We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Should have read Tripadvisor” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bacara Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bacara Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Goleta
Certificate of Excellence
Malibu, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Should have read Tripadvisor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Our stay at Bacara was noisy, waited for most everything, terrible restaurant service at their only restaurant and bland food. Seems this wasn't just bad timing or bad luck like I thought after leaving Bacara until I read the numerous bad reviews about Bacara on this Tripadvisor. This seems to be shared by many and I only wish I had done my reading before our trip to Bacara. I felt compelled to write this review, which is something I never do, because of the deceiving manner in which management handled our whole stay. A comp stay back just doesn't cut my time wasted. I rarely visit Santa Barbara and I know I will never be back to Bacara. If you are planning to stay here, strong advise is to read all the reviews in this Tripadvisor. I plan to make sure my family and friends do the same. I know those in our group also wish the same.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I have sent you a private message and hope you respond so I might be in touch with you to try to right a wrong. On Trip Advisor, you will find that 98% of our reviewers truly love spending time here. I know we are very capable of meeting the public's highest standards. I am just sorry you did not have that same experience.
Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,272
    391
    235
    174
    132
See reviews for
493
912
46
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We went to Bacara Resort for a
girls spa and vineyard weekend.
Each morning, I couldn't quit talking about how the Pacific Ocean, Bacara and the spa were so beautiful!
Shana, in the spa treated us like VIPs!
She was so thoughtful she even had champagne on ice for us before we had our services. The arnica massage I received was so relaxing I feel asleep.
My experience at the Bacara Spa was the finest! I want to go back again soon.
Thank you,
May

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alpinemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments and words of praise for our manager Shana. She does really exemplify the kind of guest service we are proud to provide.

We hope you will return often.

Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

A must see to believe. Bacara was absolutely beautiful. A perfect get-away paradise, may it be with your spouse or your family. My husband and I went there for a quick weekend. We did not want to leave. The rooms are amazing as are the grounds. Yes, there are areas that are under construction, but it did not effect our experience at all. Just peaks my curiosity of the final product to come. Our experience with the staff was great. We ordered room service the first night we were there and I thought their salmon salad that we ordred was great. Since this was a short trip for us, I know we will be back....LG from San Diego.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thanks so much for your kind review. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope you will return again soon.

Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell Beach
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Attention to detail in every respect.. Starting with the warm reception from the valet service staff to the wait staff poolside. in my 30 years of Global travel I've never experienced a finer staff and wonderful experience then at Bacara..

Start with a workout in the enormous SPA facility, walk on the beach and follow it in one of the pools.. Must haves during your visit... Bloody Mary's and Fish Tacos.. The resort is secluded away from the hustle of major metropolitan yet within a quick drive in between LA and SF. Add this location to your next need for "Me or Us time".

Regards

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoastalCouple_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank so much for your kind words about your experience at Bacara.

We hope you will come visit us again soon.

Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I will start with the obvious - the rooms are gorgeous. They are spacious, well appointed, with a large outdoor terrace and a fireplace. The bed is super comfortable. I was just tempted to stay in our room the whole time. However, once you venture outside, things change. Many buildings are under construction and this completely ruins the atmosphere. Right off the ocean shore and facing the hotel is a big oil rig (or at least something that looks like an oil rig). And, the clincher, the hotel is sitting next to some creepy looking plant. I wasn't sure whether it was a sewage plant, a chemical plant... Also, from what I understand this a popular venue for large events such as weddings. During our stay they had a big wedding that started nice enough with crowds of well dressed people wondering the paths of the resort. However, it ended at 2am with drunken shouts outside of our room. That was not good at all. So to conclude, the room is great but is it great enough to disregard what's going on outside? I am not sure. Hence 3 stars.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katerina_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry to read that our enhancement project affected your stay in any way. However, I am happy to read that you enjoyed many aspects of the resort. All up and down the coast of Southern California you will find oil rigs as our region is so rich in the natural resource. Again, I am sorry if you were unfamiliar with this and that you found this unappealing.
We hope you will consider giving us another try.

Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband had made our 15 year anniversary. I was very excited that he had taken the ignitionative. I know that it made him feel good. We got to the room and I was a little upset that on our 15 year anniversary we were it in a room surrounded by construction remodeling. Every view was construction!! Also, our "romantic patio" was on the main path to the main pool area. I didn't say a thing, so not to ruin our special weekend. Okay, I held my tongue because I didn't want to set a bad mood for our special weekend and make him feel bad. The night we got there, there were only a couple options for dinner. We decided to go to the hotel bar as one on the two options that was given to us. There was a wedding on site that night and the other main restaurant was closed for remodeling. We sat in the bar for 20 minutes before we were approached by a waiter. In fact we had to flag her down after giving up on someone coming to us. She was very nice and apologized. We waited 40 minutes for our order. In 40 minutes the waitress gave us some sushi that we didn't order because the sushi pizza we ordered was given to the wrong table. We received our order 20 minutes later.
At our room, surrounded by construction, my husband went to the ice machine in our building for ice. The ice machine wasn't working. He was aproached by a resort employee and was told he could get him ice. We waited 20 minutes, no ice. My husband went to find ice somewhere else and was stopped by another employee, who told him he would get him ice....nope. 30 minutes later I called roomservice who told me there was a building a few minutes away from me that I could get ice, since my building's ice machine wasn't working. My husband and I had just gotten out of the shower so I asked if ice could be brought to the room. I'm a very tolerant person because I have a lot a experience in the service industry. Yes, that may also frustrate me because I do see the problems service and the lack ther of...
The second day started off nice. I went to the spa. I can't respond on the services there because I served myself to the amenities. I didn't need anymore disappointments. I loved the amenities. My husband and I went to the pool where we had the same problems with service. Same problem with the ping pong table area. No amenities and hard to find service or help. We went to the main restaurant that night. We sat at the bar waiting for service. The manager completely ignored us. I felt as though the management staff was very intimidated by the guest. As though they knew they were not aquipt to handle the demands of the guest It was very odd. There was no eye contact at all by any of the staff or management. I was completely dumbfounded Not okay, for a resort of this stature.
Unfortunately, this turned out to not be the anniversary we were hoping for. It was a very big disappoint. It was more of a disappointment for my husband because of all the many problems we had cause me to express all the thoughts I had with our stay. This ruined our 15th anniversary.

Although, the grounds were gorgeous, I will tell everyone I know not to waste the money on this resort. There are many more resorts that are more worthy. Many, many more!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pooshu1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for your valuable feedback. And, I am so very sorry you experienced any service issues. I have been in contact with your husband and very much appreciate the openness you both have to giving us another chance. Thanks to all the details you both provided, I will be able to follow up on every one of them with my staff and their supervisors.
I look forward to meeting you personally upon your return.

Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Planned a getaway for fun and had planned in advance. I chose this hotel because it is on the Amex Fine Hotels list. What I did not know was that they are under construction on many buildings and one restaurant was closed due to this rennovation. I was dissapointed that I did not get an upgrade, got a room that was very dark and a handicap bathroom with zero counter space. I had planned this trip in advance with my daughter and did not want a King bed as we are both adults, so no upgrade. I am used to getting substantial upgrades at the Ritz and once at the Kea Lani Maui. With a conference and a wedding going on, I felt as if we fell to the bottom of the list. I will say that the room was clean and quiet.

I really was torn with staying in Goleta or in Santa Barbara proper. On the pro side, it is a quiet resort in a beautiful setting; on the con a cab ride to Santa Barbara can be very pricey. The staff was overall very nice and the pool area is beautiful. Nice spa as well. There is direct beach access from the property, no highway between as is mostly the case in Santa Barbara.

The main restaurant, Miro, had a breakfast buffet that was okay, lots of choices but some of the dishes were just bland. The view from this restaurant is beautiful and the staff is very accommodating.

At the end of the day, I wish I would have chosen the Four Seasons but they were booked as well so you never know. I will remember to ask about construction from now on and not settle for a limited bathroom.

Room Tip: Request ocean view and top floor. They do have shuttles to help you to your room if you need as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TShort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
I am sorry to read about your disappointment with your room. We do make it a priority to try to upgrade your preferred travelers though American Express. Although sometimes due to business levels we are simply unable to do so. I have sent you a private message to contact me personally for your next visit so I can ensure you are taken care of.

Thanks for the feedback and we hope you will return soon.

Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goleta
12.4 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
12.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
12.7 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
12.1 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
16.0 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#15 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bacara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacara Resort & Spa

Property: Bacara Resort & Spa
Address: 8301 Hollister Ave, Goleta, CA 93117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Goleta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goleta
#2 Family Hotel in Goleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bacara Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the bluffs and beaches of the Gaviota coast lies a resort of stunning natural beauty and relaxed luxury. With 78 acres of oceanfront property, including two miles of natural beach, Bacara offers an expansive sun-drenched setting with endless vistas of sea and sky. The resort's innovative and artful design is in keeping with the intimacy and aesthetics of a Mediterranean village. Unwind at an award-winning 42,000-square-foot spa and fitness center or relax beside one of three zero-edge swimming pools and 26 private cabanas. The resort's 358 newly-renovated guestrooms and signature suites artfully infuse luxurious interiors with modern technologies for a true sense of comfort. Additional resort amenities include a new oceanfront restaurant, Angel Oak, four Har-Tru clay tennis courts, a Foley wine tasting room, and the adjacent Sandpiper Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Bacara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Bacara Resort
Bacara Spa Resort Santa Barbara
Bacara Resort Santa Barbara Ca
Bacara Santa Barbara
Bacara Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing