We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Bistro Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bacara Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Goleta
Certificate of Excellence
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Bistro Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Great service, I mean truly great service, is not easy to come by, but we experienced it at The Bistro. In fact it was so good I would recommend making the trip just to get Ethan as your server.

My wife and I ate there one night (breakfast time was a different story) recently and our server rattled off the specials as crisply as he could recite the names of his family members. As well, he could describe the nuances of any dish as if he were the chef himself. He had the ability to play at that ultra high level yet be down home comfortable when it was clear to him that such familiarity was okay, even desirable.

In fact it was soooooooo good that I fainted from the experience and made my very first ride in an ambulance (I throw in this tidbit only so the staff knows who is writing). To them thank you for the attentiveness; know that I am alive and quite well and learning to deal with very low blood pressure. I was released before midnight and felt great the next morning, as I do right now. Thank you again for the help.

Room Tip: Some views are better than others. Go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for writing about your recent dinner at The Bistro. More importantly, I am happy to read that you are healthy and doing well. We can’t wait to welcome you back for another visit soon.

Most Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,281
    394
    237
    176
    133
See reviews for
499
914
46
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We booked into the Bacara Resort and Spa for three nights to celebrate my Wife's birthday as well as our 1 year wedding anniversary. Kathleen and her team, Nathalie and Merlyn, made sure that our stay was a memorable one. The grounds were well manicured and beautiful, the pools and beach were amazing, and the staff/housekeeping were awesome! I even had the opportunity to get some pointers from Norman in the weight room where they do daily classes - a great guy!

Goleta is about 15 mins North of Santa Barbara, however there are some great little stores near the University about 5-10 mins away.

All in all, a great trip and we won't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ojosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent trip for your wife’s birthday and anniversary. I am so pleased to read that you had such a wonderful time for both of your special occasions. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Most Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

My girlfriends and I needed a getaway so we opted for a staycation at the fantastic Bacara Resort & Spa! What an incredibly relaxing time we had! We tool full advantage of our time there - using the pool, the spa and running on the beach. It was perfection. I loved my massage therapist, Owen. He made 50 minutes feel like pure heaven! Our room was amazing with views of the pool and ocean. Although we were only there 1 night, we all left feeling like we really had a vacation. As soon as you walk on property, you immediately relax. We loved it!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MarjSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay-cation at Bacara. I loved reading that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Kindly,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

This luxury resort is by far the best choice for stays in Santa Barbara. From the moment you pull up to check in, everyone is happy to see you, and very hospitable.

The Bar, adjacent to the lobby is lively, and the service and menu options are great. Dinner at Bistro restaurant provides a beautiful backdrop for a quiet, lovely evening. Spacious outdoor seating with heaters offers ocean views. The newly decorated interior of Bistro is beautiful and the comfortable inside seating is well thought out.

Try the delicious dinner buffet, with an abundance of fresh, beautifully displayed seafood and accompaniments. For Breakfast, the buffet, again at Bistro is busy, but quickly replenished, and offers many options such as delicous waffles and omelettes any way you can imagine. An abundance of fruit for your enjoyment is also avaialable on the buffet. If you are not a buffet lover, then try the Eggs Benedict, featuring home made Hollandaise - simply delicious.

The guestrooms are spacious and well appointed, with wood beamed ceiling details. The balconies/patios are also furnished with cozy seating, perfect to relax and enjoy a bottle of wine. Luxurious Frette linens and plush towels are a very nice touch. Large in room tub and seperate shower are a nice touch. Ample counter space and plenty of great lighting. The Iphone docking station is also very nice detail! There are alot of beautiful, considerate details to this hotel - too numerous to mention!

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious and well lit. If you like quiet, the garden view rooms are perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDKlein43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for writing such a descriptive account of your recent stay. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed our service, dining and accommodations. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Most Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

My husband and I really wanted a nice resort break / baby moon trip alone without our other two children before our third was born. We decided on the Bacara because it was nicest most affordable option in the area. I'm about 7.5 months pregnant and was looking forward to relaxing in a nice room and by the pool a lot. Our room sadly was basically in a basement and smelled very musty and maybe even moldy? It was one of the garden level rooms and it was very dark as well. I was pretty upset as we rarely get away and to spend all the time and money we did and end up In a corner basement room was depressing. We asked for a room change or upgrade and were told there were no other rooms but offered a voucher for dinner at Miro (which we turned down as we had dinner reservations elsewhere in town). Also there were always leaves around our door and then a random crib was hanging out in the hallway for more than a day with a mattress and everything - wasn't exactly what we wanted to see every time we came and left our room.

The pools were very nice, the smell of the naturally occurring tar can be a bit overwhelming but didn't bother me the way another smell did - sitting by the pool it smelled almost like they had a continuous mist of bug spray going... I'm chemically sensitive and being pregnant am overly aware of these things so this was another disappointment / it did smell like it was the natural version of insect repellent but I was hoping to smell fresh ocean air.

The positives: the service was great at all the pool, the spa and spa dining and the bistro restaurant. Food was excellent too! The wine and cheese hour was a nice touch and the fitness center was great as well.

I was hoping to fall in love with the place but don't think i would ever want to return because of the room we had. If I knew someone who had to come for a wedding or convention I would suggest they request a non-garden room or at least one that could get some sun.


  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MAB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay for your baby moon. While I was pleased to read your positive comments about our pools, spa, dining, cuisine and service, I was truly disappointed that you were not pleased with your guest room location. To that end, I have contacted you privately to right any wrong. I hope to connect with you soon.

Kindly,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

This resort is truly amazing and one-of-a kind! We loved our room, the grounds, pool and restaurants. You feel like royalty here! Celebrated our 15th anniversary here and it was perfection! Want to come back every year! If you want to get away from it all and relax, relax, relax...this is the place for you!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for writing about your recent stay for your 15th anniversary. Congratulations. We are so pleased that you had an A+ stay and we can’t wait to welcome you back to relax soon!

Most Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

A Beautiful resort. The food at the Bistro was Fantastic and all the staff were extremely friendly. Our room was beautiful and perfectly maintained.I will stay here again and will definately recommend the resort to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for writing about your recent stay at Bacara. I loved reading that you enjoyed our food at The Bistro, friendly service and beautiful grounds. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindly,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goleta
12.3 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
12.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
13.1 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
12.0 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
15.9 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#18 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bacara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacara Resort & Spa

Property: Bacara Resort & Spa
Address: 8301 Hollister Ave, Goleta, CA 93117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goleta
#1 Business Hotel in Goleta
#2 Family Hotel in Goleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bacara Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the bluffs and beaches of the Gaviota coast lies a resort of stunning natural beauty and relaxed luxury. With 78 acres of oceanfront property, including two miles of natural beach, Bacara offers an expansive sun-drenched setting with endless vistas of sea and sky. The resort's innovative and artful design is in keeping with the intimacy and aesthetics of a Mediterranean village. Unwind at an award-winning 42,000-square-foot spa and fitness center or relax beside one of three zero-edge swimming pools and 26 private cabanas. The resort's 358 newly-renovated guestrooms and signature suites artfully infuse luxurious interiors with modern technologies for a true sense of comfort. Additional resort amenities include a new oceanfront restaurant, Angel Oak, four Har-Tru clay tennis courts, a Foley wine tasting room, and the adjacent Sandpiper Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bacara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Bacara Resort
Bacara Spa Resort Santa Barbara
Bacara Resort Santa Barbara Ca
Bacara Santa Barbara
Bacara Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing