We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Goleta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Little has change in 2 years since our last visit.
Outstanding personal...incredible accommodations...fine cuisine tall pours too!
The flowers hummingbirds and the sun welcome those who seek true elegance.
Bacara relaxes rejuvenates and restores the weary.
We will return again and again.

Room Tip: Ocean view worth the extra..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Dear Wayne W.

We are fortunate to have the privilege of many loyal customers like yourself who choose to return to Bacara whenever possible. I truly appreciate your feedback regarding your recent experience at our resort. Your compliments about our outstanding staff, the incredible accommodations and the relaxing atmosphere will be shared with with our team. I hope your travels will allow to return to Bacara very soon.

Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,147 - 1,153 of 2,348 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2014

The steep price staying here does not justify the slightly worn out rooms for patrons. Even the lounge chairs in the pool area are weathered down. When greeted by prompt, friendly valet and a comfy reception area, I gained high hopes for a room of equal quality. Although spacious, I felt the actual room was outdated.

However, the room was clean, quiet, and provided much privacy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zpaksux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Dear zpaksux,

Thank you for reaching out via Trip Advisor with regards to your recent stay. I speak for the entire team that we are sorry for your experience and that we did not exceed your expectations. Rest assured, your comments will be reviewed by our team.

Warm regards,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

My girlfriend and I went to Bacara this past weekend for a quick getaway from LA. The weather was perfect and the resort was phenomenal. I had been checking reviews wondering where to go and came across Bacara. The new management seems to have made a difference because everyone from the valet dropping off our car to the grounds crew were smiling at us and wishing us to have a good day. We did not leave the resort all weekend and could not be happier about it. Wine tasting and The Bistro Friday, working out at the gym Saturday followed by a few hours at the pool was exactly what we wanted in our vacation. The beds were amazing and we had some of the best nights sleep we can remember. My only complaint is that we could not stay longer. We're already trying to plan our next trip to Bacara!

Room Tip: We had a "resort/garden view room which was close to the pool which was great. We were also clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldenBear35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear GoldenBear35,

Thank you for the kind and thoughtful review. I am very pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations and your getaway weekend was a great success. The Bacara staff, with their genuine and caring attitude is so important to insuring high level of service for our guests. I will pass on your compliments to the team. We look forward to your return to our ocean side resort.

Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

What more can you ask than exquisite, well-kept grounds, beautifully appointed room/bath, and the magnificent Pacific Ocean? My husband and I spent a wonderful weekend at Bacara, and look forward to returning some time. The staff is courteous and helpful at all times. Love the fact that it's a "dog-friendly" venue, so I really enjoyed all the pooches on the property (I love dogs, but travel too much to have one of my own!). We were truly treated as guests, not customers. Highly recommend for a relaxing, peaceful weekend retreat.

Room Tip: Loved being in Villa 3 -- rooms felt very private, but I don't think you could pick a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casa295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dare Casa295,

At Bacara we love creating an atmosphere that provides a warm and welcoming feel for our guests. The ocean front setting and everything Bacara has to offer truly enhance the genuine service our staff looks forward to delivering everyday. I am pleased to hear the we exceeded your expectations. Thank you for sharing your experience and your recommendation as a place to visit for a relaxing and peaceful weekend.

Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I stayed on a girls weekend for 2 nights in May. We had a wonderful time. We hardly left the resort as it had everything that we needed. What stood out the most though was the terrific service and genuine kindness of the staff. Even though it is rather expensive the beauty of the resort and the can do attitude of its staff make it worth the money. Even as we were checking out and having to split our bill amongst 4 of us with credit cards, cash and differing amounts the front desk clerk never missed a beat, rolled an eye, or made it uncomfortable. He split it just ask we asked with a smile and a "my pleasure." This place is a real treat. I will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UCSB_kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear UCSB_kelly,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Bacara. It is wonderful to hear that everyone enjoyed their stay and the staff exceeded your expectations by delivering exceptional service. At Bacara we always strive to be a destination resort that provides our guests with a unique and relaxing visit.

Warm regards,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I have been to bacara many times. one would think you might tire of going to the same place. I cant wait to go back each time I leave. from the moment you enter the property you are treated like a vip....the man who parks your car, the front desk person, the person who helps you with your bags to your room, the cleaning person.............they all have a smile and work efficiently to get you taken care of......bacara is a great place for recreation and relaxation. I love to walk just minutes to the beach for a long morning stroll before sitting down for breakfast in the café with wonderful ocean views. I love the swimming pool, but there is bike riding, hiking, and golf. the spa is first class and the treatment people are excellent. the food is wonderful, whether you want a buffet breakfast or a burger or a fine dining experience. the bar is always active. when I arrive I tend not to leave the property. the rooms are comfy and well appointed. an ocean view will brighten your stay. but if you have more time, explore downtown santa Barbara or a trip to one of the best zoos on the west coast. anyway you cut it, your stay at bacara will be a great memory and more than likely you will return many times like me..........

Room Tip: I prefer an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cabodave2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear cabodave2011- Thank you very much for your detailed and thoughtful review! Here at Bacara, we pride ourselves on our dedication to guest service, so I am pleased you had an opportunity to thoroughly enjoy your time. I truly appreciate your detailed account of not only the resort, but the Santa Barbara locale as well. I hope we have the pleasure to welcome you again soon!


Warm regards,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I was gifted a stay at Bacara resort and spa for Mother's Day and everything from the friendly and very helpful staff, lush accommodations, beautiful views and sound of the ocean, all lulled me into a peaceful and pampered state of being.
My girls didn't want to leave the pool. Ever.
Then, waking up to a song bird and the sun coming up on the water... I only wish I could have stayed longer and taken advantage of everything they offer, (so I guess I'll have to go back!)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GooseMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear GooseMB- First and foremost, Happy (belated) Mother's Day! I am grateful that you were gifted a stay at our resort. Thank you very much for your thoughtful review. The details you gave were absolutely wonderful. It is with great pleasure to hear that your family enjoyed their stay as well. I hope we have the pleasure to welcome you again soon!

Truly,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goleta
12.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#7 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,092 reviews
12.4 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,057 reviews
5.7 mi away
Kimpton Goodland
Kimpton Goodland
#6 of 12 in Goleta
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#20 of 52 in Santa Barbara
473 reviews
2.9 mi away
Courtyard Santa Barbara Goleta
12.7 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara

Address: 8301 Hollister Ave, Goleta, CA 93117-2474 (Formerly Bacara Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goleta
#1 Business Hotel in Goleta
#2 Family Hotel in Goleta
Price Range: $522 - $873 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara 5*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the bluffs and beaches of the Gaviota coast lies The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara, a resort of stunning natural beauty and relaxed luxury. With 78 acres of oceanfront property, including two miles of natural beach, we offer an expansive sun-drenched setting with endless vistas of sea and sky. Our resort in Santa Barbara, California features innovative and artful design that is in keeping with the intimacy and aesthetics of a Mediterranean village. Unwind at an award-winning 42,000-square-foot spa and fitness center or relax beside one of three zero-edge swimming pools and 26 private cabanas. The resort's 358 newly-renovated guestrooms and signature suites artfully infuse luxurious interiors with modern technologies for a true sense of comfort. Additional resort amenities include a new oceanfront restaurant, Angel Oak, four Har-Tru clay tennis courts, a Foley wine tasting room, and the adjacent Sandpiper Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Bacara Resort
Bacara Spa Resort Santa Barbara
Bacara Resort Santa Barbara Ca
Bacara Santa Barbara
Bacara Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing