids could choose from at thier leisure - same quality of food offered at the restaurants.

Restaurants - We did not eat at Miro, but ate at the cafes and the bar. Great food and excellent service. I suggest you make reservations for dinner.

Price - I read some complaints on the cost of this resort. This resort is 1st class and comes with a price. We got what we paid for. Expect 5 star resort pricing similar to Ritz Carlton. We felt the staff was a little more candid and personable then the Ritz.

Landscape - great walking trails a nice little beach. This hotel is built into a hill, so if you're not into walking up and down, there are staffed golf carts that will take you where you need to go. Lots and lots of golf carts around.

We'll definatley consider this hotel for a return trip.

  • Liked — Overall Experience
  • Disliked — Too many golf carts
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank averagefamilyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2007

My mom and I just recently stayed at Bacara for the second time. Although we only stayed one night, we've never enjoyed ourselves this much. Not only is the hotel breathtaking, but the staff is so friendly and helpful. Staff members remembered our names and offered us rides to different locations around the resort. The food is incredible, and I'd highly recommend this hotel to anybody looking to relax. My only complaint is the spa cafe. We ate there for lunch, and they were "out" of several entrees on the menu. However, the Bistro is phenomenal (I'd recommend the salmon nicoise salad). Overall amazing stay!

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank leopardbaby71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose Ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2007

I read a ton of reviews for Bacara before going and was nervous to spend that amount of money per night. It is hard to know if a person it just a negative person and does nothing but complain or if they had a bad experience. We went to Bacara for my Bachlerrate party. The bell men did a great job. The check in was fast but we waited about 20 min. in the lobby before someone came to take us to our room. There was not a lot of people checking in at the time so we did not understand what the hold up was but when they came to take us to our room they give you a lift in what I call the limo of golf carts. When I read some reviews most people complained about the wait after checking in and this is why. They take you to your room and they gave us a little tour of the grounds. The room was great. The tile floors and the openness of the French doors were nice. The grounds are beautiful. I think this is what makes Bacara. The service we received was exactly what it should be. We did a Spa day. I have to say I was a little disappointed by the spa it self. I excepted something absolutely wonderful, but if feel short to our expectations with its simple décor. I will say it is the largest day spa I have ever been in. The treatments we received were great and the service was excellent. We ate at the Spa Café and the food was wonderful. The pool by the ocean was very nice. The drinks were great and worth the price. The food at the pool was good. The reviews about not having a beach to really go on it correct, but the grounds at Bacara are enough to make up for the beach. The weather was very nice except for the last day. The fog was thick. Bacara was beautiful and worth every dollar spent. I would stay here again for a special occasion.

  • Liked — the grounds
  • Disliked — check in
  • Tips/Secrets — The rooms are not what you would expect for the price you pay per night but the grounds are great
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank doublell21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goleta
12.4 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
12.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
13.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
12.1 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
16.0 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#16 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bacara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacara Resort & Spa

Property: Bacara Resort & Spa
Address: 8301 Hollister Ave, Goleta, CA 93117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Goleta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goleta
#2 Family Hotel in Goleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bacara Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the bluffs and beaches of the Gaviota coast lies a resort of stunning natural beauty and relaxed luxury. With 78 acres of oceanfront property, including two miles of natural beach, Bacara offers an expansive sun-drenched setting with endless vistas of sea and sky. The resort's innovative and artful design is in keeping with the intimacy and aesthetics of a Mediterranean village. Unwind at an award-winning 42,000-square-foot spa and fitness center or relax beside one of three zero-edge swimming pools and 26 private cabanas. The resort's 358 newly-renovated guestrooms and signature suites artfully infuse luxurious interiors with modern technologies for a true sense of comfort. Additional resort amenities include a new oceanfront restaurant, Angel Oak, four Har-Tru clay tennis courts, a Foley wine tasting room, and the adjacent Sandpiper Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Bacara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Bacara Resort
Bacara Spa Resort Santa Barbara
Bacara Resort Santa Barbara Ca
Bacara Santa Barbara
Bacara Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing