We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but expensive.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bacara Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Goleta
Certificate of Excellence
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Nice but expensive.”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night on a rainy winter day. The room was fabulous. I upgraded to a deluxe room. The rooms are located in separate small buildings dotted across the compound. Our room was a corner king-two balconies off the room with seating. Obviously we couldn't use them but in nice weather they would be lovely with good views. Our building was located close to the pools and was a decent distance from the main building. Hotel provides shuttles for those who do not want to walk. Ate dinner in the bar off the lobby. Nice bar, good food but expensive. Alot of construction was being done on a number of buildings but it was not intrusive and I assume work has been completed. Breakfast was included in our room rate. It was served in the main dining room which was lovely and breakfast was excellent. Beautiful setting. Not inexpensive but a quality resort

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sftcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for writing about your recent stay. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your room and dinner at Bacara Bar. We hope to welcome you back soon for better weather.

Kindly,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,294
    399
    238
    178
    133
See reviews for
502
916
47
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The landscape, the ocean view and breeze, the European architecture, the decor and amenities of the spacious suites, the food . . . All combined to make this a place of singular beauty - healing balm for mind, body, heart and soul. Every single staff that served us had the heart of a servant.

Room Tip: Beach views cannot be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmeli2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for writing about your recent stay. I loved reading your comments, especially about our service, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindly,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
70 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The ambiance of this resort is fantastic. All of the views are stunning and the rooms are very spacious and very nice. The staff are always polite and professional. The fitness center/spa facilities are great. We dined at the Bistro and the food was outstanding. Of course they will stick it to you with additional outrageous daily charges such as "Hospitality Service Fee" $25, "Parking" $32, "City Room tax" 12%, "Tourism Marketing Assessment" $2 - what ever the heck that is, and something called "Ca Travel & Tourism" ........... So just be prepared to have your bill padded at least an extra $60 a day.

Other than the annoying little add on fees, the only other warning is that they allow dogs to stay in the rooms. We like dogs, but the dog in the room next door barked for two hours nonstop. We were already unpacked and were comfortable so we just put up with the barking until the owner returned to the room and quieted the dog. When checking in, i would suggest insisting that you be provided a room away from any animals.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from any dogs, (This hotel allow dogs in rooms and the barking may be unpleasant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mr_los_angeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our accommodations, staff, spa facility and dining. Resort fees and parking charges are an industry wide practice at many other destination resorts such as Bacara and we remain competitive with them in regards to this. We hope that despite this, you will return again in the future.

Most Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khamis Mushait, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is the essence of Santa Barbara. Gorgeous views, beaches, restaurants and wonderful rooms. Plus, a non chlorine pool. It is just a wonderful escape from the ordinary. Be sure (weather permitting) to take a meal at the casual restaurant on the patio.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your romantic trip to Bacara. I am so glad that you enjoyed our gorgeous views, accommodations and dining outlets. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindly,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We recently stayed 3D/2Nts at this beach front resort. We love the fact that the resort is only 3 stories tall, and rooms are located inside "villas." So every time we exit our room to go to the pool, beach, restaurants, or spa, we are "not" walking long carpeted hallways or waiting forever for elevators. We were surrounded by oceanview, lush landscaping, and people that were calm and relaxed.

The only disappointment was at check-in. We only had 1 big luggage, so we decided to carry that to our room on our own. It turns out that our villa was the furthest from the lobby and a 3 minute walk. There was one stretch that was down a slope, which made it difficult with a heavy luggage and high heels. It's no big deal, but we were just disappointed that we were not offered a caddy to ride in. Usually at these types of resorts, the staffs go above and beyond to anticipate your needs. That was disappointing.

Other than that, the beach access, the location, the restaurants were all amazing!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with large 1st floor patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for writing about your recent stay. While I was thrilled to read that you love the resort layout, grounds and accommodations, I am sorry that your arrival was not flawless. We do offer bell service to escort you to your room with your luggage and I am sorry that you were not offered that service. We hope that despite that, you will join us again in the future. We hope to see you again soon.

Most Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Bacara is such a beautiful resort that I didn't want to leave. Over the weekend, my friends and I stayed in Bacara for two nights to celebrate a close friend's bachelorette party. My friends and I were very impressed by the service, architecture, and the overall ambiance of this hotel. It was such a great experience from start to finish! From the moment we stepped in the hotel, Jon at the front desk took care of us, and we even got to enjoy a complimentary wine tasting in the lobby. The service was so great that when I walked around the resort, a staff member driving a golf cart would ask if I needed a ride somewhere. Also, when I was lounging by the pool and I was complaining about my eyes turning red due to my contacts, one of the staff members overheard me and asked if I needed eye drops. Overall, Bacara is a great resort, and I would love to go back again. Big thanks to Natalie as well for helping me book my reservations.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genevieve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for writing about your recent stay for your friend’s bachelorette weekend. We are thrilled that you had a wonderful visit and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Kindly,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio City, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary here, and it exceeded our expectations from the moment we arrived, beginning with a generous room upgrade. The resort's many acres are the perfect place to unwind with a stroll (including the nature trail), as are the pools. Easy drives to Santa Barbara, Montecito, and the wineries around Los Olivos, Santa Ynez, and Solvang.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay for your anniversary. I am thrilled to read that we exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Most Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goleta
12.3 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
12.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
13.1 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
12.0 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
15.9 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bacara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacara Resort & Spa

Property: Bacara Resort & Spa
Address: 8301 Hollister Ave, Goleta, CA 93117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goleta
#1 Business Hotel in Goleta
#2 Family Hotel in Goleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bacara Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the bluffs and beaches of the Gaviota coast lies a resort of stunning natural beauty and relaxed luxury. With 78 acres of oceanfront property, including two miles of natural beach, Bacara offers an expansive sun-drenched setting with endless vistas of sea and sky. The resort's innovative and artful design is in keeping with the intimacy and aesthetics of a Mediterranean village. Unwind at an award-winning 42,000-square-foot spa and fitness center or relax beside one of three zero-edge swimming pools and 26 private cabanas. The resort's 358 newly-renovated guestrooms and signature suites artfully infuse luxurious interiors with modern technologies for a true sense of comfort. Additional resort amenities include a new oceanfront restaurant, Angel Oak, four Har-Tru clay tennis courts, a Foley wine tasting room, and the adjacent Sandpiper Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bacara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Bacara Resort
Bacara Spa Resort Santa Barbara
Bacara Resort Santa Barbara Ca
Bacara Santa Barbara
Bacara Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing