We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort, Lovely Location, Great Restaurants....but....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bacara Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Goleta
Certificate of Excellence
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort, Lovely Location, Great Restaurants....but....”
Reviewed September 3, 2014

We spent two nights at the Bacara a couple of weeks ago. It is a beautiful resort, landscaping meticulously manicured, the staff is warm, welcoming and exceptionally professional.

The room was very nice but it had no chest of drawers so we had to live out of our suitcase for the three days we were there. Isn't that rather odd? Even a cheap motel has a place for you to unpack your clothes. Also, there was nothing in the room giving information about the resort, room service, the services of the resort, etc. I dialed the room service number and asked why there wasn't a menu or a listing of services in the room. The man who answered the phone said that they didn't usually have a menu in the room but that he could have one sent up. I hung up and called the front desk because I thought that perhaps the room service man didn't understand what I was calling about. I got the same guy. I told him that it didn't make sense that there would be no information on the resort in the room. He asked me hold, asked someone else, came back on and said that it should be in the blue binder. I said, "Excuse me, but that's what I'm trying to tell you. There is no blue binder in the room." He said, oh, well, I'll have one sent up to you. Hummmmm, who is manning the front desk?

We ate in both restaurants - outstanding!! Couldn't ask for anything better. Service was top notch.

We drove up to the hotel in our own car. When we departed they brought our car out. It had been sitting outside, under a tree, for three days. It was covered with sap, fallen seed pods and was filthy. The man who brought the car said he would waive the parking for our stay because of the condition of our car. HOWEVER, the sap marks would not come out and we now have to take our car into a body shop to try to get the marks off. NEEDLESS TO SAY, WE ARE VERY UPSET ABOUT THIS.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sgyost1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Sgyost1206- Although I am pleased to hear you enjoyed many aspects of your stay, I am sorry there were certain occasions that left you with a negative perception. I will address your specific mentions with the appropriate teams. I can understand your frustration with regards to the sap. Your experience is certainly not aligned with our service standards. Again, thank you for your review.

Truly,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,303
    401
    243
    178
    134
See reviews for
506
924
47
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2014

We first stayed at Bacara several years ago, and have been coming back ever since then. This is truly a luxury resort, without being pretentious. Their approach to service is to do whatever it takes to make your stay wonderful.

The rooms we have stayed in all have an understated luxury and comfort. We would highly recommend a room with a balcony/patio. It really adds to the overall experience, be it to have breakfast or simply to enjoy a quiet moment.

The pools are wonderful, and having an adult-only pool is a nice choice.

Lots of areas (lounges, patios, etc.) to sit and relax. Many have fireplaces or fire-pits. Great venus to have something to drink or eat with friends.

Dining options are limited, as with most resorts. Miro is terrific, but on the formal side. We would highly recommend trying out one of the buffets that Bacara hosts on holidays, even if you are not a guest at the hotel.

We are very active and like to work out every day. The spa and fitness facilities deliver everything needed on that front. In addition, the resort will provide bikes for cycling and also has tennis courts.

The one item of note is that Bacara is not actually in Santa Barbara, but about a 10 minute drive from downtown. This has never been an issue for us, but prospective visitors should know that you cannot walk to any shops or restaurants.

All in all, whether we are looking for a romantic getaway or a weekend with kids and family, Bacara is our top destination in the Santa Barbara area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monika F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Monika F- Thank you for your 5-star review and honest feedback. There are many mentions in your review that potential travelers will appreciate! I am pleased you enjoyed the service, facilities, spa and more! Your loyalty and decision to return to our Bacara family is the utmost compliment, so thank you.

Warm regards,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2014

My daughter and I have a "no guys" can come here with us rule. Our boys always want to surf. It is just a little too far to drive back to the good surf spots. Plus, we can watch girl movies and we have some girlfriends that live nearby, and they come by and hang out with us. We like to create a relaxing, zen atmosphere here. The staff is insanely helpful. Rooms are so Santa Barbara cool decorated. You need to walk a lot around the property, but it is OK because it is a working avocado farm. Can you say guacamole and chips, and olives, and cheese... spa services, and then a Mai-tai by the pool as you listen to the waves crash down below while reading a Forbes magazine (just kidding while reading US magazine). Time flies by, this Oasis is a must!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnEve7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear DawnEve7- What a fun review! Thank you not only for your 5-star review, but your dashing description from your recent stay. I am happy to hear you and your daughter though-roughly enjoyed your time. I couldn't agree more, reading US Magazine while sipping a Mai-Tai is definitely relaxing! Please come back and visit us again soon.

Warm regards,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
291 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2014

Stayed here 3 nights with my family on our way up to S F. Having seen this hotel every time I get my travel special emails from AMEX fine hotels... I researched it more and decided to go with it. Well I wasn't disappointed. Everything about it was first class all the way. From the moment you check in to the moment you check out the service and smiles are excellent. The good and bad:

Good :

Our suite down close to the pools was amazing. Great bed, large bathroom, and outside patio area. They cleaned it well and on time every day.

The pools are wonderful with the staff young and happy. No pushy people here... order drinks when you want. The lounges are plentiful and the view is amazing against the ocean.

The breakfast was awesome as well sitting outside looking at the nature trails. Buffet was a killer.

They gave us bikes to ride on the nearby trails which was a great workout on 2 mornings. Their own walking trails are very nice as well.

After arriving back from town for dinner we had coffee and dessert at their outside patio that had fire pits. Great.

The overall scenery and feel of the resort is very peaceful and promotes luxury.

The not so good:

Yes its not " in Santa Barbara". Its actually a 10 minute drive into town but no big deal. I'm the kind of person who actually likes to leave the resort for dinner ( instead of spending every minute locked inside the resort ) so no biggie for me.

Beach: Not really a good beach if your looking for a killer one. It had oily goo and rocks all over.

Quiet: Again its a serene setting for having a quiet stay. If your looking for any excitement at all... this is not your place.

Overall for me... I loved it and would def be back. Quality and luxury all the way.

Room Tip: There are many different " buildings " on the resort. If you want something close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BIGMIKE275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear BIGMIKE275- Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! As a Top Contributor, we sincerely appreciate your 5-star review. You included some wonderful highlights that I am sure other travelers will appreciate. I am so happy to read you enjoyed your overall stay- it certainly sounds like you had a truly relaxing time! Please come back and visit us again soon.

Thank you,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2014

It's a very beautiful property and the beach is right there. However, it's extremely pricey and I didn't feel like it was worth the money. The staff is very nice but unorganized and no one seems to know the answer to any question.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mom2my4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear mom2my4- I am pleased you found our resort beautiful and location to your liking. Although I am very concerned you did not find your experience worth your money. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.

Warm regards,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodacre
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2014

This resort is fabulous. We were on a family trip moving our two older children into college and enjoyed coming back to a delightful staff and beautiful grounds at Bacara. We felt pampered every day. We were greeted with warm smiles and people wanting to help us with our needs. The food by the pool and at Bistro was excellent. We decided not to eat at Miro this time being that we were not impressed with the very expensive dinner the last time we were in Santa Barbara. The Spa was fantastic! I had a lavender scrub that was wonderful and my husband had a massage that he also said was great. There are two drawbacks to this resort - housekeeping and the "extra" fees. When I called the front desk at 4:30 for someone to service our room, Amanda said that they probably came by earlier but we must have been there. I said no we had been gone since 9:30 and she said well they have until 5:00. I said well we really need toilet paper so could someone come soon….Then when they came they gave us one roll of paper, no extras and no more soaps etc…The same thing happened the next day. Luckily we were right across from a housekeeping station and grabbed the one roll of toilet paper they had on their cart. The extra fees were also annoying. They also charge for parking, a resort fee, and to use the computers and printers. All in all I will stay here again when they offer their specials.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vegbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Vernona B- Thank you for your review. I appreciate you choosing our resort for your recent travels to Santa Barbara. I hope your two children were able to settle in nicely to their college. Your feedback is very valuable and I appreciate your honest feedback. I will share with the appropriate departments.

Thank you,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2014

From the moment we arrived at the resort we were treated with excellent service. We were celebrating a special wedding anniversary and the resort made sure the staff was aware of this and we were greeted with many celebratory wishes. The room accommodations overlooking the pool and ocean views were spectacular. A special anniversary dessert and champagne were waiting in our suite. How special we were made to feel. I can not wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2brobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear 2brobbie - Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience on Trip Advisor. First and foremost, happy wedding anniversary! I am ecstatic we were able to share with you this special time. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the view from the room as well as the service. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Warm wishes,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goleta
12.3 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
984 reviews
12.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,019 reviews
12.6 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,279 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,336 reviews
15.9 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bacara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacara Resort & Spa

Property: Bacara Resort & Spa
Address: 8301 Hollister Ave, Goleta, CA 93117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goleta
#1 Business Hotel in Goleta
#2 Family Hotel in Goleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bacara Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the bluffs and beaches of the Gaviota coast lies a resort of stunning natural beauty and relaxed luxury. With 78 acres of oceanfront property, including two miles of natural beach, Bacara offers an expansive sun-drenched setting with endless vistas of sea and sky. The resort's innovative and artful design is in keeping with the intimacy and aesthetics of a Mediterranean village. Unwind at an award-winning 42,000-square-foot spa and fitness center or relax beside one of three zero-edge swimming pools and 26 private cabanas. The resort's 358 newly-renovated guestrooms and signature suites artfully infuse luxurious interiors with modern technologies for a true sense of comfort. Additional resort amenities include a new oceanfront restaurant, Angel Oak, four Har-Tru clay tennis courts, a Foley wine tasting room, and the adjacent Sandpiper Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bacara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Bacara Resort
Bacara Spa Resort Santa Barbara
Bacara Resort Santa Barbara Ca
Bacara Santa Barbara
Bacara Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing