We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect choice for our LA visit”
Review of Hotel Brandwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Brandwood
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Glendale
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I chose a hotel in Gelndale as it was equidistant from 2 bars and a music venue that we were planning to visit on a short trip to LA. We pulled up at the back of the Brandwood and it looked a bit like a dodgy alleyway, but the hotel turned out to be really lovely. I ran inside to ask about parking and a very nice staff member ran upstairs to get me a parking pass while I waited downstairs. Free parking at the Bank of America was a real asset. When we checked in, we were explained about the back entrance which made travel to/from the parking lot very easy. I was a bit worried at first because our room was right next to the rear entrance/exit but we didn't hear any noise at night (although we are not early to bed so can't speak for earlier in the evening). The room was perfect for our needs. Clean with a comfy bed, nice furniture, working free wifi and good coffee. I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s_scarnera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 187 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed for one night. It is upstairs with no elevator. The parking was around back in the Bank of America lot which we didn't know so we needed to move the car. No big deal but would of been nice to know in advance after you book. The room was small but adequate for a nights stay. The staff was very nice and friendly! Anything other than a nights stay and it would be too small.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Noisy drunken guests everywhere. I could not get any sleep. The walls are very thin. The doors slam on the rooms. The bed was lumpy. The blinds do not block out the street lights. The A/C is ridiculously noisy. The front reception staff were rude. Plus I could here the disco downstairs all night. Be warned do not stay here unless your a partier.

Not a place for a family stay or to do business trips.

Overall I should give it zero stars but the parking was free

Room Tip: The website makes it look fancy but it is a dump with drunks everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This was my first trip to Los Angeles and I didn't know that Glendale was such a great place to stay. After much research, I found the Brandwood Hotel and the reviews were positive. So, I decided to stay there - glad I did! It is close to Americana (great shopping), Panera, Hollywood Productions and Starbucks... all within walking distance. There are a lot of other restaurants around too, but I only had 3 days to explore all of LA.

All in all - if you are looking for something family friendly and beautiful - Brandwood Hotel in Glendale is a great choice. Oh, and the room was fine - bed extremely comfortable. The bathroom was small with a little aged look. But, honestly, that was not a problem for me.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BucketList_YOLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend. We wanted to be in a good walking part of Glendale, and this is really the best choice for that. The rooms are small but clean, cute, and comfortable. This is obviously a very old hotel they have remodeled which makes it kind of cool, but also means there are going to be some quirks. The first quirk is that the lobby is up a very steep set of stairs and there is no elevator yet--they assured me that is forthcoming and they obviously were doing some work on the place. The second is that there are some noise issues. There is a jazz club downstairs and we thought we were hearing that on our first night. The front desk staff claimed it was coming from elsewhere. That is plausible, because there are other clubs in the area, but it sounded like it was coming from downstairs. We heard music the second night too. Happily, the music didn't actually interfere with our getting sleep--either it ended early or we were exhausted or both. Also we got an upstairs neighbor our second night and you could hear movement and water noises (just like in an old house). If I had spent 2 sleepless nights there I'm sure I would be writing a very different review, but I actually liked this place. They should try to do a little bit of soundproofing and the addition of the elevator will allow more people to enjoy their stay there.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room if you can take the stairs and don't want to hear your upstairs neighbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mullydad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed three nights. Small room but adequate. Very clean. Really enjoyed the staff. Great location in the heart of Glendale. Had dinner downstairs at Jax Bar & Grill. Good food, good music. Overall very positive experience. I'll stay here next time.

Room Tip: Stairs only. No elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We enjoyed our 6 night stay at Brandwood very much. The rooms are well decorated with modern wood furniture and brushed stainless fittings, the bed is very comfortable, the arconditioner works very well, and the bathroom has practical. An absolute bonus is that there is a washing machine and dryer next to the ice machine just behind the front desk which is fabulous if you're away from home for a long time as we were. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. Our room was lovely and quiet with no traffic noise, and occasionally you could hear some footsteps above or the odd bump next door but the aircon was enough to muffle that. Google street view currently shows a cafe and jazz grill bar below the hotel, however the cafe is gone and the hotel is apparently going to use that space to put in an elevator. The hotel is situated right next to banks and a dozen or more cafes, restaurants and bakeries, and you can get a bus two blocks away straight to the Hollywood walk of fame area. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: There is a jazz bar and grill underneath the hotel so try and get a room not right at the front. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glendale hotels
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Los Angeles Glendale
0.5 mi away
Hilton Los Angeles North / Glendale & Executive Meeting CTR
0.6 mi away
Vagabond Inn - Glendale
Vagabond Inn - Glendale
#4 of 18 in Glendale
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Los Angeles - Glendale
1.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 18 in Glendale
112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Xilo Glendale
Hotel Xilo Glendale
#14 of 18 in Glendale
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brandwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brandwood

Address: 339 1/2 N Brand Blvd, Glendale, CA 91203-2303
Location: United States > California > Glendale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Glendale
Price Range: $126 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Brandwood 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience exceptional hospitality at the historic Hotel Brandwood in the heart of Glendale, California. Our boutique hotel is ideal for guests who value a downtown location that is convenient for both leisure and business travelers. Stylish, European-style rooms provide intimacy and charm, and a full range of amenities including free parking and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Brandwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brandwood Hotel Glendale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing