We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vagabond Inn - Glendale
Nearby Hotels
$152
ExtendedStay
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$205
$189
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Econo Lodge(Glendale)(Great Value!)
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$229
$179
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Chariot Inn(Glendale)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Brandwood(Glendale)
$157
$146
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $126/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Glendale Lodge(Glendale)(Great Value!)
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (561)
Filter reviews
561 results
Traveler rating
233
213
68
29
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
233
213
68
29
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the streetgreat locationcontinental breakfastroom was cleanamericana at brandwalking distancefree parkingshopping mallstay there againlos angelesa great place to staycoffee makervisiting familyone night stayfridge and microwavenon smokingchecking in
Filter
Updating list...
395 - 400 of 561 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2014

This is the 3rd time I have stayed at the Vagabond Inn in Glendale. The staff members are very efficient, helpful and welcoming. The beds are extremely firm and comfortable. At the moment there is renovation going on,but, it never affected me as the workmen didn't start until 9am and finished by 5pm. The staff were always very helpful in finding a church, post office, dry cleaners etc. The location is right beside the Americana and just a short ride to downtown Los Angeles or Santa Monica or Venice Beach. My only "little" complaint is about the breakfast. Instead of those calorie laden and unhealthy sweet danishes, perhaps they could have muffins or bagels............much healthier! Other than that I would highly recommend this hotel as a base for a very enjoyable vacation

SIncerely

Nuala O'Sullivan

Room Tip: There is no fitness centre at this location. With renovations on going the rooms are quieter on the south side. A new a/c system is being installed taht will be less noisy.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 72donthaveone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert R, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - Glendale, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience on Trip Advisor. I'm delighted that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations. We are anxiously waiting for your next stay at our property.

Thank you,
Albert Rostomyan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

This hotel was great for our stay. We asked for an upstairs room towards the back and it was perfect. The location is very convenient to many things. The breakfast wasn't much but the coffee was good. We will stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Jacquie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert R, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - Glendale, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing experience on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you had a great stay at our property. In regards to our breakfast, we are in the planning stages of expanding our lobby and upon completion, we will expand our breakfast as well.

Thank you,
Albert Rostomyan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Have stayed there many times and each time it keeps getting better Albert and his staff makes you feel like you are part of the family. Their excellent service makes me return at least twice a year to this location and every time there is a new improvement, Can't wait to see what comes up next!

Carlos Buchbinder

Room Tip: It is right across the street from the Americana which is a shopping experience
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert R, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - Glendale, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at our hotel. We highly appreciate your business throughout the years, and we hope to see back soon in the near future.

Thank you,
Albert Rostomyan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We do not travel always looking for the cheapest place but we are frugal. I used Trip advisor to settle on this property and booked for 4 nights, worrying that the $100 per night rate meant the place was likely a rat trap. The Google Earth pictures of the surrounding property seemed to suggest the property was bedded into a ghetto. What a wonderful surprise to find out I was wrong on all counts. The property has some nearby neighbors that are a bit seedy but the Inn was directly across the street from a huge shopping, eating and movie complex called the Americana. The rooms are not perfect, our room had small tears in the vinyl wall covering with loose fabric around the mop board in the bathroom. But it had a comfortable bed, clean replaceable duvet covers, a full tub, lots of water pressure, mic, fridge, and coffee pot. The room was VERY clean and kept clean by the maids. Front desk staff were friendly, helpful and very informative. There are some postings about adjacent room noise and no individual room thermostats for specific room temps. We did not have a room noise issue for 3 of our 4 days, then had noisy neighbors one night. The walls are not unduly thin, but the neighbors were loud. The room was a little warmer than we generally like, but it was not a problem. Given the cleanliness, friendliness, proximity to LA and Griffith park and wonderful room rates this is a place we would well recommend.

Room Tip: ground floor away from the main street.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert R, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - Glendale, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience on Trip Advisor. We highly appreciate your feedback because it enable us to further enhance our product and service to our guests. We hope to have you back soon at our property in the near future.

Thank you,
Albert Rostomyan, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Coming in our room it smells like a sewer. It looked clean but it stank. New carpets they said. Right. Probably bec they had a flood in here from the sewers.

We called to book and the guy who booked us said dogs are okay. And we know that was the specific number for that location according to their website. Trip advisor says place is pet friendly. Well here is what they said. They are NO LONGER pet friendly because they just changed the carpets. It's 50$ per dog. No buts no no nuts no coconuts. They printed out this thing saying not dog friendly for this specific hotel. Even after we told them we called. They have not figured out who we booked it with on the phone and /or admit the mistake was on their side. They refused to waive the pet fee. Lady upfront pretty much said well we can check you out. Oh really?! So they are kicking us out bec they made mistake. Too late to find another hotel. Our dogs have to stay in the car.

Coming back from meeting our friend we were reminded again about not letting our dogs in the room. So are we under surveillance now? Should we expect a check in he middle of the night?

We are a military family who have driven from Alaska to California and Vegas and have stayed at way nicer places that do not charge 50$ pet fee. This place is crappier than any places we have been. And I'm talking the most basic inns in interior Alaska.

We have two small dogs under 25 lbs. 100$ for them for a night stay at this hole is bs. At least the car won't stink like a sewer.

We were in a rush to meet someone. We really didn't have to book in Glendale specifically but to be dropped with 100$ pet fee is something else when it was not written or were we even informed about it before giving our credit card info.

So no. Don't book here pet or no pet. Their website is confusing. Big letters saying they are pet friendly and a seedy small print to check locations (we only found out about it after they started defending themselves) . Try the Days Inn instead. Yes it's close to everything but so are the other inns in the same area. Cheaper too. I don't think I'm being unfair with the assessment of this place. I'm sitting here writing the review wishing it wasn't too late to check out bec the smell is making me gag. Asked for a room change. They asked us how bad it is. Since the smell goes away ( bec you get used to it ugh. My husband did. I didn't) he gave an option for febreeze. Makes me think they know about the stench and no matter what room it is it will be the same. Hate this place. The town is a charmer but this inn is a stinker.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank ruthietheotaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert R, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - Glendale, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations. First, I'm sorry that you did not like the new carpet smell, however, we have to update our rooms in order to meet and exceed our guest expectations. Second, we changed our pet policy six months ago and every single employee at the hotel is familiar with our new rules. Lastly, our website clearly states that we do not allow pets at our property.

Thank you,
Albert Rostomyan, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews