We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remote, but lovely resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bacara Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Goleta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2011

This is a beautiful properry with an attentive staff and lovely rooms. The food at the resort is fantastic

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,320)
There are newer reviews for Bacara Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,906 - 1,912 of 2,320 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

Incredibly gorgeous grounds, bedding is the best allowing the best night's sleep, hotel staff is accomodating, pool f&b staff could be better yet the place is so great it's hard to complain. The spa is by far one of the best along the Pacific - and the numerous pools allows you the flexibility to escape the kids! Bring a book and be ready to just chill and reclaim your sense of well being - Bacara is a fantastic spot for romance, business meetings, and time alone!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tstangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahs01, Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2011

Thank you for your recent stay at Bacara and thank you for the wonderful comments.

We hope you return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We used the American Express Platinum travel rewards club to book our room at Bacara. At check in, the receptionist upgraded us to a suite. The staff are very friendly and professional. The property is fantastic. We were also able to take advantage of some dining vouchers we received by booking through American Express Platinum. We had breakfast at the Bistro just about everyday and the food and service were really good. Dinner at the Bistro was also amazing, although quite expensive. The evening strolls along the beach and some other trails on the property are highly recommended. The beach is not what you would expect. The surrounding area is basically a nature preserve, so the beach does not lend itself to sunbathing on lounge chairs with drink service. You will need to lounge poolside if that's your pleasure. As a matter of fact, there are no beach chairs/loungers anywhere to be found (on the beach). You will see lots of birds, sea lions and drift wood....loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Miami_FlaWaterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahs01, Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2011

Thank you for your recent stay at Bacara. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay!

We hope you return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Went here with my sister and mom for a girls' weekend - loved it! The grounds are beautiful and the pools were relaxing and not too crowded. Great workout room and spa. Delicious food. Only complaint was that there's nothing really within walking distance from resort. Downtown Santa Barbara is a good 15 minute drive. But would go back in a second!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmk2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahs01, Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2011

Thank you for your recent stay at Bacara.

We hope you stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

The Bacara is a beautiful resort with a fantastic property and wonderful amenities. There are 3 Pools(saline pools), one of which is adult only. A decent spa is available with steam room, sauna, whirlpool all free to use for guests. Additional spa services are available.

The rooms were nice. I know some folks say they had dated rooms, ours was not. We had a large flat screen TV and delightful partial ocean view room with a private terrace. The rooms may feel a bit dated, but part of that plays to the Santa Barbara feel they are aiming for. Bed was great, slept like a baby (except when the kids next door got loud). Bathrooms are in need of some repair. Leaky shower head, water damage on tiles, etc. Nothing outrageous, but not what you expect from 5 star.

Maid service was shoddy. They wouldn't come until 2-3pm in the afternoon, then return around 4 for the turn-down service. Seems strange to tidy the room twice in a couple of hours. They didn't even do the greatest job. Every night they had left dirty wine glasses from the previous night still in the room. By the time we left we had a nice collection in the room.

Free Wi-Fi is avaiable on the resort. Parking is $24/night.

Food at the resort restaurants was just ok. Food is expensive as one would expect for a 5 star resort, however the quality didn't reflect it. We did the surf and turf buffet which was ok, but at $65/head it wasnt worth it.

We drove to Santa Barbara for most of our meals. Granted, we did not eat at Miro, the "fine dining" option on the resort. So, I cannot comment.

The beach is useless. It's a public beach and is not maintained by the county. Rotting sea debris lines the beach and this attracts sand fleas. You wouldn't want to spend a day on the beach.

The biggest downside to this resort was the amount of children. We had selected this resort because of its exclusivity and the fact it targets a certain type of clientele and celebrities have been known to stay there. But, the amount of children everywhere made it feel like we were at a Disney resort and really sucked the relaxation out of the resort. The two biggest pools are surrounded by the Bistro cafe, a gorgeous view of the ocean and private cabana's. This is also the kids pool, which I dont understand. There were far too many kids running around and it made it difficult to enjoy and relax. The adult pool is off by the spa and is tiny with no view of anything. It can comfortably accomodate 16-30 people, which is nothing considering the resort has 320+ rooms. As someone mentioned its almost impossible to get bar service by the adult pool. He stopped by once or twice through the day.

If you're a family looking to indulge and bring your kids a long, you'll love the resort. If you're a couple looking for a quiet relaxing weekend to be pampered and spoiled. Try somewhere else. Overall the resort is nice, not amazing. I've stayed in 4 stars that are nicer.

Hope this helps.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csmears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahs01, Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2011

Thank you for your recent stay at Bacara. We appreciate your feedback and we have taken corrective action where needed.

We hope you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

The Bacara is a truly beautiful property. It is immaculate, nicely furnished and the grounds are wonderful. It sits high above the ocean and the beach is practically empty, any time of the day. This is quintessential Santa Barbara. Be careful if you pay extra for an ocean view because the rooms are set far apart from the ocean. The spa is amazing and our experience there was top notch. However, this resort falls way short of being a 5 star property. First, our room was not ready until 5 pm and the front desk staff was somewhat rude when we inquired as to length of the wait. We should have been offered something, anything for the inconvenience. We were only there for 2 nights so the late check in was an issue. Also, they do not offer late check out, so we were delayed getting in and then felt pushed to get out. The staff are all very young and with exception of the bellmen, they seemed annoyed to be working there. Also, none of the rooms have flat screen televisions. That is just absurd for a hotel in this price point. In addition, the resort charges $24 per night for parking, even though we were not advised of this during check in. Other than fleecing their customers, there is no reason for this fee since the property is large and not located in an area such as a major city, where parking is in demand. I did not appreciate being nickle and dimed when the room rate is so high.
Also a negative.. the adult pool offers no food or drink service.
I would only go back to the Bacara because of the property, certainly not for the service. If you want great service, go to the Four Seasons.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nibblerbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahs01, Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2011

Thank you for your recent stay at Bacara and thank you for the valuable feedback. We will use this information to continually improve.

We hope you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The Bacara is absolutely beautiful! The scenery and oceanviews are breathtaking. We enjoyed spending time at the pool, walking along the beach and of course the outdoor cocktails. The rooms were very nice as well, very tropical beachside oasis feel. I took spent time in the spa and it was wonderful as well.

Incredible service, great food and overall wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank king25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahs01, Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2011

Thank you for your recent stay at Bacara! We are happy that you enjoyed our resort.

We hope you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goleta
12.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,067 reviews
12.3 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,032 reviews
12.6 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Kimpton Goodland
Kimpton Goodland
#6 of 12 in Goleta
442 reviews
13.1 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,315 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bacara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacara Resort & Spa

Address: 8301 Hollister Ave, Goleta, CA 93117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goleta
#1 Business Hotel in Goleta
#2 Family Hotel in Goleta
Price Range: $472 - $1,166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bacara Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the bluffs and beaches of the Gaviota coast lies a resort of stunning natural beauty and relaxed luxury. With 78 acres of oceanfront property, including two miles of natural beach, Bacara offers an expansive sun-drenched setting with endless vistas of sea and sky. The resort's innovative and artful design is in keeping with the intimacy and aesthetics of a Mediterranean village. Unwind at an award-winning 42,000-square-foot spa and fitness center or relax beside one of three zero-edge swimming pools and 26 private cabanas. The resort's 358 newly-renovated guestrooms and signature suites artfully infuse luxurious interiors with modern technologies for a true sense of comfort. Additional resort amenities include a new oceanfront restaurant, Angel Oak, four Har-Tru clay tennis courts, a Foley wine tasting room, and the adjacent Sandpiper Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bacara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Bacara Resort
Bacara Spa Resort Santa Barbara
Bacara Resort Santa Barbara Ca
Bacara Santa Barbara
Bacara Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing