We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful space with some limits”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bacara Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Goleta
Certificate of Excellence
phoenix
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful space with some limits”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I had a good time at Bacara. 3 nights stay. The good... Beautiful grounds, excellent desk and valet staff, ocean view, clean rooms. The just ok... Lots of big events in public spaces. i was told i would have to walk WAAY around the property to get to my room which was a quick step through the patio because of an event by someone not affiliated with the hotel. Better direction or accommodation would be best. No one from the hotel was directing guests or offering assistance. Construction was well managed and not a big deal (progress). wait staff was decent. Prices were steep for F&B and rooms. It's far from Sb and cabs take 15-30 minutes to arrive. A cab ride is $40-50. For 5 star resort a better way to transport guests would be a nice touch. Not many services at all near by. The bad... Our room was on the road side and our bedroom window was apparently made of tissue. i inspected it thoroughly to be closed but it sounded completely open as road noise, birds, peoples voices sounded as if they were right in the room (too noisy to sleep well). All in all it was a good/average stay hence the 3 stars. I have had a more lux stay at simpler properties. it is also a big property and the hands on service gets a little watered down. i will say, the valet staff were the most outstanding and professional. All other staff were good and competent. Would not be my first choice as a stand alone guest. looks more suited for large groups/conventions.

Room Tip: Not building 15 on the road side. Too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tomjet3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed our lush landscaping, excellent service and ocean views. You are correct in your observation that ours is a secluded resort. For many of our guests, this is what makes Bacara so appealing. I was also very disappointed to see that you experienced excessive noise in your guestroom. Although we rarely get this complaint, I know how undermining it can be to the overall guest experience. Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review about your recent stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindly,
Kathleen Cochran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,319
    405
    243
    179
    135
See reviews for
513
932
47
266
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (643)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on a Friday afternoon, staying for 2 nights. Based on other reviews, we requested a room away from the construction, and were explicitly told not too worry as there was no work on weekends. At 8am on Saturday morning, the construction started - why not just tell us the truth in the first place? The other issue is paying $30 a day for valet parking, when guests could easily park themselves. The Bacara is a beautiful resort, but for the price I was expecting a different experience.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LuckyBlue__7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a careful accounting of your recent stay. I am extremely grateful you have shared your concerns with us. I have sent you a private message in order to be in touch and try to right a wrong. I hope to speak with you soon.

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We have been to Bacara many times. We have brought may family members to stay at Baraca, too. It's a first class, luxury resort with the best spa in California by far. The staff, from management to every level of employees, is top notch. We are always greeted by valet attendants, who remembered us after our first trip there! Love the choices of pools, the cabanas, the food, the pool bar, the outdoor fireplaces and the stunningly beautiful, natural beach. We've recommended this place to many friends as well. Cannot write enough great things about Bacara. And it's only about 2 hours from LA. One other reviewer said it's "a little bit of Heaven." Couldn't agree more.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BethinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Beth,

As a valued repeat guest, we appreciate your wonderful comments about Bacara. As someone who has experienced the resort many times, it gives a great account of the wonderful service and amenities that you continue to enjoy. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindly,

Kathleen Cochran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

For quiet time and some of the most beautiful views in the world, Bacara is a treasure. The service was excellent. The staff was extremely friendly. The spa is gorgeous and very clean. The rooms are beautiful and very cozy & comfortable. There are hikes all around the property and plenty of activities to participate in if you'd like. Bacara is a lovely property. I will absolutely return to this little corner of heaven on earth.

Room Tip: if possible, try to reserve an ocean view. Well worth the $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you Tracy G, we can’t wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Built on the sight of an old indian burial ground, ironically, the Bacara possesses no soul. My wife and I recently spent a weekend at this Santa Barbara hotel for our niece's wedding. From the lackluster greeting from the valet ( I said hello first) to our room not being ready at 4 (check in was at 4...check out at 12...how long does it take to clean a room) our introduction to this hotel was underwhelming at best. You may want to stop reading after the next sentence. As we were walking out of the lobby on our way to kill time waiting for our room, a rat scurried out of the lobby. Clearly it's room wasn't ready either. My wife and I (she saw the rat as well) decided to pretend nothing happened and joined some of the wedding party at Miro, one of the hotel's restaurants. The food was fine and flavorful. However the restaurant itself had the ambiance of an airport lounge. The room itself was virtually empty and although there were 14 of us in our party there was only one waitress assigned to our table. Seriously? She did the best she could but what a stupid way to run a restaurant. It took two hours for all of us to order, be served and finally pay. The good news is by then our rooms were finally ready. The bad news was the wedding dinner was in 45 minutes. Now for the rooms. The exterior of the hotel is very pretty. Like a Disney version of the Santa Barbara Biltmore which is the real deal. However, behind the Disneyesque facade is basically a Holiday Inn. No offense to Holiday Inns, it's just not what you expect for an expensive (parking is $30 a night) place. The rooms are perfectly fine (see photos). Unfortunately there is virtually no sound proofing so that we could even hear the neighbor as they slid hangars in their closet! Every time a hallway door slammed our room actually vibrated. The air-conditioning never worked properly although there are ceiling fans. There were no slippers. We left a note for housekeeping requesting them but it was ignored. Part of the problem seemed to be that while well intentioned, the majority of the house staff doesn't fully understand English. Having stayed at the Bacara's Santa Barbara competition (The Biltmore and The San Ysidro Ranch) I'm sorry to report that in this case, the Indian's have the last laugh.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank unloved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
There is no excuse for the series of problems you encountered during your stay. As you can see form previous TripAdvisor reviews, the vast majority of our guests truly love spending time here. To that end, I have sent you a private email so that we can resolve this matter directly with you.

The “Indians,” as you refer to them in your review, are actually the Coastal Band of the Chumash Nation. We take great pride in being stewards of their land and work closely with them.

Kindly,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

First trip to California and had a wonderful time at the Bacara. Upon arrival, there was water and tea in the lobby, which is a dream to relax in as well. The resort is quite spread out, so we needed a cart to take us to our room. There are a bunch of buildings (villa style) spread out over the resort, with winding paths. My mother came with us and she has arthritis, so this may not be the best location for people with mobility issues if they don't like waiting for a cart to come pick them up. (But they do come and get you and are just as nice as can be.) The pool had a wonderful view, and you can walk down to the beach. The pools did not have a lifeguard, so be aware that you need to watch your children carefully. But they did have a guy come from the local zoo with a different bird every day (hawk, owl, etc.) and my son just loved seeing the animals up close. There are also ping pong tables above the pool area, and beach activities for the more sporty-folks. Warning about the beach: the water is cold and naturally occurring tar can get all over your feet. They provide wipes to get it off. I used the spa and the service was fabulous. Very relaxing atmosphere too. We would absolutely come back here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KatieinBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your thoughtful comments Katie! I was so pleased to read that your first trip to California was spent relaxing at Bacara. We look forward to welcoming you back for many more visits to come.

Kindly,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

The staff do everything in their power to make your stay enjoyable, just ask. Fantastic setting and location. The rooms were a little small, it's a little pricy but we thought it worth it for the serenity of the resort. PS: they are currently renovating. Due to finish in May so choose your room carefully

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ERPGenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Bacara. I was so proud to read your kind comments about our staff. I was also pleased that you found the setting and location fantastic. You are indeed correct, our final phase of enhancements will be complete by the end of May, and we hope to welcome you back for another stay after this is complete.

Kindly,
Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goleta
12.3 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
999 reviews
12.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,033 reviews
12.6 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,289 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,374 reviews
15.9 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bacara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacara Resort & Spa

Property: Bacara Resort & Spa
Address: 8301 Hollister Ave, Goleta, CA 93117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Goleta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goleta
#2 Family Hotel in Goleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bacara Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the bluffs and beaches of the Gaviota coast lies a resort of stunning natural beauty and relaxed luxury. With 78 acres of oceanfront property, including two miles of natural beach, Bacara offers an expansive sun-drenched setting with endless vistas of sea and sky. The resort's innovative and artful design is in keeping with the intimacy and aesthetics of a Mediterranean village. Unwind at an award-winning 42,000-square-foot spa and fitness center or relax beside one of three zero-edge swimming pools and 26 private cabanas. The resort's 358 newly-renovated guestrooms and signature suites artfully infuse luxurious interiors with modern technologies for a true sense of comfort. Additional resort amenities include a new oceanfront restaurant, Angel Oak, four Har-Tru clay tennis courts, a Foley wine tasting room, and the adjacent Sandpiper Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bacara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Bacara Resort
Bacara Spa Resort Santa Barbara
Bacara Resort Santa Barbara Ca
Bacara Santa Barbara
Bacara Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing