We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware if temperature outside is around 65F” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vagabond Inn - Glendale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vagabond Inn - Glendale
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Glendale
Certificate of Excellence
SF
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beware if temperature outside is around 65F”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2011

It's not a bad place but beware. They are not only d/c air conditioning when OUTSIDE temperature is below 65F- they put heater instead on you- unsuspecting sleeping guest. I jumped off a bed barely able to breeze when room temperature was approaching, I believe, at least 100F. It's like automatically providing somebody with medication based not on temperature in a his mouth , but on a streets around. It's a nice place to stay when it is either hot or cold.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank directflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    169
    49
    24
    14
See reviews for
161
90
47
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2011

I have stayed here many times and am always pleased with my room service and the hotel is always very quiet never too noisy or a lot of traffic very close to alot of retail store the mall and lots of food places. I would highly recommend staying here if you are in the glendale area

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lildaddiesmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2011

Wow! I must say that I was impressed with this motel! As I walked through the door I was greeted by the lovely manager and right away I knew it was goona be a great hotel to stay at, especially with the holidays and rose parade on the way. During our brief stay my wife and I experienced little or no troubles at all. The mall is right across the street full of great stores and entertainment for the whole family. And a great resturant a few steps away from the inn know as Foxy's, who served breakfeast lunch and dinner. The staff was extremly friendly and helpful and their rooms were clean and tidey. Overall we enjoyed our stay there especially at their prices.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smiles4Miles86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, California
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

I booked my double queen, double occupancy room through Booking.com on February 4, 2010 for a December 31 reservation at a rate of $109 for the night. I booked it early to get the best possible rate. In early December, I received an email from Booking.com stating that my reservation had been modified to a price of $189 (which is against the law after you have received a confirmation).

I immediately called Booking.com's customer service and was told that any modifications to the price come from the hotel. I called the hotel early the following morning and spoke to a hotel employee who told me that perhaps the correct room rate for a New Year's Eve booking had not been uploaded properly on Booking.com's site (not my problem), and I should call back later and talk to the manager, Joanna, about the price change. He assured me that my reservation was intact and the situation could be rectified.

When I arrived home from work that same day, I was startled to find an email from Booking.com stating that my reservation had been cancelled! At this late date, I knew it would be impossible to find another room at a reasonable rate. I immediately called Booking.com to find out what happened, as I certainly hadn't cancelled a reservation that I booked almost a year earlier. Booking.com checked their caller ID records and told me that the cancellation call came from the hotel phone number. Someone from the hotel had actually pretended to be me (identity theft) on two different occasions! On the first try, the person couldn't supply the pin number provided in my reservation confirmation email, so the cancellation didn't go through. On the second try, the person provided a convincing enough story to get the cancellation to go through without the pin number.

Needless to say, I was horrified that employees of a hotel would stoop so low as to use identity theft to cancel a customer's reservation without permission to get a higher rate for a New Year's Eve booking. I have to say that Booking.com was very helpful in trying to solve the situation, because by the time I called the hotel about the erroneous cancellation, my original double queen room had been given to someone else at a much higher rate (of course). The hotel offered me a single queen room for $189 or a single king room for $209. Neither the rooms nor the rates were acceptable. I was told to call the following morning and speak to the hotel manager, as she was supposedly the only person who could fix this mess.

The following morning, I spoke to Joanna, the hotel manager, who had been told of the situation. She claimed that the hotel had no control over the prices listed on Booking.com (which is not true) and that hotel employyes can't change or cancel reservations (well, they can if they pretend to be you).

After much rangling between Booking.com and the hotel, I was sent email confirmations for my original double queen room at the original price of $109. When I arrived at the hotel on the afternoon of December 31, low and behold, I was given a single queen room instead of a double queen room. My daughter was supposed to be joining me and my granddaughter that evening to accompany us to the Rose Parade. Quite frankly, I was too exhausted from the whole ordeal to fight over the room any more. I wasn't sure if my daughter was going to join us for the night or arrive early the following morning, but I had wanted the extra bed available just in case.

As it turned out, my daughter called to say that she would indeed be joining us later that evening. I tried to call the front desk four times to try and get a foldaway bed for my three-year-old granddaughter, but no one ever answered the phone. It was freezing cold, we were already dressed for bed, and I couldn't leave my granddaughter alone in the room to go to the office. We ended up sleeping three people in one queen bed. As you can imagine, it was a miserable night of tossing and turning.

In the final analysis, this hotel has great amenities in the room for the price. However, I feel that the management was unethical, perhaps even criminal, in their dealings with me. I had my confirmed booking price changed by a hotel employee, my reservation cancelled by a hotel employee who assumed my identity, was lied to about how it all happened, was given a room that was not adequate nor what I booked, and was ignored when I called the front desk for help.

Vagabond Inns are a franchise with each location having different owners, so it's a crap shoot as far as what you may get. I plan on sharing my experience at this location with Jason Yarbrough, the Vice President of Franchise Development, America's Best Franchising.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cec2089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2010

First, we got there early (couple of hours early). We know it's 3pm to check in but we tried anyway. We were greeted by a staff that doesn't even smile or makes you feel welcome at all. All she said was "come back at 3." That was it!
Our sink in the room was leaking really bad, it took them 3-4 days to finally check it out and fix it. On our 5th night, we came back at our room with our DOOR OPEN! We know that our room was cleaned by the cleaning lady but at least make sure to CLOSE the DOOR. The only good news was nothing got taken away. We called the staff and first thing the staff asked us was "Did you close the door?" COME ON!!!!! Why would we call them if we knew we didn't close the door!? A little common sense here people!
It's been a month now since we stayed there and I'm still angry!
This a 2 star hotel, it shouldn't even have a star at all. Management team, please review your staff real carefully and make sure they treat every guest/s even.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ryan_gy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIGlendale, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - Glendale, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
Dear Guest,
I am sorry to hear you had a bad experience at our property.
Our staff works very hard on to making our Guests welcomed and like if they were at home. We always try to make the stay easy and comfortable.
I would like to invite you into coming to stay with us again.
I can assure you the experience will be different and better.
Have a wonderful day!
Sincerely, Joana GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

We choose this MOTEL to be close to a hospital and was delighted with the very clean rooms, newer beds that offered a good nights rest, clean- often quiet pool and a fridge in the room for under $110!
Did I mention they have Free Parking and Free Internet... in LA!
This motel is right across the street from a Disney-like Mall called the Americana- great place to walk around at night. A 3-minute walk to many restaurants suggest FOXY's for Breakfast.
If we come back to Glendale- this motel would be our first choice for it's great price and neighbourhood.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank advcardio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIGlendale, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - Glendale, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay @ Vagabond Inn Glendale.
I am glad you had such a great experience.
We look forward to seeing you and your family soon again.
Sincerely Joana R. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

I have just stayed in this hotel for 13 nights, I stayed so long because it was a very nice hotel. The area was good for shopping and restaurants, and the public transportation was close wherever you want to go.
Rooms are spacious, has fridge, microwave and coffemaker. The pool area was clean. The only minus is that the breakfast could be more healthy.
I wil definitely go back to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nordica28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIGlendale, Manager at Vagabond Inn - Glendale, responded to this review, July 12, 2010
Dear Guest,
I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us
Our staff always strives to make our Guests feel if they were at Home.
We we'll make sure we give you and your guests a warmth welcome next time you are in town.
Sincerely Joana R. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glendale hotels
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Los Angeles Glendale
1.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 15 in Glendale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Los Angeles North / Glendale & Executive Meeting CTR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn Regalodge
Rodeway Inn Regalodge
#9 of 15 in Glendale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Brandwood
Hotel Brandwood
#6 of 15 in Glendale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Glendale Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn - Glendale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn - Glendale

Property: Vagabond Inn - Glendale
Address: 120 W Colorado St., Glendale, CA 91204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Glendale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Glendale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn - Glendale 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vagabond Inn in Glendale is located right in the heart of Downtown, within short walking distance to the Americana at Brand and the Glendale Galleria, as well as a number of restaurants and other entertainment options.Plan a visit to the nearby Universal Studios and save with our convenient packages. Within minutes you can be at ABC and NBC studios, Dodger Stadium, Burbank, Hollywood and many nearby corporations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Vagabond Inn - Glendale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn - Glendale Hotel Glendale
Vagabond Hotel Glendale
The Vagabond Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing