We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place to re-charge and feel pampered”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bacara Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Goleta
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A place to re-charge and feel pampered”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Ahh, finally had a chance to stay at this wonderful place. Excellent visit that re-charged my batteries!! Plenty of options for relaxing - room, patio/balcony, pools, spa, beach (low-tide walk), fireplace, etc. Every interaction with staff was positive - they were there when we needed help, but otherwise very professional and unobtrusive. The room was quiet and included wonderful amenities: robes, slippers, candles, good smelling products, ipod docking station, tv (including cable guide and LOTS of free movie choices), wifi, relaxing/deep tub, etc. Other reviews mention dated rooms, but ours must have been a new one. Never heard any neighbors, stayed on the 3rd floor. Wide variety of fresh, healthy dining options. Room service was fast. Lunch at the Spa Cafe was delicious. Lots of fitness options - big gym with cardio machines & weights. Plus, pilates classes. Outdoor cardio/sculpting class with Barbara was tough and fun! Would have loved to get a spa treatment, but too pricey. Very quick and easy to get to downtown Santa Barbara (15-20 min drive), but just wanted to stay relaxing at the resort!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfile472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,292
    398
    238
    178
    133
See reviews for
502
915
47
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los Angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

The Spanish style resort comprises of a moltitude of houses and buildings immersed in an exotic/Mediterranean vegetation on the bluffs of Goleta, a town a few miles north of Santa Barbara.
The whole resort, despite having families with kids, is very quiet and peaceful. The staff is extremely kind and happy to make your stay special (Francisco by the pool is a real expert) and the location is very convenient: 15 minutes from downtown Santa barbara and right on the ocean.
I've gone to Cabo once to seek similar type of getaway and I have to say, if you are lucky with the weather, this isn't any less than Mexico. Also, we got a beautiful warm sun in November which is a privilege.
Strenghts: pool area, nature, staff, balcony/terrace in every room.
weaknesses: you want my money and I get it. can't charge $30 valet parking a day and not give me the choice to self parking.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GiovanniDaVerrazzano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Stayed there 4 times and always a grand relaxing time. Spa facilities are the best, treating all your needs. The grounds are well manicured and rooms are superb. All buildings are currently being updated. The valet staff seems to have gone done a bit, not being as organized and speedy as previously. Having a drink, appetizers in the bar is always nice. Have eaten at all the restaurants on the property, but seem to enjoy the meals better in town, but of course you have to drive, which is about 15 miles.

Room Tip: Don't forget late check out/early check in and upgrade. Use AMX for special inclusions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbe570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

This was our fourth visit to this property. We've never been during the summer high season. Food was incredible. Staff was more than helpful. The room and patio were perfect. Spa treatments were spectacular. Only complaint was that the sun didn't come out much, but that's typical Central Coast weather. This property is on the Pacific Ocean, but it's not beachfront. This is because the California Coastal Commission made them create a preservation area before they could build the hotel. Also it's not in Santa Barbara. This is a place to park you car and not leave until you check out.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herbal52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I took my hubby here for a night for his birthday. We only had one night to stay but wished we couldve stayed longer to enjoy. We had an amazing couples massage. Dinner at Miro was incredible.
Cannnot wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KT2469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sorel-tracy
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Went to the Bacara resort just outside Santa Barara for a night. If you want to indulge yourself with luxury, that's the place to stay. The staff is well mannered. Valet parking, a ride to your room which is luxurious, cosy and warm. Plenty of stuff to do, places to eat and drink. This place is a destination to itself.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophieSorel_tracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed there for two nights. Nice architecture, food was good. The rooms are dated. Wicker furniture with broken branches, no wi-fi, tube TV, faded shutters. No signs througout the proerty espcially if you are attending events and at night when you can't see anything. My wife had a 80 minute massage and with tax and tip included it ws $302. I wouldn't recommend this hotel. We were there with 13 other couples. No one had anything nice to say about their rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodled room. We did but we still didn't get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bizskitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goleta
12.3 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
12.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
13.1 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
12.0 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
15.9 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bacara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacara Resort & Spa

Property: Bacara Resort & Spa
Address: 8301 Hollister Ave, Goleta, CA 93117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goleta
#1 Business Hotel in Goleta
#2 Family Hotel in Goleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bacara Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the bluffs and beaches of the Gaviota coast lies a resort of stunning natural beauty and relaxed luxury. With 78 acres of oceanfront property, including two miles of natural beach, Bacara offers an expansive sun-drenched setting with endless vistas of sea and sky. The resort's innovative and artful design is in keeping with the intimacy and aesthetics of a Mediterranean village. Unwind at an award-winning 42,000-square-foot spa and fitness center or relax beside one of three zero-edge swimming pools and 26 private cabanas. The resort's 358 newly-renovated guestrooms and signature suites artfully infuse luxurious interiors with modern technologies for a true sense of comfort. Additional resort amenities include a new oceanfront restaurant, Angel Oak, four Har-Tru clay tennis courts, a Foley wine tasting room, and the adjacent Sandpiper Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bacara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Bacara Resort
Bacara Spa Resort Santa Barbara
Bacara Resort Santa Barbara Ca
Bacara Santa Barbara
Bacara Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing