We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spend your money else where”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bacara Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Goleta
Certificate of Excellence
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Spend your money else where”
Reviewed August 20, 2006

I MUST say that i have never had such a horrible experience at a Resort or have ever been so insulted by a Resort management! My husband took me here for my birthday. He thought it would be the PERFECT get away. SURPRISE NOT!!!

We arrived on Friday night & had 2 massages scheduled in our room. There were great, but when my husband went to sign the bill each massage was $500.00! They were far from that good. Then we went to sleep around midnight only to be awoken by a party of 15 people above us at 1:00am. We had to call security 3 times to have the nosie & people removed. The next day we were scheduled for a horse back ride on the beach. The resort gave us a card to go a ranch (the ranch was nice) but this ranch only rode in a cirle of dirt for 45 minutes and no where near the beach. When i expressed ours concerns to the manager Terry he said that he was changing out room so we wouldl not be distrubed by the guest above & this room had a GREAT surprise for us & assured us of a beatiful sunset! Well, the room was nce but not even in the direction of sunset (barely see the ocean) & the managers big surprise was a flower with a most insulting note! Too top off the end of our weekend when we checked out the bell boy didn't put our luggage into the car! Thank god we went into Santa Barbara for breakfast and did some shopping. When we opened the truck to put our bags inside we saw that our luggage was NOT there! So we had to go back and retrieve it! When we got back to the resort 3 hours later our luggage was still sitting right out in front & my husband walked up got it put it in the car (no one at the resort even asked or stopped him. This place is way over rated & they plain old (-)you! The weekend cost us $2855.00! It wasn't about the money if the service was good. But the service was horrible the whole experience was nasty!

  • Liked — nothing even the sheets on the bed were bad
  • Disliked — room service management
  • Tips/Secrets — go anywhere but here
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank sandymed2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,332
    407
    244
    180
    135
See reviews for
520
937
47
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (645)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, Vriginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2006

This was our third visit to Santa Barbara and have always enjoyed it. However, this time we were disappointed with our choice of hotels. Previously we had stayed at the Four Seasons (Biltmore) and we were always impressed. We decided to try the Bacara as we had read about it in various publications. Upon check- in the staff seemed very confused with our accomadations as they were getting it confused with another guest's account. This proved to be a problem until even a month after we checked out. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and the staff was very helpful. The room however was the biggest disappointment. For $800 per night I expect something better than what one would find at a Marriot or nice Holiday Inn. The room was small (compared to the Four Seasons) and the bed, bedspread and linens were of very poor quality. There was no coffee maker in the room when we requested one we were informed that there would be a charge for it (come on - we're talking $800 a night!). Additionally, we dined at the upscale Miro restaurant - very expensive and very dissappointing. I don't need to go on, you get the picture. We drove over to the Four Seasons and booked our stay for next year.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank 2thdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2006

My family and I stayed at the Bacara the first week in August while our son attended the MJ Flight School Camp. It was a wonderful experience.

The rooms are great. The pools are great. The Spa was great. The staff was great. I read all the reviews before making our reservation and was glad we believed the good reviews. Was staff was very attentitive our entire stay. We went into town twice a day so, we feared having the car in valet parking would present a problem. Tip #1 call in advance and the car will be there when you are ready to leave. The food is expensive at the Bacara (and very very good) but, Santa Barbara is just 5 minutes away.

There are many fast food to average restaurants to choose from. There were also 2 weddings (1 very large) during our stay that did'nt affect us at all. I don't know what everyone else was talking about. Anyways, stay at the Bacara and expect to spend some extra money or stay somewhere else. As for us, we enjoyed everything about the Bacara and we are looking for to next August!!

  • Liked — The setting
  • Disliked — The price
  • Tips/Secrets — See review
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank griff30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2006

The hotel is exactly what we were looking for. Upon arrivival, we were greeted by the most courteous staff I have ever run into. I read in a review that a reasonable tip of $20 would get my car left in the courtyard. That was very helpful! I was driving a rented Toyota and everytime I came up to to get my car it was left right up next to the Bentlys and Lexis'. This really saved time on the wait at valet. The lobby was magnificent! It was our anniversary and the front dest was very accomodating to our reasonable requests. We didn't ask for anything free but the front desk personel seemed to react well to our pleasent demenour. We arived at 3PM and were told our room might not be ready for an hour. We had expected this wait, as we were told that check in was at 4PM. We decided to wait at the bar. The mojitos are magnificent! Bar staff was amazing! As we waited we noticed many upset guests in the lobby. I do not understand why someone would get upset that their room was not ready... were they not warned that check in was at 4? After we finished our beverages we walked out to the lobby and, shortly thereafter, were greated by an extremely welcoming bellman. He brought us out to a golf cart and loaded up our luggage. He asked if we would like a tour of the property... we offered a resounding yes! Long ago I worked in the service industry and know that the employees at these type of extablishments are underpaid, often minimum wage. I usually tip after service, but wanted to assure excellent service so I slipped the young man $20. From that point on we were taken on a wonderful tour of the resort grounds. He gave some helpful recommendations and OUTSTANDING personalized service. The rooms are amazing. We had a partial ocean view. One complaint I do have is that the housekeeping staff needs to be more courteous. The fitness center is lovely and has convenient hours. We did some mountain biking and kayaking. I found that tipping at this resort really assured excellent service. I will recomend a few things to readers. Visit the Bistro which has oustanding Mediteranean cuisine. Call ahead for rides or tough it out and walk up the hills. I think Americans are just getting too lazy. Is it really hard to walk 100 meters up hill? Bacara is very laid back and as long as you go in with the propper attitude you will have an excellent experience. The property is spread out and peacefull. You get what you pay for and more!

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank Mr.Whites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2006

I read many of the reviews on this website prior to booking my stay, and I must say many of them do not do this great hotel justice! From my arrival into the beautiful courtyard I was greeted by several cordial young men who were very happy to take care of my bags while I began the check in process. overall, valet service at this hotel was very smooth. Many people writing reviews of this hotel complained of the fact that your car would not be kept in the courtyard unless u were driving a bently, rolls, or ferrari. I call these people amatuers. As an avid hotel patron, I have learned over the years that TIPPING the doorman upon arrival WILL get your car held in the courtyard. As I was going to dinner shortly after checkin, I just slipped the doorman a $20 and my rental seabring was waiting for me when I came back. no waiting for MY car during the big dinner rush. In fact my car was kept up top or much of my stay. very conveinent for only $20. After check in was completed I waited just a few minutes for a bellman to find me and we were off to the room. The bellman here are indeed young, but what what else would you expect when coming to santa barbara?? this hotel is less than 5 miles away from UCSB, where many of the hotels employees are from. The bellman are all very friendly and a delight to talk to. many reviewers complained of them being too chatty, I being a normal human being enjoy a nice conversation, and the bell staff here provides nothing but the most pleasant of conversations. The hotel setup is very nice however it seems as if bacara made one mistake...they built their parking lot on the most prime piece of real estate at the resort. The result, a lot of hills to walk up and down. The upside to this however is the cart service, with so many carts driving the grounds, it is easy to find a ride, and i was offered at least 20 rides throughout my stay. The only real complaint I have is the prices. pretty steep. ill leave it at that. My advice to anyone wanting to stay here, expect to spend money! This is santa barbara, things are Very expensive in this town. also, tip your bell and valet staff well, and you will recieve excellent and attentive service, remember, these guys probably make minimum wage, so they are willing to work for your tips. All you complainers on this website probably stiffed your bellman. dont expect any service for being cheap. Overall my stay was great and I have already booked my second trip to this fine resort.

  • Liked — service, beautiful young friendly staff
  • Disliked — too many business men on retreat/ too many weddings
  • Tips/Secrets — Take care of those who provide services in a tipping environment
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank cityoflights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2006

This resort misses on the little things from beginning to end. Starting with the inelegant registration process which requires a long wait aimlessly in the lobby for an inappropriately chatty bellman to finally take you to your room with your bags, to lack of cleaning during turndown service (despite hefty tips left), to the $150 cancellation charge because we changed our dining reservations from one dining location to another (both on property mind you) - and then we weren't told of the charge until it showed up on the bill. I have stayed at many fine properties, and this is not one of them, despite the beautiful advertisements and Oprah's recommendation.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank annabelle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2006

beautiful facility and the college student staff tries hard.....BUT for the money they charge for the "organic" food, the spa treatments and rooms there are a lot of little things that a ritz or 4 seasons would not mess up.

After going through a battery of questions at check in I was annoyed, but hoping that they would actually listen. After spending a weekend in Vegas with the housekeepers constantly banging on our door, my wife and I liked that they gave us an option on when we would like our service.,,,we said noon!

We REALLY wanted to sleep in and were excited to do so without the kids and dog etc.

first knock-8:30a
2nd knock-10 something
3rd knock-11:30a...what the hell is going on?

not as many on Sunday, but still early.

Complimentary newspaper sir, "would you like LA Times or NY Times". How about reaching around to pull the paper off the door...only to have the wrong one.

My wife having to flag down a server at the pool and ask for a menu....only to have her forget and having to flag down another one.

attention to detail is something they don't have down.....How about having some staff memmbers over 30, who have some hotel/restaurant experience?

5 star prices with 3 star service!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jwilberdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goleta
12.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,051 reviews
12.3 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,013 reviews
12.6 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#40 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,406 reviews
5.6 mi away
Kimpton Goodland
Kimpton Goodland
#6 of 12 in Goleta
430 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bacara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacara Resort & Spa

Property: Bacara Resort & Spa
Address: 8301 Hollister Ave, Goleta, CA 93117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Goleta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goleta
#2 Family Hotel in Goleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bacara Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the bluffs and beaches of the Gaviota coast lies a resort of stunning natural beauty and relaxed luxury. With 78 acres of oceanfront property, including two miles of natural beach, Bacara offers an expansive sun-drenched setting with endless vistas of sea and sky. The resort's innovative and artful design is in keeping with the intimacy and aesthetics of a Mediterranean village. Unwind at an award-winning 42,000-square-foot spa and fitness center or relax beside one of three zero-edge swimming pools and 26 private cabanas. The resort's 358 newly-renovated guestrooms and signature suites artfully infuse luxurious interiors with modern technologies for a true sense of comfort. Additional resort amenities include a new oceanfront restaurant, Angel Oak, four Har-Tru clay tennis courts, a Foley wine tasting room, and the adjacent Sandpiper Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Bacara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Bacara Resort
Bacara Spa Resort Santa Barbara
Bacara Resort Santa Barbara Ca
Bacara Santa Barbara
Bacara Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing