We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusted. Overpriced and stingy.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Goleta
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Goleta
Reviewed October 11, 2013

When checking in we were told that tea and coffee were available in the mornings. There was only coffee. I asked where the tea was, and was told they don’t have any. They then bought out hot water, after I complained, but if you wanted tea you had to supply your own tea bag!!!!!

Sorry, but the 83 year old lady travelling with us never thought she would have to do that, when being charged so much for a room..

No shampoo in bathroom

Tiny towels supplied

Their rates should be substantially lower to better reflect the amenities and service provided.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nixchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Goleta, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear nixchick,
Thank you for taking time to post your review. We sincerely apologize for the guest service issues you encountered during your stay. Please contact our guest relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 119 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

Dont stay here! It's dangerous, stabbings not uncommon. Rough place. Would never left my child stay here let alone my dog! Lock up everything! Staff stole from me. Manager was terrible no customer service you pay for wifi and it's slower than dial up. For $120 you can find nice accommodations. Rip off and taking your life in your hands.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HollyWebb75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Goleta, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear HollyWebb75,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.We sincerely apologize for the unsatisfactory service issues and safety you encountered during your recent stay. These conditions are note consistent with our standards for quality at Motel 6. We encourage your contact our guest relations department to report your experience so may serve you better in the future: 1-800-557-3435.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

It was clean and safe and remodel is nice. The upper floor doesn't have elevator access so if you need to bring in all your bags it is a haul. They changed my room but were not thrilled about doing so. If you have just an overnight bag, no problem.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HissyFit11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We enjoyed every thing .. thanks a lot to every body
We hope to come back again
Special thanks to the manger
We loved every thing Highly recommended

Just do it with no hesitate and enoy
We will recommend it to all friends

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I have stayed at Super 8 nearby and like this property better. The rooms have been renovated and are very nice. The pool is much better than Super 8. Negatives here: no shampoo, bad towels, only regular (no decaf) coffee in lobby in morning, no TV channel list.
Super 8 has breakfast, however. Staff at both places are very nice. I prefer the location of this hotel over the Super 8 (walking distance of a lot more), though Super 8 is closer to the airport (only relevant if you are waling; even cab far would not be significantly higher)

Room Tip: Great place to stay if you are visiting someone in Goleta. I stayed on the upper level and noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank karen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Filthy floors, dirty bed spreads, mold in back of toilet, one hand towel for two people, small bath towels and worst of all, LARGE ROUND CRACK IN BATHTUB READY TO GIVE WAY!! I know that they don't provide any extra amenities, but for the difference of $20 more, you can stay at the beautiful Best Western Plus in Carpinteria, CA. that provides everything you would want in a first class hotel.

Room Tip: Santa Barbara/Goleta area is way overpriced for your dollar. My suggestion is to stay in Carpinteria...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalkerBasinMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The staff are very friendly and accommodating, and the rooms are modern and, for the most party, cleanly. One cleanliness issue I found, however, was mold spots on the bathroom walls and ceiling near the toilet and shower. As for comforts / amenities, the beds are a bit on the hard side, and the towels are smaller than I would like. But what really plagues this motel is the noise level. It is situated next to the 101 Freeway and Calle Real, a well-used street in Goleta. Because the room window lacks any form of insulation (for a minute, I seriously thought it was open or broken), vehicle and traffic noise is easily heard in the room. This was tolerable because I slept with earplugs (highly recommended for lighter sleepers), but when a tow truck towed someone's vehicle in front of our room at 7:30 a.m., the noise became horribly loud and too disturbing. Having paid over $100 for my one-night stay ($96 + taxes and fees), I cannot justify nor recommend a stay at this motel. My recommendation for Management: please upgrade the windows to include sound-proofing, and perhaps introduce some sound-proofing around the doors.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Goleta, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Michael,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our service and room decor. However, we apologize for your unsatisfactory experience resulting from the excessive noise in your room. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We take your feedback very seriously and will take it into account as we work to improve our guests’ experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goleta hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus South Coast Inn
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Santa Barbara/Goleta
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Goodland
Kimpton Goodland
#6 of 12 in Goleta
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pacifica Suites Santa Barbara
2.7 mi away
Courtyard Santa Barbara Goleta
2.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Santa Barbara - Calle Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Goleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Goleta

Address: 5897 Calle Real, US 101 South at Fairview Avenue, Goleta, CA 93117-2346
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Goleta
Price Range: $100 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Goleta 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Motel-6, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Goleta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Goleta Hotel Goleta
Motel 6 Goleta
Motel Six Goleta
Goleta Motel 6
Goleta Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing