We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second stay at the lovely Brandwood”
Review of Hotel Brandwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Brandwood
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Glendale
Tucson, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our second stay at the lovely Brandwood”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This was our second stay at the Bradwood. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. They allowed us to check in early. The hotel has been thoughtfully renovated and the rooms are clean and very comfortable. The bed was soft and allowed a great nights sleep! The location is perfect and right in the heart of downtown so you can walk to resteraunts and shopping. We went to Jax downstairs for dinner and to listen to wonderful live jazz. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alden C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    68
    34
    17
    18
See reviews for
35
56
20
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

It's old, it's nice. They decided my friend and I only needed one bed. The showers are awkward, the parking includes a nice trip across an alleyway through a back door with codes and cameras. The manager told us that since we were "nice ladies" he was keeping us close to "watch our door", nice but scary.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmmePink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed here again this year and enjoyed it again. The hotel is in Glendale which makes it easy to get around in LA but with a good price. Plus, there's a lot to do - places to eat, etc - in Glendale too. The hotel is nice and clean and looks very classy. The bathroom has nice products and the room has a coffee maker with Wolfgang Puck coffee. There's free parking in the Bank of America lot behind the hotel which is also a plus. Unfortunately, there is no elevator. Our luggage was chock full of Californian beer so weight was an issue. But the receptionist was really helpful and carried our luggage down! There was a really loud plumbing noise from the room next door when they used the shower which woke us up on the first morning at 7am (we were in room 108), but I don't remember this happening last year so maybe it's specific to this room. We left very early for a flight the next morning so unfortunately I probably woke someone else using the shower at 4am. Really like this place and will return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank s_scarnera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, CA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

PRO'S: Nice little old hotel in the very best location in downtown Glendale -- on the same block as Porto's, the biggest and best Cuban bakery-café in L.A. [You must try their coffee, guava-cream cheese pastries, ham croquettes, and stuffed potato balls -- it's the breakfast of champions!] There are LOTS of restaurants, stores, and 2 malls within a 4 block radius of the hotel. The Brandwood occupies the upper 2 floors of a 3-story building. A really cool live jazz club, Jax, occupies the first floor. Yes, there are steep stairs to the 2nd floor lobby, but it's not a problem if you're in reasonable shape. [Besides, you'll need the exercise if you spend any time at Porto's!] There's easy free parking on the upper level of a 2-story structure behind the hotel. Easy stairs to that, too. Our room, a Deluxe Executive, was beautifully decorated, roomy, spotless, and very comfortable. The bathroom was quite large for an old hotel. HD DirectTV was great. Staff was friendly, professional, and polite.

CON'S: Our window provided some light but zero view -- the concrete wall of the Bank of America branch next door, which is the same height as the hotel, is about 2 feet away from all windows on the east side of the hotel. There was some noise from the A/C unit cycling on and off, even with the fan running all the time. We were on the 2nd floor and could also hear the bass and drums from Jax until the live music ended (it ends between 10 and midnight, depending on the day -- you can check their website for the exact schedule. It does end right on time, though). Our room was directly above the area where the band plays, so that may have had something to do with it. Once the music stopped, the room was pretty quiets. No earplugs required!

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms toward the back are the quietest. 2nd floor rooms are directly above the jazz club...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bergen, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I rated this hotel 3 stars not because it's dirty or had rude staff or there was anything wrong with it. I rated it 3 stars because the hotel has nothing special to it and at the same time there was nothing wrong with it.

I stayed there one night on a business trip.

Pros:
Clean
Friendly
Location
Free parking

Cons:
Small - I was greeted by the bed when I opened the room door
Soft bed - too soft for my liking
No fitness center, no real amenities except laundry room.
No elevator

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoronBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in Sept. 2013. There are a ton of stairs so prepare for that, but the rooms are very cute, very clean and the bed is verrrry comfortable. It's in a very safe neighborhood and about a 20 minute drive (on surface streets as I refused to drive on LA freeways) to all the tourist areas you would want to see. There are several restaurants on the block. Very satisfied with the stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The rooms are a little smaller than you might get elsewhere, but they are wonderful rooms. The staff is very nice and helpful. You do have to climb a flight of stairs to get to the front desk, but it's only bad if you're not expecting it, because they will carry your luggage up for you.

My view was of the building next door and the TV didn't get very good reception, but there is lots to do outside of the room. There is plenty of shopping and dining within walking distance and the bar downstairs is a blues bar with a great live music nightly and a terrific staff.

I will definitely stay here again next time I have to travel to Glendale.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sh00py
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glendale hotels
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Los Angeles Glendale
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Los Angeles - Glendale
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Glendale Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Los Angeles North / Glendale & Executive Meeting CTR
1.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 16 in Glendale
105 reviews
2.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Glendale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brandwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brandwood

Property: Hotel Brandwood
Address: 339 1/2 N Brand Blvd, Glendale, CA 91203-2303
Location: United States > California > Glendale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Glendale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Brandwood 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience exceptional hospitality at the historic Hotel Brandwood in the heart of Glendale, California. Our boutique hotel is ideal for guests who value a downtown location that is convenient for both leisure and business travelers. Stylish, European-style rooms provide intimacy and charm, and a full range of amenities including free parking and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Brandwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brandwood Hotel Glendale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing