We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem in Beautiful Glendora”
Review of Palm Tropics Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palm Tropics Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Glendora
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Beautiful Glendora”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

As a business traveller, I frequent the likes of Marriott and Hilton. I arrived in Glendora late for a next day, early morning business meeting. Palms Tropic on Route 66 had the vacancy light on so I pulled in. Check-in lady was very pleasant, and eager to please. She walked me to my room which was immaculately clean, charming & spacious. Got a good nights sleep on a comfortable mattress. One added bonus...check out the beautiful landscaping on the grounds, especially the colorful and gorgeous roses.
Great value for the money.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kayakster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mukono, Uganda
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Cheap hotels do not have to leave out amenities in this age.
Pros:
1. We paid $74 including tax to have a place to sleep in Azusa/Glendora. Good price.
2. It's ON Rt 66, which is convenient.
3. Rooms are good and clean.

Cons:
1. Only one person could log on the wireless at a time
2. No coffee in room, no coffee in motel, no coffee in easy walking distance away from hotel!
3. No breakfast included. You'll easily make up difference in other hotels by this, especially if you are a with a family.

We were back off of Rt 66 so didn't have as much road noise. I don't mind the motel feel - outdoor entrance and all. Price was good. But not worth the savings.

Room Tip: Get back from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed in a two queen sized bed unit. It was quiet, the beds were very comfy, great new lcd tv, good wireless, recently updated bathroom, nice furniture. Spacious room included microwave and fridge. Although we had minor communication difficulties when calling/emailing ahead, management was responsive and friendly. They really tried to please.

This is a very old motel that has been mostly updated. If you are looking for perfection, this is not it. Heater, plaster had issues, but were tolerable. Overall, a good value and a comfortable place to stay. Easy access to restaurants and shopping. Bring your own instant coffee and mugs if you want to use the microwave.

Room Tip: Our unit in the back was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank familyoffour1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendora, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Very nice place, kept up very well. The grounds are beautiful, and just a cute overall place to stay. But the customer service is not good, Very unfriendly front desk. Just like the other two reviews, they need to get friendly people in here. Would not come back just because of the woman working the front desk.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alicia1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SubwayPete, Owner at Palm Tropics Motel, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
We have addressed the issue. We have a new onsite manager who is very pleasant. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoVA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2009

Clean and functional room in 50's classic Rt 66 motel. Price is right for costly LA area. Plenty of restaurants and services nearby. Beautiful palms and gardening around motel buildings and parking lot.
Only thing you may have to overcome is impersonal and out of date customer service experience. No web site, possible language barrier (spanish) when booking. No customer office - you transact with hotel staff through a window from the outside. That can feel like you are in an inhospitable neighborhood - but not so. It's a fine choice for a budget hotel in the Rt 66 area.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mc703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glendora
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Route 66 Glendora Inn
0.1 mi away
Garden Inn & Suites
Garden Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Glendora
36 reviews
1.4 mi away
Stardust Motel
Stardust Motel
#4 of 5 in Azusa
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Super 8 Azusa
Super 8 Azusa
#3 of 5 in Azusa
123 reviews
3.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn San Dimas - Fairplex
2.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Azusa/Pasadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Tropics Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Tropics Motel

Property: Palm Tropics Motel
Address: 619 W Route 66, Glendora, CA 91740-4122
Location: United States > California > Glendora
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Glendora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Palm Tropics Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Palm Tropics Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Tropics Hotel Glendora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing