We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK PLACE TO STAY” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Goleta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Goleta
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Goleta
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“OK PLACE TO STAY”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Stayed two nights over the weekend at the Motel 6 in Goleta, CA. Found the rooms to be clean but very small. Had two beds in room. Right off main hwy #101 so easy access. A number of eating, pharmacy, gas, etc. available within walking distance from hotel. Staff was ok to work with. Towels in bathroom were a little small & skimpy. Otherwise things were fine. This place is a little pricy for Motel 6 ($136/night weekend rate). Not use to paying that much for this type of hotel. I guess because of location (Santa Barbara,CA) they can demand that much. Because of price would do more checking out other local hotels. Nothing grabbed me to want to stay here again especially for the $$$.

Room Tip: Check out other hotels to try & get better deal - $$$.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigmike9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    22
    39
    19
    19
See reviews for
42
28
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
gainesville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

the room was very cool and new. extremely clean, flat screen, vanity mirror, awesmoe location 5 mins from the beach. BUT they didnt give you shampoo or conditioner, just soap? They spent the $$ to have a beautifull room and cheap out on shampoo. I asked the clerk and he said i can buy some in the vending machine

Room Tip: bring your own shampoo and soap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank troy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

While the first floor room I had was nicely furnished, the noise coming from the parking lot coupled with loud talking, beer drinking construction workers until 11:00pm, and finally a wake up that occurred at 4:00 am with somebody yelling, "Henry, did you get the suitcase?" while starting the engine of their car did take the glow off my brief stay....also, this Motel 6 was $20.00 more per night than the one south in Carpentaria or the one north in Pismo Beach...couldn't get a good reason why that might be the case...

Room Tip: Stay as far from the parking area as possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sspencer48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Goleta hotels

Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

My husband and I decided to stay at the Motel 6 in Goleta because we were visiting our son who attends UCSB. This was one of the few motels/hotels in the area which accepted pets. We arrived with our little dog in tow. The room (one queen bed) has extremely small. The room had a bad odor coming from the sink area. We never found the source of the odor. The room appeared clean, yet sparse. Need tissues? Bring your own. This establishment doesn't supply them. Need an alarm clock? Bring your own. This place doesn't provide clocks in the rooms. Need a good night's sleep? Don't stay here! The bed/mattress is as hard as a rock. My husband and I both ended up with back aches. The noise level was awful too.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Santacruzin2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

My husband and daughter were spending a couple of nights near Santa Barbara attending a sporting event at UCSB. I hadn't stayed at a Motel 6 for at least 10 years. When I went shopping for a hotel near the University, I saw that this Motel 6 had been remodeled and I read the reviews on Trip Advisor, so I booked a room with 2 beds. The motel is convenient to UCSB and Santa Barbara. There are restaurants, gas stations and grocery stores within walking distance. The check-in process went smoothly. I asked for a room away from the freeway and was accommodated. There was no hair dryer, but if you ask at the front desk, they will give you one to use during your stay. The room is very small, but we were only there to sleep, so it didn't matter. True to Motel 6, the only amenities are two bars of soap. The towels are small, thin and rough. But if you wanted to pay a lot more for nicer towels, you can go down the street and pay another $60 a night. The one complaint we had was that one of the beds is directly against the A/C, so if you have the AC on, the person sleeping in that bed gets blasted all night. I tried to get a couple of extra blankets on the second night and was told that they did not have any...really??? no extra blankets at a motel/hotel? The motel is just for a place to lay your head at night, nothing else. I would stay here again if in the area, however hubby would not.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank questo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

I am from the Santa Barbara area, but now live north, I checked my family in to here when I had a family member in the hospital. Although I was extremely uncomfortable with the check in process overnight :-/
It was a pretty decent room, completely renovated!!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBSCSoccerMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

This is a good option when traveling to santa barbara. First of all I want to thank Lynn she was amazing. We were traveling to pismo beach 12/30/11 when our rental car broke down at midnight and our aaa tow truck took us there. She was phenomenal it was late and cold, and our car rental company (HERTZ) was giving us a hard time to pay for our hotel and she opened the lobby for us to come in and keep warm. She went above and beyond to accomodate us and was very patient even the next morning when I was waiting for the taxi (that our rental company was providing), she offered to give me a ride since they were taking so long to arrive. She made our stress and stay very satisfying. Kudos to Lynn!!
The hotel has all its basic amenities. It is very clean and modern. It is small but for the price I truly believe it was very convenient. Didn't stay long enough to enjoy their facilities we checked in at 130 am and checked out at 7 am. I did notice that is located next to various stores and restaurants. It is also very close to hwy 101.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tania C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goleta hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn
0.8 mi away
Pacifica Suites Santa Barbara
2.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Santa Barbara - Calle Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Goodland
Kimpton Goodland
#6 of 10 in Goleta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Santa Barbara/Goleta
2.7 mi away
Courtyard Santa Barbara Goleta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Goleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Goleta

Property: Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Goleta
Address: 5897 Calle Real, US 101 South at Fairview Avenue, Goleta, CA 93117
Location: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Goleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Goleta 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Motel-6, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Goleta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Goleta Hotel Goleta
Motel 6 Goleta
Motel Six Goleta
Goleta Motel 6
Goleta Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing