We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish all Motel 6's were like this one!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Goleta
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Goleta
Reviewed October 4, 2011

First of all, Santa Barbara is REALLY expensive. This Motel 6 offered a reasonable alternative (given the area.) The room was very updated - very Ikea and modern. It got very humid in the room but that may be due to the humidity of the outside air? We travel with our little fur baby and they don't have an additional fee for her. :)

The location was great for us. It isn't on the beach but there are a lot of places to eat, a Walgreens, grocery store, bowling alley, movie theaters....all within walking distance. It is just at the beginning of the 217 if you need to get to Goleta Beach, UCSB or the airport.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gracie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 124 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2011

The new rooms are very nice, very IKEA style, but they smell almost too new..! There was quite a potent paint/new furniture smell in our room. Still, a refreshing change from some of the other motels we stayed in. All of Santa Barbara is pretty expensive, this was the best deal I could find, still quite expensive in my opinion but it was a Saturday evening I suppose. It isn't far from Santa Barbara at all (by car) and Goleta is a nice area anyway. I would stay here if your budget allows you.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDM637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

In overpriced Santa Barbara area, this is a relatively great deal. New Euro-styling decor. Very welcoming staff. No frills, but it's got all you need. Love the bigger screen tv and better towels.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

When booking online on the Motel 6 website, DO look at the rooms and DO stay in these updated "modern" looking ones if you can. What a difference! No yucky carpet, no yucky bedspread, the room is still on the small side but they've made better use of the space with a flat screen TV mounted to the wall and a table/chair lounge area neatly tucked into the corner. You're still at motel 6 so still run the risk of grungy parking lot, loud partiers next door, etc., but again it's M6 and you get what you pay for. These rooms are the WAY BETTER version of Motel 6! (We stay in these often because we travel with dogs and Motel 6 has the BEST dog policy!). Now all of the other M6's need to follow suit and update their rooms to this type as well!

Room Tip: Look at the photo of the room on the M6 website, pick the M6 that has the MODERN rooms with the oran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelsWithFrenchies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Stayed here 3 nights for a family reunion...Really like the way Motel 6 has remodeled & "upgraded" the furnishings in the rooms..faux hardwood floors/flat screen TV.
I have stayed in several other Motel 6's (including the one on State St. in Santa Barbara proper) and my impression that the rooms here are the smallest I've ever been in. The bathroom itself is OK..nice shower & great water pressure; the vanity area is tight, and the room itself, with 2 queen beds is small. The little table barely fits in under the TV.
Service at the front desk was cordial, and all questions/concerns were answered.
I have to say the bedspreads were stained and the floors needed a good buffing/waxing or just sweeping.
It was quiet and the pool area was nicely landscaped, with several chairs/tables/lounge chairs. However, the water was Freezing!! Took a good 15minutes to get in! (Maybe I'm a wuss.) Our room was closer to Calle Real and there was no noise; however I think maybe the rooms in the "back" near the pool area may get alot of the Hiway 101 noise.
Right nextdoor is A CVS pharmacy, and Albertsons; across the street is Walgreens and many different type restaurants within walking distance. And Zodo's bowling alley right next door too! & a frozen yogurt shop.
Next time, I would probably stay at hte Motel6 in Santa Barbara (which is about 10-15 minute drive away), but this will do in a pinch; and it's less expensive then in town SB.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ca Mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We just wanted a clean, convenient place to sleep and this met the criteria. The room had been recently renovated and was bright and cheerful. We arrived really late at night/early morning, and the guy on the desk couldn't have been more friendly and helpful at such a dreadful hour. There's a laundry on-site and a pool, neither of which we used. I would have liked a hairdryer in the room as well, and perhaps some tea/coffee-making facilities, but at that price we could manage with what we got.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MmeCastor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Stayed here for business while in Goleta for the better part of a week. I was skeptical, but saving money was more important than luxury. Being used to staying at 4 star hotels, I was almost a little frightened going into this experience. I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised.
Now lets be honest with ourselves, we are talking about the budget traveler Motel 6 not the Biltmore. Yes the rooms are small. Yes there are no "freebies" supplied (shampoos, lotions, shower cap, sewing kit, etc.). Yes there is no "in-room" coffee or tea maker, but do people who choose Motel 6 really expect these things? The room was clean, simple and sparse. You could see everything, no hidden gunk or univited room guests. The shower had a full tub, was very clean, free draining, and had great water pressure. The heating/cooling unit was quite clean and free of dust. I appreciated the room for the cleanliness. The bed was adequately comfortable and I liked the fact that the room had laminate floors and not some greasy dark colored camoflauge carpet.
The staff was friendly and accommodating. I would stay here again if traveling on a budget. The room is perfect for one person.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ysoserious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goleta hotels
2.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Santa Barbara - Calle Real
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus South Coast Inn
0.7 mi away
Pacifica Suites Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Santa Barbara/Goleta
2.7 mi away
Courtyard Santa Barbara Goleta
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Santa Barbara/Goleta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Goleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Goleta

Address: 5897 Calle Real, US 101 South at Fairview Avenue, Goleta, CA 93117-2346
Location: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Goleta
Price Range: $90 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Goleta 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Goleta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Goleta Hotel Goleta
Motel 6 Goleta
Motel Six Goleta
Goleta Motel 6
Goleta Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing