We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful place with so-so food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bacara Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bacara Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Goleta
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level Contributor
375 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Beautiful place with so-so food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

This resort is right on a beautiful stretch of wild California coast with nothing else around it. The hotel itself is low-rise and divided into a number of buildings that are scattered around the bluff overlooking the Pacific. Our room was well-designed, well-appointed, light and spacious (ask for a corner room on an upper floor). It had a private covered porch with a nice view. While there are hundreds of guests there, you never see but a few except at the pool, because they are spread out over a large area. Fresh apples in the lobby, free WiFi in the rooms, excellent service all around make it a pleasure to be there.

The food, however, is surprisingly sub-par. We ate at the Miró, their high-end restaurant, and with the exception of a seafood appetizer, it was not very good at all. The box lunches were bad, the banquet food was poor, although the breakfasts were good (I just had oatmeal with fruit). And, they're not giving it away.

Room Tip: Get a corner room on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaTraveler7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Bacara. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed our breathtaking location, luxurious guestrooms and excellent service. I was so disappointed to your comments about or food. Guest dining is an area at which Bacara has always excelled. Both our menus and our service have won us rave reviews locally and even nationally. I truly believe your experience was the rare exception, and I hope you will give us another try.

Kindly,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,241
    380
    226
    174
    131
See reviews for
484
891
43
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (609)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time. The spa was fantastic, love being on the ocean and just close enough to Santa Barbara. The restaurants we very good and the staff was very accommodating. The only concern was watch getting tar on your feet when walking on the beach however they provide tar remover in the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billpia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about Bacara. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed the Spa, Restaurants and most importantly the service from our staff. We hope to welcome you back to Bacara soon.

Kindly,
Kathleen Cochran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Best resort for the money in Santa Barbara. Higlights are great pool overlooking the ocean with plenty of lounge areas. Private cabanas equipped with a TV and minibar/fridge are available for privacy or families. Excellent service throughout from wait staff at pool to multiple restaurants. Rooms area spacious but are highly varied based on where you are on the property. Arrive early to scope out a good room. Beach and tennis courts are superb. There's even a beach house that was not open (too early in season) but would be terrific in Summer. Great spa with the best fitness room you've ever seen in a resort/hotel. More machines than ever and a true weight room! Have fun!

Room Tip: Arrive early to scope out a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clanhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
I was so pleased you thoroughly enjoyed your experience at our Pool & Cabana area. We hope to welcome you back soon so that you can experience all the amenities that we offer through our Beach House, which is open during the Summer.

Kindly,
Kathleen Cochran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I had a good time at Bacara. 3 nights stay. The good... Beautiful grounds, excellent desk and valet staff, ocean view, clean rooms. The just ok... Lots of big events in public spaces. i was told i would have to walk WAAY around the property to get to my room which was a quick step through the patio because of an event by someone not affiliated with the hotel. Better direction or accommodation would be best. No one from the hotel was directing guests or offering assistance. Construction was well managed and not a big deal (progress). wait staff was decent. Prices were steep for F&B and rooms. It's far from Sb and cabs take 15-30 minutes to arrive. A cab ride is $40-50. For 5 star resort a better way to transport guests would be a nice touch. Not many services at all near by. The bad... Our room was on the road side and our bedroom window was apparently made of tissue. i inspected it thoroughly to be closed but it sounded completely open as road noise, birds, peoples voices sounded as if they were right in the room (too noisy to sleep well). All in all it was a good/average stay hence the 3 stars. I have had a more lux stay at simpler properties. it is also a big property and the hands on service gets a little watered down. i will say, the valet staff were the most outstanding and professional. All other staff were good and competent. Would not be my first choice as a stand alone guest. looks more suited for large groups/conventions.

Room Tip: Not building 15 on the road side. Too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tomjet3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed our lush landscaping, excellent service and ocean views. You are correct in your observation that ours is a secluded resort. For many of our guests, this is what makes Bacara so appealing. I was also very disappointed to see that you experienced excessive noise in your guestroom. Although we rarely get this complaint, I know how undermining it can be to the overall guest experience. Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review about your recent stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindly,
Kathleen Cochran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on a Friday afternoon, staying for 2 nights. Based on other reviews, we requested a room away from the construction, and were explicitly told not too worry as there was no work on weekends. At 8am on Saturday morning, the construction started - why not just tell us the truth in the first place? The other issue is paying $30 a day for valet parking, when guests could easily park themselves. The Bacara is a beautiful resort, but for the price I was expecting a different experience.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LuckyBlue__7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a careful accounting of your recent stay. I am extremely grateful you have shared your concerns with us. I have sent you a private message in order to be in touch and try to right a wrong. I hope to speak with you soon.

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We have been to Bacara many times. We have brought may family members to stay at Baraca, too. It's a first class, luxury resort with the best spa in California by far. The staff, from management to every level of employees, is top notch. We are always greeted by valet attendants, who remembered us after our first trip there! Love the choices of pools, the cabanas, the food, the pool bar, the outdoor fireplaces and the stunningly beautiful, natural beach. We've recommended this place to many friends as well. Cannot write enough great things about Bacara. And it's only about 2 hours from LA. One other reviewer said it's "a little bit of Heaven." Couldn't agree more.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BethinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Beth,

As a valued repeat guest, we appreciate your wonderful comments about Bacara. As someone who has experienced the resort many times, it gives a great account of the wonderful service and amenities that you continue to enjoy. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindly,

Kathleen Cochran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

For quiet time and some of the most beautiful views in the world, Bacara is a treasure. The service was excellent. The staff was extremely friendly. The spa is gorgeous and very clean. The rooms are beautiful and very cozy & comfortable. There are hikes all around the property and plenty of activities to participate in if you'd like. Bacara is a lovely property. I will absolutely return to this little corner of heaven on earth.

Room Tip: if possible, try to reserve an ocean view. Well worth the $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you Tracy G, we can’t wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goleta
12.1 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
12.5 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
12.2 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#7 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pacifica Suites Santa Barbara
13.0 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#14 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bacara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacara Resort & Spa

Property: Bacara Resort & Spa
Address: 8301 Hollister Ave, Goleta, CA 93117-2474
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goleta
#1 Business Hotel in Goleta
#2 Family Hotel in Goleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bacara Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BAlong the bluffs and beaches of the Gaviota coast lies a resort of stunning natural beauty and relaxed luxury. With 78 acres of oceanfront property, including two miles of natural beach, Bacara offers an expansive sun-drenched setting with endless vistas of sea and sky. The resort's innovative and artful design is in keeping with the intimacy and aesthetics of a Mediterranean village. Unwind at an award-winning 42,000-square-foot spa and fitness center or relax beside one of three zero-edge swimming pools and 26 private cabanas. The resort's 358 newly-renovated guestrooms and signature suites artfully infuse luxurious interiors with modern technologies for a true sense of comfort. Additional resort amenities include a new oceanfront restaurant, Angel Oak, four Har-Tru clay tennis courts, a Foley wine tasting room, and the adjacent Sandpiper Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Bacara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Bacara Resort
Bacara Spa Resort Santa Barbara
Bacara Resort Santa Barbara Ca
Bacara Santa Barbara
Bacara Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing